We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful in every way”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The warm welcome when you arrive; the genuinely friendly and helpful staff; the tastefully decorated spotlessly clean rooms; the comfortable beds; the good breakfast; Ascoli Piceno's beautiful Piazzas literally a few footsteps away. These are just some of the reasons why my wife and I try to stay at this wonderful hotel at least once a year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianoVeero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    163
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
636
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We've just returned from a 3-night visit to this beautiful hotel. From the moment we walked into this hotel, we knew it was going to be good! All the staff were exceptionally friendly and so helpful. We were directed straight to the front door, with the aid of our reliable sat. nav.! The hotel parked our hired car in their garage for the three days (for a small fee). We didn't need the car, as Ascoli is THE most beautiful town to explore and sample the incredibly good restaurants, cafés and wine bars! The hotel is spotlessly clean, good WiFi and really lovely breakfast! Will we be back? MOST DEFINITELY YES!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is in a very beautiful building that had been sympathetically modernised. Our bedroom was very stylish, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast, in the lovely bright dining room, provided a good choice.The hotel is very close to the amazing Piazza del Popolo.The staff were very friendly and helpful. ( we had a misunderstanding regarding a restaurant booking and were left a bottle of local liqueur in our room by way of a "sorry" which was a nice touch). The recommended carpark is a fairly difficult route from the hotel, but once parked, it is only about a 7 minute walk back to the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from a few days at this lovely hotel. It is in a perfect location, close to the Piazza del Popolo. Rooms were great, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Staff were very helpful, and the breakfast was lovely. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning one day!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in early November. No problem having 2 beds in very nice quiet room. Continental breakfast was adequate and served in a pleasant room. Front desk staff, especially Simone, was very helpful, and took our car to the garage - it is almost impossible to find the hotel when driving your own car! We parked in a paid parking lot and walked to find the hotel which is In a one way street. The staff would bring your car to the hotel when needed. Interesting town but the restaurants do not open until 7.30 or 8 pm which is late when it gets dark at 5 pm and there is not much to do between 5 and 8. The stores close Monday morning and every day from approximately 12.30 lunch time to 4 pm. There are lots of interesting little villages around this area to visit and the Adriatic is about a 30 minute drive away. Of course most of the tourist attractions - including restaurants - are closed in November . We found an interesting fish restaurant on the beach in San Benedetto.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or spa. Rooms at back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at this lovely hotel. I have been to Ascoli Pecino many times to visit relatives and this is by far the nicest place we have stayed. Great location, great rooms and a great breakfast area. The spa was being redone at this time. Staff was very nice and helped in any way they could. If going to Ascoli and want to stay in the city center, you can't go wrong with the Palazzo die Mercanti!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not an easy find by car, although they did e-mail directions, which I neglected to copy. Desk staff was very cordial and helpful. We parked in front of the hotel to unload and the desk staff took the car to a garage (they offered to instruct me as to taking the car there myself, but I left it to them). The hotel is close to the Piazza del Popolo, the city's main sight.

Room Tip: we were in the back of the house facing an alley. I would guess that was quieter than the front whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascoli Piceno
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
17.0 mi away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#2 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Picena
Villa Picena
#1 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Sgariglia Resort Campolungo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Property: Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 35, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo dei Mercanti is a hotel in Ascoli Piceno situated in the city center. There are many great attractions nearby, including Piazza del Popolo, Ascoli Piceno Duomo, Church of St. Francis and Ventidio Basso Theater. Also close by are Cattedrale di Sant'Emidio and Piazza Arringo. Highlights include a health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing