We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Medieval Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern Medieval Charm”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is located very centrally in the historic city of Ascoli Piceno, about a 3 minute walk from the Piazza del Popolo. It is inside a recently-renovated historic building, and somehow manages to blend history and contemporary spaces very neatly.

I hadn't realized it when I booked it, but included with our room was breakfast each day. I do encourage everyone to take advantage of this as the breakfast offering is quite lovely in a wine-coloured breakfast room filled with light coming through the exterior windows. Pastries, juices, fresh fruit, salami, prosciutto, cheeses, cakes, yogurts all pleasantly arranged for the taking made for a filling and satisfying breakfast.

The rooms themselves are clean, spacious, modern, and fresh-feeling. The windows open onto the narrow streets and alleys of Ascoli Piceno, and it was easy to hear, at times, the cheerful voices of locals and guests alike walking past toward the main piazza while the windows are open. With the windows closed, however, I rarely heard a thing.

The bed was great, the bathroom had everything we could want (including nice-smelling soaps) and the room came with a complimentary mini-bar! (I don't know if this is the case for ALL the rooms, however, so please check before you use anything from the fridge.)

All of the hotel staff were very friendly, always smiling, greeting everyone, asking if everything was okay. The only thing I had any problem with whatsoever was the elevator buttons. The elevator was so new the buttons were electronic/touch-sensitive and I had to press them usually twice to get them to register for me.

But I have no actual complaints about this property! Believe it when it is listed as #1 in the city! We loved everything about our stay here! I forgot to get everyone's name, but everyone was extremely nice and helpful! Thank you all for a very comfortable stay!!

Green Features: I love that this hotel is not only modern, it is environmentally-friendly! The residents of this city are clearly very protective of its historic and natural beauty, and that makes for a very conscientious hotel dwelling. A big plus!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    163
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
636
17
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wonderful location right in the centre, all the sights are near by. They sent us detailed instructions how to find the hotel. This was most helpful in navigating the one way system and walking areas. A warm welcome on arrival and help with the parking.
This is a small, beautifully updated Palazzo with lovely rooms and modern bathrooms. Just great and wonderful value. We could not the air conditioning to work and then discovered that the windows has to be shut! Great breakfast included in the room rate. Just loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Location location location. Literally a few steps from the amazing Popolo Square. Very tricky trying to find hotel after circling the town several times bit an English speaking traffic warden saved the day! The Palazzo Mercanti is a renovated town convent, slightly smaller than website photos imply but charming. Reception staff so friendly and helpful. Our room price included fee parking in the Hotel's private car park which was money well spent as you would have a problem parking. We arrived exhausted and wanted a simple local meal so the family run restaurant next door did the trick. We struggled through ordering with a helpful diner on the next table and the food was very good and inexpensive.. The breakfast room is spotlessly clean, modern and the waitress was very friendly. Excellent selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cakes, pastries, drinks etc. The room was not particularly attractive but included free minibar (soft drinks) all important air con, tea/coffee and beautifully tiled bathroom with a huge shower and enormous white wash hand basin. Hotel is very quiet even though it is situated on quite a busy road. Ascoli Picena is amazing and we would return again and say at the Palazzi Mercanti.

Room Tip: 'Magnifico' room though more expensive had a sofa, was quiet though overlooking busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

All of the reviews are spot on. This hotel is as pretty as Ascoli itself. Great location in the heart of the historic center, beautifully appointed (but typically small) rooms decorated in a modern style, an included breakfast of high quality, and fresh breads, pastries, meats and cheeses, fresh squeezed juices and a proper espresso made by hand. Parking, while an additional 15 Euro / night, was so simple and easy. But what makes this property special is the outstanding service, which started with an email from Rolando ensuring we had accurate directions through the sometimes tricky streets. Simone, Frederica, Rolando, and Laura. From directions, to dinner recommendations to best ways to soak in the local Le Marche color. All were very special. Frederica even acted as tour guide, sending us for gorgeous rides through picturesque villages like Amandola, Sarnagno, and San Ginesio.

We stayed here at the end of July and used Ascoli Piceno as our jumping off point for an exploration of Le Marche. The Palazzo is a beautifully restored property, as solid as when it was built centuries ago. Bathrooms have all the amenities you would expect, and there’s even a complimentary micro fridge stocked with drinks and energy bars. Yeah, I said it…complimentary. Something so simple as coming back from a long stroll through the town, and getting back to your room and being able to grab a Limon soda from the fridge made the experience so homey. A simple, yet thoughtful touch. Memorable.

Bottom Line: If you’re visiting Ascoli Piceno, stay at the Palazzo Dei Mercanti. It’s a can’t miss hotel that’s immaculate, friendly staff, centrally located, and perfect for a quiet stay in a beautiful village. Breakfast included, WiFi included, and microfridge with refreshments included. Grazie a tutti all’ Palazzo Dei Mercanti.

Room Tip: Be careful. We asked for a quiet room and unfortunately, quiet meant really small. We mentioned that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirepoixjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just spent three nights at the Palazzo dei Mercanti.
The building is an antique patrician palace restructured as a modern hotel.
The location is central and in walking distance from the major piazzas and historical sites.
Valet parking is very convenient and personnel is always ready to assist you for any necessity.
Rooms are cozy, well appointed with international TV and good WiFi access.
Rates are reasonable and the included breakfast is first class.
Don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Palazzo dei Mercanti is very conveniently located in the historic center. Staff are unusually pleasant and helpful, and room was quite comfortable. Our only recommendation is to follow their recommended directions for driving to the hotel. If you follow your GPS, you're apt to get caught in narrow streets with no easy access to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, nice historic building, very nice location.
Personnel is very kind, and rooms are very good, with all comforts.
Nice breakfast with typical local cakes as wee las more traditional croissants.
100 meters far from the beautiful squares of city center.
Very nice stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charles8tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascoli Piceno
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
17.0 mi away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#2 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Picena
Villa Picena
#1 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Sgariglia Resort Campolungo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Property: Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 35, 63100 Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo dei Mercanti is a hotel in Ascoli Piceno situated in the city center. There are many great attractions nearby, including Piazza del Popolo, Ascoli Piceno Duomo, Church of St. Francis and Ventidio Basso Theater. Also close by are Cattedrale di Sant'Emidio and Piazza Arringo. Highlights include a health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing