We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Nearby Hotels
AC Hotel Arezzo(Arezzo)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le Capanne(Arezzo)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel L'Aretino(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portici Arezzo, Tuscany(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Minerva Hotel(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cilnia(Arezzo)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel(Arezzo)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
159
84
30
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
84
30
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsbeautiful hotelhill sideair contwo nightsfood and winetuscan holidayspacious roomminute drivemonasterytuscanyproseccodideckedhoneymoondrivewayestate
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Firstly, I could not believe that 2 people rated the Badia as "poor". Astounding, but yes it's hard to find, yes it's up a winding narrow country road and unless you ask someone to do it for you, yes you will carry your own bag...and the rooms are dark because it's an ancient monastery with thick walls and small windows to keep out the 40 degree summer heat. It's Tuscany!

This place is wonderful. Warm, funny, friendly staff who cannt do enough for you, a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by immaculate gardens. There's a tranquility to the place that my boyfriend and I simply didn't want to leave.

I travel a lot, but this will stick in my memory.

It's fun to stay in Arezzo for at least one night, but once you've done the hustle and bustle, you'll be glad of the retreat ~1.5km out of town. We stayed at Graziella Patio next to San Franceso in Arezzo. Good location and nice room but nothing else. The Badia has the pool, gardens, restaurant, view across Tuscany....

Room Tip: The rooms are plain but that's part of the charm
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Up a mountain track and difficult to find, but once there it has real charm. Service is friendly but a little haphazard, and rooms are functional rather than luxurious. Restaurant for dinner was outstanding - good menu and truly great food, and no problem in coping with my wife's lactose intolerance. Breakfast was however disappointing. Good if you want to be away from it all, and very good swimming pool (when warm enough to use) with excellent (but hilly) walks on the doorstep...but you do need a car and dont expect 5 star luxury - more 3+ stars (with restaurant for dinner 4+ stars) but reasonable vaue for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We traveled with our 3 and 5 year old and the hotel was great and accommodating, however this would probably be a great honeymoon location. Our kids did love it though, great views, a swimming pool, and large estate. The rooms were big, though sparsely furnished and nothing fancy in the furnishings. It is located way up a country road and way out of town, which was fine with us, but certainly not in walking distance of anything. We took a day trip from here to Pisa and Volterra, which may have been a bit too much to bite off. We did explore the city of Arezzo also and it was great, with lots of culture, shops, and restaurants. Keep in mind with little ones that restaurants shut down mid afternoon and do not reopen til 7:30. Can be a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaxs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent with wonderful views over the town and countryside. The hotel building looks great and is typically Tuscan in style. The rooms are sparsley furnished but not to the hotel's overall detriment - it is simply their style. However, it is not a cheap hotel and at this price the hotel must invest in better quality amenities, for example, the bed should be bigger and more comfortable, the TV is very small and there is not enough space for unpacking suitcases (one of the two suitcases will have to be on the floor). These are all small points but the more the hotel charges then the more they need to provide in return.

The restaurant was excellent with pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

My daughter got married at Badia di Pomaio in July 2010.We had over 200 guests coming from Canada(we are Canadians),the U.S. and Europe. We rented all the rooms at Badia and a few other Hotels around Arezzo(Il Capanne was also a favorite). The owner Gianni Briganti planned the perfect Tuscan wedding ,complete with Italian tenor, fireworks, fabulous buffet by the pool and 'out of this world' dinner.They took care of everything: flowers(orange roses,lavender,lemon trees) hairdressers,string quartet,band, D.J, white doves,etc.We sat in white tents with a see through ceiling and crystal chandeliers The service was impeccable. All the guests agreed it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever seen! They took excellent care of our guests and were also honest with the billing.Highly recommended to couples wanting a perfect destination wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viv86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews