We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family-run hotel in Badia”
Review of Hotel Gran Ander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gran Ander
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Badia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent base for activities in the Alta Badia or broader Dolomiti. Very warmly welcomed and treated by family and all staff in the hotel. Food was excellent and service most gracious. Room was spacious and clean with excellent views of surrounding mountains. Did not visit the spa, but facilities looked nice. Wifi available in common areas with periodic password required. In sum a family tradition of warm service combined with excellent facilities and food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. The food was delicious and each day of a different kind. We really enjoyed the stay there. The very familiar service made it a really comfortable vacation.
The Spa is very nice arranged with large Windows with a goergeous view on the Mountains.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our first time in the Dolomites and Alta Badia region. What a stunning and majestic place it is with awesome mountains.

We landed at Venice airport and an easy drive at first, mostly along the Autostrada until Cortina. And then the fun begins with lots of hairpin bends over the high passes. Takes about 3 hours.

Pedraces is a delight. A small ‘alpine’ feel village with a few shops, banks, bars etc. If you are looking for nightlife there isn’t any, at least not in the summer! Better to stay in the larger Corvara. Lots of walks from easy to hard from the village.

Must do:

Santo Croce cable car to the church and Rif San Croce
Visit Brunico, a pretty town
Bolzano to see the famous ‘iceman’. Longish drive & the Brenner autostrada is packed with HGV’s but well worth it.

And so to the hotel

Ambience

A relaxed, informally run hotel with about 21 bedrooms. All are different; we stayed overlooking the main road (quiet at night) with great views of the mountain from our balcony.

The hotel is run by 3 generations of the same family. Very friendly with kids running around before going off to school, helping to the clear the tables.

Facilities

Lovely outdoor terrace – we had breakfast on a couple of days.
Nice bar with draught lager beer.
Bedrooms nicely decorated and equipped but toiletries only supplied on arrival & not replenished. Room had safe, TV with mostly local channels.
The outdoor Jacuzzi and sauna were very good but not often used.
Small car park with overflow about 50m away.

Food

Excellent continental style breakfast with good choice: cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats & cheeses, pastries. Only hot choice was DIY boiled eggs.

The small size means not a lot of choice for the evening meal. You choose at breakfast with usually a choice of 2 main courses. I would describe the food as good, local, home cooking but might not suit everyone as on a couple of nights the main choices were veal or tripe. There is a lovely salad buffet on most nights.

Each week there are themed evenings: a fabulous gala dinner, a pizza & cocktail party on the terrace, a tour of the kitchen with drinks, selection of local cheeses.

A great holiday – it’s not often we say we must return and mean it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is quite simplyy favourite ever hotel. It is home from home! We felt so cared for and looked after without being overwhelmed. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything is done with kindness and love.
The rooms are exceptionally clean and spacious with good sunny balconies and satellite tv. The food is out of this world! Lots of great fresh produce, amazing quality and variety. Breakfast was healthy (or not if you prefer pastries there are lots to chose from too ) with fresh fruit, muddling, yogurts And teas. For dinner, lots of lively courses and great family vibe as you generally sit Down at the same time ( bit at your own table ) for dinner. Wine was terrific. Location is great! Go you won't be disappointed. I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zenobia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

If you are after 3* hotel, which makes you feel like you are in 5*, then this is the place!
Friendly and helpful owners will go an extra mile to do anything to meet your requests from booking the transport, outdoor trips, tips for walks, later check out ( if available) etc.
Beautifully decorated rooms, staff wearing local costumes, spotless rooms, afternoon jacuzzi or sauna overlooking the beautiful Dolomites is what you get besides an extraordinary culinary skills of owner/ chef Andrea. Hallf board is highly recommended, as you will get the chance to taste to local specialities, not to mention an excellent variety of local wines.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, from couples, families or solo travellers like me.
I will be definitelly coming back!

Room Tip: If you looking for a relaxing hotel where the owners make you feel home, than this is the place. Eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ivana197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cevi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank mariaceleste67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Badia hotels
3 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#2 of 18 in La Villa
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ustaria Posta
Hotel Ustaria Posta
#14 of 32 in Badia
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#8 of 32 in Badia
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#13 of 18 in La Villa
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melodia del Bosco
Hotel Melodia del Bosco
#15 of 32 in Badia
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ander

Address: Strada Runcac 29, 39036, Badia, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Badia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Badia
#11 Spa Hotel in Badia
#17 Family Hotel in Badia
Price Range: £166 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Ander 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gran Ander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Ander Badia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing