We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Arezzo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Badia di Pomaio
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed a single night in this beautiful hotel as a stop on the road.
The staff is very kind and helpful, the rooms are good standard, the view beautiful. It is located on the hill with a very nice view down towards Arezzo.
The restaurant is great, serving local specialities in the dining room housed in the wine cellar. Good value for money, I will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank Pes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights bringing my mother in law. The location is stunning and we found it easily with satnav. The staff are the most helpful I have ever come across, simply nothing is too much trouble, from ordering flowers to calling old friends in Arezzo for us, printing maps etc. We would definitely go back, but might book a superior room which I suspect are not quite so dark being at the front with bigger windows. The courtyard dining room is delightful, dinner is excellent and beautifully served. A real gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Although we arrived by train the Hotel was happy to provide a free shuttle service from the station which was approx 20mins away. On arriving at the hotel we were taken back by the breath taking views and tranquil atmosphere. It was nice meeting Valentina she was very friendly and helpful. Rooms had traditional features as well as being modernly equipped. In the evening the hotel turned into what should be a michelin starred restaurant which was also open to the public. Both the food and service during our evening meals was incredible and definitely unexpected. They had serving wine down to an art with an extensive cellar full of wine we almost felt too unexperienced to drink. I would advise anyone staying for 3 or more days to rent a car as at sometimes we found we were trapped in paradise in a land where there were no prices with everything being charged to our room. Despite our lack of car Valentina was happy to drive us into Arezzo centre one afternoon and we were collected later that evening all free of charge. Definitely a place to visit!!! Good luck with your future Valentina hope you get to the UK soon. Al

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alruttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Firstly, I could not believe that 2 people rated the Badia as "poor". Astounding, but yes it's hard to find, yes it's up a winding narrow country road and unless you ask someone to do it for you, yes you will carry your own bag...and the rooms are dark because it's an ancient monastery with thick walls and small windows to keep out the 40 degree summer heat. It's Tuscany!

This place is wonderful. Warm, funny, friendly staff who cannt do enough for you, a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by immaculate gardens. There's a tranquility to the place that my boyfriend and I simply didn't want to leave.

I travel a lot, but this will stick in my memory.

It's fun to stay in Arezzo for at least one night, but once you've done the hustle and bustle, you'll be glad of the retreat ~1.5km out of town. We stayed at Graziella Patio next to San Franceso in Arezzo. Good location and nice room but nothing else. The Badia has the pool, gardens, restaurant, view across Tuscany....

Room Tip: The rooms are plain but that's part of the charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Up a mountain track and difficult to find, but once there it has real charm. Service is friendly but a little haphazard, and rooms are functional rather than luxurious. Restaurant for dinner was outstanding - good menu and truly great food, and no problem in coping with my wife's lactose intolerance. Breakfast was however disappointing. Good if you want to be away from it all, and very good swimming pool (when warm enough to use) with excellent (but hilly) walks on the doorstep...but you do need a car and dont expect 5 star luxury - more 3+ stars (with restaurant for dinner 4+ stars) but reasonable vaue for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We traveled with our 3 and 5 year old and the hotel was great and accommodating, however this would probably be a great honeymoon location. Our kids did love it though, great views, a swimming pool, and large estate. The rooms were big, though sparsely furnished and nothing fancy in the furnishings. It is located way up a country road and way out of town, which was fine with us, but certainly not in walking distance of anything. We took a day trip from here to Pisa and Volterra, which may have been a bit too much to bite off. We did explore the city of Arezzo also and it was great, with lots of culture, shops, and restaurants. Keep in mind with little ones that restaurants shut down mid afternoon and do not reopen til 7:30. Can be a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaxs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent with wonderful views over the town and countryside. The hotel building looks great and is typically Tuscan in style. The rooms are sparsley furnished but not to the hotel's overall detriment - it is simply their style. However, it is not a cheap hotel and at this price the hotel must invest in better quality amenities, for example, the bed should be bigger and more comfortable, the TV is very small and there is not enough space for unpacking suitcases (one of the two suitcases will have to be on the floor). These are all small points but the more the hotel charges then the more they need to provide in return.

The restaurant was excellent with pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
4.7 mi away
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
Etrusco Arezzo Hotel
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
670 reviews
4.1 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#2 of 29 in Arezzo
811 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#6 of 29 in Arezzo
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Le Capanne
Hotel Le Capanne
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
290 reviews
7.7 mi away
La Cantina Relais - Fattoria Il Cipresso
3.4 mi away
Graziella Patio Hotel
Graziella Patio Hotel
#15 of 29 in Arezzo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Badia di Pomaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Badia di Pomaio

Address: Localita Pomaio 4, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arezzo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Badia di Pomaio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia Di Pomaio was founded in 1645 as a religious home and place of spiritual retreat. In the 2000s, a careful restoration has transformed this place into receptive structure with restaurant, respecting what were historic architectural features. Our restaurant is a representation of the typical Casentino Aretine and bringing to light the ancient methods, trying not to upset the old values of Tuscan cuisine, enhancing the authenticity and flavors of local products. Opening hours of the restaurant: Lunch: 1:00 am to 2:30 pm Dinner: 7:30 pm to 9:30 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Badia di Pomaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia Di Pomaio Arezzo
Badia Di Pomaio Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing