We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting with great guide”

Nuraghe la Prisgiona
Ranked #4 of 63 things to do in Arzachena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Archaeological site. Bronze age Nuraghe with village.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting with great guide”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We decided that we would visit one archaeological site during our week in Sardinia and chose this one. When we arrived we were told that we could wait ten mins for the guided tour or go straight in and show ourselves round using the leaflet (which was Italian and English, although the Italian side seemed to go into greater detail). We waited for the guide, and as it turned out it was just us on the tour. Our guide, Mauro, spoke fluent English and made the whole visit very interesting and enjoyable. The site is still an active archaeological site, with one of the structures only uncovered just last week. He was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and it really made us glad we chose the tour as we wouldn't have got half as much from it had we just shown ourselves around. Thank you.

Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank maddiemcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    95
    11
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting Nuraghe”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Exciting site of a smaller nuraghe surrounded by minor buildings. The archaeological remains are well narrated through signs and handed out prints.
Small café and book-let shop. The tsaff will give you information on what else to see in the neighborhood.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Rikke_Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing site”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is an amazing site. Prisgionia deserves a a visit or maybe two. The guide spoke fluent English, welcoming visitors from all over Europe and America always with a smile. His knowledge of ancient history a bit of humor and some good tips about Sardinia, made the visit an unforgettable one. Nuraghi civilization predates the Etruscan culture of central Italy with an unexpected amount of Towers and villages ( more than 8000 throughout Sardinia) still very well preserved but not all are available with a tour guide service. We've been travelling up and down Sardinia for a month now and I cannot believe the amount of archaeological sites, natural beauty and mystery of this place. If you ever find yourself in north Sardinia, just make sure to visit Prisgionia, it's just awesome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
414 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“prähistoric structure of a important tribal leader”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

the nuraghe la prisgiona near arzachena ia a well preserved ruin of a tribal leader and built around 1700 before christ. the monument is very interessting to visit, because it is possible to move into the building. there you can sense how the people lived and what they did the whole day. around the building in which the tribal leader had his quarter the huts of the subjects are as ruins recognizable. for us was this small expedition very interessting. the place mediated the mood of mystic and gave a good insight into the life of the native of Sardinia. a must for everyone who is interessted in archeology.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fascinating site”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you are only visiting one archeological site in this part of Sardinia, you could do worse than this one. It's more complete than many, and gives you a better idea of the society that lived in this area around 2000+ BC. And you can really get up close and personal with it: you can enter the central tower and walk round inside the perimeter of the ruins. Pretty interesting place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank clivetwooaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nuraghe la Prisgiona also viewed

Arzachena, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Arzachena, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Porto Cervo, Arzachena
Arzachena, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Nuraghe la Prisgiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing