We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Rossi Mattei
Nearby Hotels
AC Hotel Arezzo(Arezzo)
US$131
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel L'Aretino(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villamato(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cilnia(Arezzo)
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Il Gentiluomo(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Volpi(Arezzo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
19
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing weekwedding weekchef fabriziobeautiful towntrain stationlillianaassisiaccommodationsguestspoolpropertywine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We celebrated our wedding at Villa Rossi Mattei in May 2014. We had our Finnish wedding planner who co-operated with the owner of the Villa (Liliana) who arranged everything at the Villa. We loved the idea that we could start party with cocktails outside at the pool and eat dinner in front of the beautiful fountain when sunsets behind the Tuscan hills. Everything didn’t go as planed so it was also great that they have Casina Rossa where we could continue the dinner when it started to rain during the evening. There party continued till dawn.

After the wedding we spent one week with our friends at Villa enjoying pool, City of Arezzo, Tuscan wineries, Villa’s cookery course, golf, etc. One reason to choose Villa Rossi Mattei was the location of the villa. Walking distance from Arezzo and easy access from Rome and Firenze by train or car. It was nice to offer different experience to people with different backgrounds. Many of our guests were used to hotels so Villa was something different and they loved it.

There were couple of downsides at Villa that you should be prepared. We are really demanding when it comes to food and we aren’t sure how well the catering was prepared to handle almost 50 guests served to tables. Some of the food was cold. Some of the rooms weren’t clean enough to our standards and kitchen equipment differed among rooms a lot so that some were poorly equipped and some had plenty. Everything else was great at Villa and we can easily recommend this place. Big thing was that Liliana was really helpful and always available. We really look forward next possibility to visit Arezzo and Villa Rossi Mattei.

Room Tip: There is many spacious rooms at this Villa. You find good pictures and floor plan on their webpage.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jussi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilyArezzo, Proprietario at Villa Rossi Mattei, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jussi, Thank's for your feed back ,it's important for us for improve ..we love our work and we will try to satisfy much more our guests.We hope see you in the future
Best wishes Liliana & Dante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked the villa for a family wedding in late July.
The house and gardens are lovely, great for photographs, plenty of space.
The property is constructed to a very high standard and Dante does an excellent job of the gardens which are full of interesting plants and flowers.
Bedrooms were cool at night due to fly screens built into windows on some rooms so windows could be left open and all bedrooms had ceiling fans.
The area where the villa is located is on a hill, overlooking Arezzo, a charming, peaceful town, with lots of shops and restaurants and a train station on a direct line to Florence. Thirty to forty minutes walk from the villa to the town center (or so I'm told). Excellent supermarket (Esselunga) less than 10 minutes drive.
The pool area has a covered section with plenty of chairs and tables, the pool was cold for us but the weather had not been good so this is understandable. There are no pool towels so bring your own or buy in the supermarket.
There is wifi throughout the property, including the pool area.
The wedding dinner took place in a special area, enclosed by walls with a fountain.
Liliana lives in the grounds of the villa and is always on hand for help and advice. She and Dante really made the wedding a day to remember, everything was organised perfectly with the dinner expertly cooked by Fabrizio.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoff_B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilyArezzo, Proprietario at Villa Rossi Mattei, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Geoff and family, many thank's for your beautiful words , we are happy when our guests are satisfied ..we always try to improve..soon will be the pool towels too!
You and all group are fantastic people..we hope see you again. hugs Liliana & Dante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I, along with 20 others rented the Villa for a week Sept,2013. Our apartment was beautiful and clean. Liliana, Dante and Fabrizio were there for all our needs, they make you feel right at home. The grounds are very well kept and the food was wonderful! Thank you, I hope we can come back some day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked out the whole villa for a one-month stay with friends and family to celebrate a number of big "0" birthdays. Ages ranged from 4 years up to 65 years and everyone was equally delighted with the property. Each apartment had its own kitchen, living and dining space and there was also a communal living room where we could gather as a group. Owner Liliana and her chef partner Fabrizio were always obliging with information on the area, driving a mini-bus for a winery tour, providing a cooking class and catering for multiple group meals in true Italian-long-lunch style. The pool and gardens were beautifully presented and perfect for lazy days when we weren't touring the hill towns of Tuscany. Arezzo is a great base for exploring the region, particularly being on the main train line for easy access to places like Florence and Assisi. I'd definitely recommend this villa for large groups.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank fazkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We had rented the Villa for a family reunion and for our wedding. We stayed with 40 people. Lilliana and Dante organized the wedding party perfectly the flowers, dinner, music, photographer etc.
we had a great week at the Villa

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilyArezzo, Proprietario at Villa Rossi Mattei, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Arlette & Eric thanks! your wedding was beautiful ! fantastic day and people! we hope see you in the future .. Arrivederci Liliana & Dante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews