We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent modern hotel with a good evening meal.”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An excellent modern hotel with a good evening meal.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were touring Tuscany and the Arezzo tourist information suggested this, among other hotels, as likely to suit us. We arrived in the middle of the day, and looked at the room. All seemed fine so we booked in and drove off sightseeing. When we came back there was plenty of parking and a porter to help with our luggage. The room was larger than we had realised - and very well laid out. It was on a corner of the building with windows on two sides. Traffic noise was not significant, but in any case dropping the modern blinds was totally effective. We dined in the hotel restaurant, where the food and service were excellent, despite the staff also serving a large 'Riviera' tour party - they coped with all of us with exemplary efficiency.
This is a well run, large commercial hotel (Rotary International uses it) with pleasant capacious rooms, good staff and dinner (best fennel ever, anywhere!) to match. The price we paid was far below the maximum licensed price as posted in the room. We'd be very happy to stay again.

Room Tip: This hotel has lifts, air conditioning and modern blinds, so I assume any room can be quiet and comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eburacensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    334
    117
    23
    5
See reviews for
92
249
24
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel for four nights as part of the Riviera Classical Italy tour. Our room at the front of the hotel was comfortable although a little dull owing to the narrow window. It was quiet and we slept well and it was very clean. The hotel provides a good base from which to travel around the Tuscan countryside. The cold buffet breakfast was good and totally adequate. Our biggest disappointment was with the set-menu dinner at night. The food was generally bland and lacking flavour and variety. The other two couples sharing the table were of the same opinion. Perhaps we expected too much! The waiters were friendly and worked hard. Would I stay there again? I doubt it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordofthemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel last week as part of the Rivera Classical Italy tour and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was a great base from which to visit the places on our itinerary. Arezzo itself is also a real gem to explore as part of this tour.
The hotel itself was clean with spacious rooms, comfortable beds and friendly, helpful staff. The food we had in the dinning room was excellent and freshly cooked. Whilst the waiters were helpful, attentive and fun. I quite enjoyed being surprised by the menu each night and trying dishes I wouldn't normally order and was never disappointed by the end of the meal. The wine choices were excellent and didn't break our budget. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have been in this wonderful hotel two weeks ago with my wife for 3 nights. Friendly staff, everything clean, spacious and fragrant rooms, comfortable bed. We had dinner two evevnings in their restaurant where we ate divinely "tagliata" and excellent pasta and drinking great wines from their huge cellar. All the staff speak fluent English. Strategic location between the motorway and the center of Arezzo. Congratulations indeed. When we return to Tuscany we will stop for sure back to Minerva.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielCG521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of the Riviera Classical Italy tour last week. I had emailed ahead after reading earlier reviews to ask for a quiet room and was a bit alarmed to be given a room facing the road - which seemed very noisy. However, the noise died down significantly at night and we were not unduly disturbed.
The food was terrible! Way too much carbohydrate - mashed potatoes (this is Tuscany not Torquay); meatless lasagne; lots of beans - and NO fresh vegetables or fruit. Our poor vegetarian friend had a plate of completely white food: mashed porato and a selection of cheeses (after a very long wait, so that we carnivores were almost fonished by the time hers arrived). The breakfast was a very meagre 'continental' with rock hard turnovers and in edible croissants. Thank goodness for the tinned prunes/peaches and the espresso machine.
The waiters were auditioning for the noisiest and sloppiest hotel staff award! I would recommend covering any precious clothing with a napkin if any come near. Don't expect to wait for an apology either.
Carlo at least listened to the plea for local, fresh food in future.
Wonderful town - a real pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueandPeteNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pikler, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Minerva Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good morning,
we are very sorry to read your e-mail .
During one year we have served 2000 people of the Riviera Group and customers have often been very happy with the food and the rooms. The menu have been chosen directly by the Riviera and we serve what requested. During your stay will have seen that nice restaurant were served other groups. All content of the menu chosen. However, the Agency will also contact to let you read your e-mail so valuate whether to modify the menus in the future.
About the waiters we apologize if someone has not been kind. We often receive letters of thanks for the service received.

Sincerely
Andrea F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here on a tour in August 2013. The hotel was described in the brochure thus: 'The hotel was started as a restaurant fifty years ago by the present family owners and they are extremely proud of their restaurant which specialises in traditional Tuscan cuisine…’

I have to say I found the food very disappointing; it was a dumbed-down version of Tuscan cuisine, including fried eggs and chips, dollops of over-cooked vegetables. I appreciate they were trying to please English tastes, but a menu to choose from (rather than a set menu) would have been very much appreciated. Even when they served things we really liked such as asparagus it was over-cooked and watery...

I’d like to tasted some good Tuscan cuisine!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pikler, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Minerva Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Good morning,
we are sorry to read his comment. normally remain very pleased with our customer. restaurant as you can see in the Tripadvisor Restaurant Minerva. http://www.tripadvisor.it/Restaurant_Review-g194673-d1650899-Reviews-Ristorante_Minerva-Arezzo_Province_of_Arezzo_Tuscany.html
The menus of which you speak were chosen by the agency that organized the tour Vs. Sorry, you have not been to Vs liking. The eggs and fried potatoes usually have been chosen by the Agency to meet the particular tastes of some customers.
Yours sincerely
Andrea Fabbrini - Office customers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly people, ready to help with smile. However, most of the holidays experience is ruined by the low standards: restaurant is closed ' for the holiday period', fitness and spa are closed 'for renovation', air conditioning is defectious due to ' central breakdown', breakfast is nothing to shout about, no eggs, no fruits, just many industrial breads but without anything to put on it, etc. a real disappointment.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frédéric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
0.6 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Arezzo
AC Hotel Arezzo
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#7 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Aretino
Hotel L'Aretino
#13 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Fiorentina 4, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arezzo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
#4 Business Hotel in Arezzo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is located in the beautiful medieval town of Arezzo. Minerva Hotel easy reachable thanks to its strategic position. It is just 6 km from the exit Arezzo of the motorway A1. The city center is just 2 km. Minerva hotel has 125 rooms and 5 Junior Suites, recently renovated. Each room is equipped with: air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, desk, telephone, satellite TV, Pay TV, Sky box and minibar. The bathrooms with shower and / or bath, hairdryer and courtesy line, have refined marble details. The Minerva hotel's restaurant has a long tradition. The food is typical Tuscan and also for celiac. The use of the hotel's fitness center with gym, Turkish bath and Scottish shower is free of charge to the guest. Hotel Minerva has a conference center with 12 meeting rooms equipped with modern audiovisual equipment and can accommodate up to 300 people. The large private parking is free of charge. Reception 24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing