We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan perfection”
Review of Villa Cilnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cilnia
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had planned only a one night stay on our travels around Tuscany, and now regret that we couldn't stay any longer. Although only a couple of miles outside of Arezzo, it felt incredibly rural and peaceful, with its own vineyard lining the impressive drive up to the Villa. Our room was very chic, the spa/wellness centre was beautifully serene and the staff were eager to help. The dinner served up on our one evening was probably the best meal I had in a fortnight travelling around Tuscany and Umbria. Free bike hire is on offer and is worth taking up for a cycle to and around Arezzo, which is not the most beautiful town but certainly worth a quick visit. The outdoor pool adds to the list of reasons to visit the Villa Cilnia

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Villa Cilnia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights whilst touring around the area. It is very easy to visit Cortona, and Perugia The hotel is just on the outside of Arezzo situated on a hill overlooking the vines. There are great views from the terraces. The staff are extremely helpful. We eat in the restaurant twice and the food was excellent. We really enjoyed the party held on the15th August. The room was comfortable, clean, a great shower, fluffy towels, and had a kettle. Breakfast was perhaps a little lacking considering the price of the stay. Slice bread from a packet rather than a loaf for instance. Although the breakfast staff could not have been more helpful. We went for a walk through the vine groves which was fantastic. There was a lovely lake to seat by and a swimming pool. We had a massage which was really enjoyable. Also enjoyed the wine tasting. Definitely came away more relaxed than when I arrived.

Possibly my only negative would be that there should be comfortable chairs to seat and have an evening drink and watch the sun go down.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked a last minute trip to Tuscany and finding this hotel was pure fluke. We had a really lovely time here, it's a great location to explore from, whilst having the peace and quiet and views you'd expect of Tuscany. Free shuttle into Arezzo available morning and early evening, and not expensive to get a taxi back. Wouldn't walk into Arezzo and would only cycle during daylight as it's a busy road. Beautiful hotel and location. The restaurant is one of the best in the area - we don't usually eat in hotel restaurants but ate here almost every night - good value and fantastic food - can't rave enough about it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank twinkle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We literally stumbled onto Villa Cilnia after cancelling a reservation at a hotel further away from Arezzo, that would not work with our "no-car" situation. WHAT A FIND! This place could write the book on customer service and helpfulness. From being greeted with freshly made expresso while we were checking in, to bringing a beautiful salad and antipasto plate to our room (because we had been on the train and dealing with the other hotel debacle for hours and had not been able to eat)...the staff went WAY above and beyond our expectations of service. We literally found ourselves looking at each other and giggling like children with each act of hospitality.

That night at supper, the chef prepared a delicious meal. When my husband asked about a certain type of pasta he had heard about from a business colleague, Simone asked the chef and the next thing we knew, he had prepared a plate of it so my husband (and all of us) could sample it. This was done NO CHARGE (unlike our experience in Rome).

We stayed in the Jr Suite and it was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. I could have enjoyed sitting in a chair on the balcony enjoying the view for hours.
Walking around the property was so enjoyable. The herbs and lavender and roses that are planted all around literally perfume the air. My husband is interested in Olive groves, so Simone took him on a walking tour of the groves and vineyards.
That's when we found out that this beautiful property is also completely environmentally sustainable, generating its own electricity and practicing "zero environmental impact" with its organic farming. We brought back all the olive oil and wine we could from here!

The pool is beautiful and relaxing and my daughter took advantage of the free spa time included in our stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. We did not have time to utilize the bicycles, but we did use the shuttle. Again, the service was excellent.

Like I said, I can't say enough about Villa Cilnia. I will definitely come back to stay here and recommend it to anyone traveling in this area.

Room Tip: We were in the Jr. Suite and it was spacious for 4 adults and included a large dining area and table...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melray61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Villa Cilinia for only two days mid June, I wish it could have been more! The facilities are wonderful, the beautiful outdoor pool, the spa and the gorgeous views could not be beat. This was a perfect location 10 mins to Arezzo, and a comfortable driving distance to Cortona, I traveled with two family's with older children. I highly recommend the vineyard tour with Simonè, he was generous with his time, knowledgeable and had a genuine passion for the wine and locale which we all enjoyed greatly. The staff in both the restaurants and reception were very friendly and eager to please. They even gave us a tour of the rooms beforehand and offered the suite with the balcony to our friends. We hope to return someday, Ciao!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gloryb2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just spent a week at Villa Cilnia in Arezzo and were very impressed by the service, rooms, and staff. The hotel and spa is superbly desigigned with a fantastic restaurant offering high quality food and wine at very reasonable prices and the service was superb by very friendly and knowledgable staff. The location is stunning with fantastic views over the vineyards and Tuscan hills. The perfect place to relax and unwind. The free shuttle transport was very useful as it is an hours walk into Arezzo. (The cost of a taxi is also reasonable). The driver of the shuttle bus, like the rest of the staff, could not have been more helpful. We used the spa which was very good and both reception and spa staff were keen to help us and ensure our stay at the hotel and the surrounding area was enjoyable, without being intrusive. We also used the bicycles which were free and in very good condition. It was a good way to see the surrounding countryside. All in all it was a superb week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCilnia, addetto front-office at Villa Cilnia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guests,
we thank you very much and we really appreciate your lovely review. For your kindness and courtesy It has been a pleasure also for us to have you as guests,and sincerely we do hope to have you here again in the near future. All the best. Kind regards, all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Villa Cilnia has it all, location, views, spa, good wine and good food however for us something was missing. The spa was good and we had two massages which were "ok" however for over 120 Euros I expected it to be very good.

The room was well appointed and a lovely view.

Dinner was ok again, good food and good wine, however expensive and we have had just as good if not better for less.

Overall I would say it is expensive for what you get, we stayed in more expensive places than here and just felt you got more for you money at this places. It is subjective and I was just left a little disappointed with Villa Cilnia.

The staff however from start to finish could not be more friendly or helpful. If I could steal the staff and put them in another hotel I would!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffy2283_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCilnia, Responsabile reception at Villa Cilnia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad that you have appreciated the most important characteristics of our place: the location, the view, the spa, the wine and the food…so we don’t really understand what you may have missed…and thank you for your remark upon our staff, which is an essential and dynamic part of the Villa. Nevertheless, in order to improve services and to reach a high level of quality, remarks and suggestions are always very welcome.
Hope to have you again as a guest in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arezzo
23.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
276 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Cantina Relais - Fattoria Il Cipresso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
719 reviews
18.2 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
545 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cilnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cilnia

Address: Localita Montoncello 27 | Bagnoro d'Arezzo, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Price Range: £87 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Villa Cilnia means spending time in an area of Tuscany rich in history and culture surrounded by art and the green color palette of nature.Villa Cilnia is committed actively to environmental sustainability by adopting behaviors in order to encourage energy saving and the absolute respect of the territory.“La Toile Wellness&Spa” offers a variety of treatments ranging from wellness to beauty and non- invasive dermatological processes, and we also offer Osteopathic and Chiropractic preventive and healing therapy for muscoloskeletal disorders. We prefer the authentic flavors for this we rely on local suppliers that always guarantee us fresh and genuine products. For breakfast we offer our guests organic products or at least from certified origin and zero km and more we produce excellent wines and oil. Please note that Mecenate restaurant is not open for season 2017! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Cilnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing