We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a Beautiful Hill Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is in the old centre of this lovely town. The hotel is just around the corner from the main plaza which is a lovely arcaded with several nice cafes and restaurants. While located in old buildings, the hotel's interior has been renovated in a very nice modern style. Breakfast was very nice with some very interesting choices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller123265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ascoli Piceno is in itself a beautiful town with heart and the atmosphere it carries with it. This Hotel simply amplifies this feeling.

As usual we arrived with our bikes since we travel by bike and ushered immediately to a very beautiful room while our bikes were taken to a safe garage a short distance away.

Everything in the room was in excellent working condition and the general cleanliness of the room was not only real but also in appearance. The hotel structure is complicated but beautifully restored to reflect its original use. Since we were on the first floor we never used the elevator which takes you to the higher floors. There is also a delicious coffee making machine adjacent to the lobby for the complimentary use of the guests which makes better coffee than you can buy in a cafe. The breakfast offers a sumptuous buffet including non Italian varieties of meats, eggs, fresh squeezed juice etc. including the customary cakes of the Italian breakfast but in this case home made by the lady who serves the breakfast. An elegant touch...I say!

This brings us to the quality of the staff. All five who we met were helpful proactively and on demand with practical and useful information about the town and in our case extremely useful road instructions towards our next destination to Sarnano trying to avoid the bike obstructions called "tunnels" and "autostrate".

Don't look elsewhere for a better hotel in Ascoli and if you are lucky to get a room, enjoy the hotel and the town thoroughly.

Room Tip: Ask the staff and they will help you choose in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller00717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The warm welcome when you arrive; the genuinely friendly and helpful staff; the tastefully decorated spotlessly clean rooms; the comfortable beds; the good breakfast; Ascoli Piceno's beautiful Piazzas literally a few footsteps away. These are just some of the reasons why my wife and I try to stay at this wonderful hotel at least once a year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalianoVeero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We've just returned from a 3-night visit to this beautiful hotel. From the moment we walked into this hotel, we knew it was going to be good! All the staff were exceptionally friendly and so helpful. We were directed straight to the front door, with the aid of our reliable sat. nav.! The hotel parked our hired car in their garage for the three days (for a small fee). We didn't need the car, as Ascoli is THE most beautiful town to explore and sample the incredibly good restaurants, cafés and wine bars! The hotel is spotlessly clean, good WiFi and really lovely breakfast! Will we be back? MOST DEFINITELY YES!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is in a very beautiful building that had been sympathetically modernised. Our bedroom was very stylish, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast, in the lovely bright dining room, provided a good choice.The hotel is very close to the amazing Piazza del Popolo.The staff were very friendly and helpful. ( we had a misunderstanding regarding a restaurant booking and were left a bottle of local liqueur in our room by way of a "sorry" which was a nice touch). The recommended carpark is a fairly difficult route from the hotel, but once parked, it is only about a 7 minute walk back to the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from a few days at this lovely hotel. It is in a perfect location, close to the Piazza del Popolo. Rooms were great, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Staff were very helpful, and the breakfast was lovely. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning one day!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in early November. No problem having 2 beds in very nice quiet room. Continental breakfast was adequate and served in a pleasant room. Front desk staff, especially Simone, was very helpful, and took our car to the garage - it is almost impossible to find the hotel when driving your own car! We parked in a paid parking lot and walked to find the hotel which is In a one way street. The staff would bring your car to the hotel when needed. Interesting town but the restaurants do not open until 7.30 or 8 pm which is late when it gets dark at 5 pm and there is not much to do between 5 and 8. The stores close Monday morning and every day from approximately 12.30 lunch time to 4 pm. There are lots of interesting little villages around this area to visit and the Adriatic is about a 30 minute drive away. Of course most of the tourist attractions - including restaurants - are closed in November . We found an interesting fish restaurant on the beach in San Benedetto.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or spa. Rooms at back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rena3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascoli Piceno
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#3 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantina dell'Arte
Cantina dell'Arte
#9 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
62 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Picena
Villa Picena
#1 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 35, 63100, Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range: £63 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo dei Mercanti is a hotel in Ascoli Piceno situated in the city center. There are many great attractions nearby, including Piazza del Popolo, Ascoli Piceno Duomo, Church of St. Francis and Ventidio Basso Theater. Also close by are Cattedrale di Sant'Emidio and Piazza Arringo. Highlights include a health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing