We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start to a lovely holiday”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed here last week for 4 days whist on a Classical Italy tour with Riviera Travel halfboard. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. Staff very friendly and accommodating and good food served in the restaurant. Approx 10 minute walk into Arezzo which is a beautiful old town, excellent for sightseeing and shopping. Excellent base to tour Tuscany from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 695SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

Our four day stay was very enjoyable and Arezzo old town was a pleasant surprise, being very beautiful as we had concluded from the hotel surroundings that there was not much to see in the area. The hotel itself was very clean with decent food. We stayed there for four nights on a week's tour with Riviera Travel. A very successful holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorisGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We chose this Hotel Minerva because we decided Arezzo was a good location to appreciate artistic Tuscany and Umbria, as we are all History of Art students. We liked the No deposit and free cancellations, and booked directly with the hotel. As our numbers may have increased over a few months, we felt this hotel had sufficient rooms. We also noticed Riviera Travel use this Hotel. We were not disappointed, 5 of us stayed.
We used this location to travel by train and bus to Assisi, Cortona, Siena, an ideal hub.
We frequently used taxis, as our itinerary was action packed, and we became well known requesting a taxi for 5 people. We stayed for 4 nights.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay in Arezzo. We ate every night in a different restaurant in the historic town, what wonderful food and wonderful people.
By day , when we found time, we were exploring the historic town of Arezzo. We were very impressed at the frescoes at the church of San Francesco, created by Piero della Francesca. A few other interesting locations included, Piazza Grande, The Duomo, San Domenico, Casa di Giorgio Vasari. One evening , when leaving a wonderful restaurant near the Duomo at top of town, the heavens opened, pouring rain, and we knocked on a house where we saw somebody working on a computer, who might help us to get a taxi.
He invited us in, and booked a taxi for us, and gave us great hospitality, his name Patriscio. We discovered this is a famous B&B, Antiche Mura at Piaggia di Murello, a few steps down from the Duomo.
We were impressed at our stay in Hotel Minerva, we often walked from this hotel to the gastronomy part of Arezzo, and it took 10 to 15 minutes. Breakfast was good and enjoyable, staff were friendly and professional, we had a problem opening blinds in one room, but friendly room staff gladly helped us. Reception staff were very helpful, and always got us a taxi within 5 minutes.
This is a very well run hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank springhill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A long walk from the centre of Arezzo, which is beautiful. Soulless hotel with no character, in a rather rundown area. Rather unfriendly reception staff. Wifi was 5€ a day and my connection would last only 5 minutes before dropping off and having to re-enter very complicated log in. When I complained, they did try to help but said it was just the Internet - no offer to refund my 10€ that were wasted.
Bed was comfortable but pillows rock hard. Fridge was warm.
Bathroom had an incredibly dangerous step up which I fell both up and down.
Breakfast was poor, with machine coffee and fake cornflakes.
First night got very little sleep because the shutters would not completely close and the light streamed in - there were only fake curtains. Did ask them to fix this, which they did - almost.
Stifling hot and no air con - not hot enough to warrant it!!!
If you have to be in Arezzo for a business trip this is ok I suppose but if you want a hotel to enjoy the wonderful experience of this beautiful city, don't go there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheshiretraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pikler, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Minerva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Good Morning,

why you say this? I have just finish to read your feedback and there are some things different form the realty. About internet connection our staff came in your room to help you to resolve the problem that war resolved at that moment. about the shutters the receptionist explaned that weren't reparaible and he asked if you would like to change the room. We are apologizy that you were unlucky to find this little problem and this fact caused you to leave a comment so negative.Usually we are always ready to help our guests because the time in our hotel should be fine!!!!
Best Ragards
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A clean and modern looking hotel. My room was very clean, fairly large with a good bathroom. The shower cubicle was small but everything worked well.
The bed was large and comfortable. The sun came into my room in the morning but good blinds were fitted which allows you to keep the room dark if you wish. The big windows give you a decent view over Arezzo.
So far so good
I ate in the restaurant the first night. I felt this was expensive for what I got. The restaurant sadly lacked any flair or character. The staff were friendly but the atmosphere was one of efficiency; so it was a disappointing experience.
The next night I found a small Pizza takeaway with a couple of tables to eat in if you wished and had a really good 10 inch pizza and large beer for €7. A quarter of the price for a meal in the hotel which was not really that good. I didn't even have more than one course, a small glass of wine and a bottle of water!
I had a couple of hours to kill one of the days, so I walked up the hill to the large church at the top. Arezzo is quite a nice town to look around.
This is a good hotel in a reasonable location but lacks any homely qualities. You may leave, as I did, feeling just a little let down by it. For visitors on business this is OK, but for a holiday you may prefer to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: 4th floor at the back has good views of the mountains in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRHCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We arrived after midnight and they kindly served us cold buffet dinner in the room (because we had hb). Expected much better breakfast for a hotel with Michelin award, also the coffee. Not all of the reception stuff was kind and helpful. Rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We spent 4 nights here as part of a Riviera tour in a family room on the 5th floor.... which made us smile as my daughter and have a lift phobia, so we got very fit over the 4 days! But the room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. A bath would have made it even better, but as we hadn't requested one specifically we couldn't really complain! The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff even offered to cook my 9 year old daughter anything she fancied, which she took them up on, and they produced a delicious spaghetti dish for her, and ice cream to follow. We were served Tuscan soup one night which was a popular local dish, and tasted delicious. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a very comfortable and happy one. Couldn't fault it and it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
0.6 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
658 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#11 of 29 in Arezzo
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Aretino
Hotel L'Aretino
#13 of 29 in Arezzo
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#8 of 29 in Arezzo
345 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Fiorentina 4, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
#1 Family Hotel in Arezzo
#4 Business Hotel in Arezzo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is located in the beautiful medieval town of Arezzo. Minerva Hotel easy reachable thanks to its strategic position. It is just 7 km from the exit Arezzo of the motorway A1. The city center is just 2 km. Minerva hotel has 125 rooms and 5 Junior Suites, recently renovated. Each room is equipped with: air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, desk, telephone, satellite TV, Pay TV, Sky box and minibar. The bathrooms with shower and / or bath, hairdryer and courtesy line, have refined marble details. The Minerva hotel's restaurant has a long tradition. The food is typical Tuscan and also for celiac. The use of the hotel's fitness center with gym, Turkish bath and Scottish shower is free of charge to the guest. Hotel Minerva has a conference center with 12 meeting rooms equipped with modern audiovisual equipment and can accommodate up to 300 people. The large private parking is free of charge. Reception 24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing