We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Tuscan Hospitality!!”
Review of Villa Cilnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cilnia
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Parma, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine Tuscan Hospitality!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Cilnia midweek for one night and found it to be a hidden gem - blending traditional values and modern amenities - nestled in a beautiful and peaceful location with ample grounds in the countryside near Arezzo.

The old buildings of the Villa have been modernised to a high standard, keeping many of the original features - giving the feeling of continuity with the past. The bedroom was clean, warm and comfortable with a modern bathroom and a rarity - an excellent shower!

During our stay we ate in the Restaurant, which was a particular delight - opting for the 'tasting' menu of five courses (with ample portions) made with the best authentic local Tuscan ingredients, cooked by a young and talented Chef who clearly enjoyed his work. The Villa produces its own wine and olive oil which were featured during the meal. The breakfast was also excellent - served in the restaurant and included the Chef's fabulous fresh home-made cakes!

We didn't have time to use the purpose-built, state of the art Spa but were given a personal tour of the facilities and here too - as in the Relais and Restaurant - the staff were young, helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable and took great pride in their work.

In our opinion, Villa Cilnia presents the best of what Italy has to offer for the discerning traveller and we very much look forward to a longer stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalsoVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCilnia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Cilnia, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Google Translation
Grazie, siamo onorati!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    34
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
85
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

While looking around for Dante's "Inferno" memorabilia, take a rest in this little corner of Heaven. My "Masaccio Suite" is adorned with an original Renaissance fireplace and stunning pieces of modern Italian design. The picture on the room keys? Adam and Eve leaving Eden Garden. That was exactly my feelings, when departing from here. The time before my next visit will be, indeed, a Purgatory.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Cacmviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCilnia, Responsabile reception at Villa Cilnia, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Villa Cilnia! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can offer you once again our hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

What a fantastic place to stay. Great location, quiet, tranquil, modern yet historic, in a vineyard and next to an olive tree hill. Winery on location, wine shop, etc. Terific breakast -- home cooked pastries, local fruit, great chees and prosciuttos, breads, juices, etc. Pool, pic-nic groud and grill, and best are the hosts -- could not ask for nicer and friendlier people. The lady of the house does the baking, the man of the house tends to the wine shop, etc.
We LOVED IT!

  • Liked — Location, tranquillity, service, accomodation quality
  • Disliked — One wine bottle of the wonderful property wine provided with room!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IVAN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2004

We had a great experience at this agriturismo villa in April 2004. I only wish we could have stayed longer (there's a pool, BBQ, bicycles, and laundry room that we didn't get to take advantage of).

We were given a spacious, beautifully furnished room with a huge bathroom. Luigi and Orietta were incredibly kind and gracious. The breakfast that is included with the room price is delicious. The setting, amidst the vineyards, the olive trees, and the winery, was straight out the movies, travel magazines, etc. Villa Cilnia's olive oil is great (I didn't have a chance to taste their wines).

Great shopping on the Corso Italia in Arezzo; excellent food at Loggia Vasari (on the main square); Cortona is a short drive away.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SeeShopDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arezzo
23.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
679 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
270 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Cantina Relais - Fattoria Il Cipresso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
472 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
#8 of 29 in Arezzo
278 reviews
3.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cilnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cilnia

Property: Villa Cilnia
Address: Localita Montoncello 27 | Bagnoro d'Arezzo, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Villa Cilnia means spending time in an area of Tuscany rich in history and culture surrounded by art and the green color palette of nature.Villa Cilnia is committed actively to environmental sustainability by adopting behaviors in order to encourage energy saving and the absolute respect of the territory.“La Toile Wellness&Spa” offers a variety of treatments ranging from wellness to beauty and non- invasive dermatological processes, and we also offer Osteopathic and Chiropractic preventive and healing therapy for muscoloskeletal disorders. We prefer the authentic flavors for this we rely on local suppliers that always guarantee us fresh and genuine products. For breakfast we offer our guests organic products or at least from certified origin and zero km and more we produce excellent wines and oil. Please note that Mecenate restaurant is not open for season 2017! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Cilnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing