We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here!”
Review of Hotel Gran Ander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gran Ander
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Badia
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You must stay here!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Gran Ander, on either side of our Dolomite hiking trip, and loved it! This lovely family run hotel is truly a gem. The rooms are beautiful, spotless and very comfortable. The dinners are magnificent and begin with thin pizzas baked in the pizza oven on the deck with views of the valley and mountains. Dinner was superb both nights. Breakfast included all the European meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, fruit and muesli, along with house made yogurt. There is a wellness area, but we were too busy exploring the town and hiking to use it. It looked beautiful and is included in the room cost. A bonus for us was that the hotel is in easy walking distance to the bus stop in Pedraces. The owners truly take pride in their establishment and welcomed us warmly. Loved!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
60
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Hotel Gran Ander before a Holomites trekking trip. The hotel is lovely and the food is incredible. The family is very friendly and helpful. They had a wonderful cocktail hour with fresh made pizza outside one night which was a real treat. They stored our bags during our trek and they are really thoughtful. We want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27LRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

There were so many good things about this place I don't know where to begin. The family that own it are wonderful. The son is the chef and he is good, really, really good. We had a superior room and half board, which seemed like the way to go. The room was big, clean, had a lovely view of the mountains, and a small balcony with two chairs and a table. The lower floor had saunas and other wellness features. There was a hot tub outside with a great view. There is a chair lift across the street that goes to one of the prettiest spots -- a lovely church overlooking the mountains. There is a place to get food next to the church. From there we did a very long walk that Andre recommended -- it was wonderful. But by far the best part of staying here is the food. Every night Andre plans a huge multi-course dinner every night (you see the menu in the morning so can spend all day knowing what you are looking forward to). The food was Italian, Ladin, and something in between (Ladin food is meat six ways). Everything we had over three nights was excellent and memorable. The wine list is another impressive thing. We loved the Manicort and ending up buying a bottle to take home. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiarevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

As promised in our Sept 12 review we did return!

The great thing about this beautiful area is that it doesn’t need to change. It remains a stunning and majestic place with awesome mountains.

This time we:
• walked to La Villa along the river
• visited the San Cassiano street market
• attended a very enjoyable traditional folk night with local band, singers and dancers in La Villa
• shopped in Cortina
• walked from La Val to the Ju de Rit Gap visiting the churches on the pilgrims trail.

The weather was superb, around 25 C, except on the last day when we had snow, so over the Passo Falzarego in 6 inches of snow and minus 2.5c, very scary!

By the time we reached Venice it was back to 25C.

And so to the hotel, really little changed from last year but:

Ambience

We stayed in room 17, a junior suite. Spacious and overlooking the car park so very quiet. Lovely evening sun from the balcony.

The hotel is still run by 3 generations of the same family. Meals served wearing national costume.

Facilities

Lovely outdoor terrace – we had breakfast on a couple of days
Nice bar with draught lager beer
Toiletries replaced when needed

We used the spa a lot - outdoor Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna’s were very good. Very nice afterwards to relax in the quiet room, sipping a herbal tea whilst enjoying the mountain view.

Food: well what can we say except superb!!

Excellent continental style breakfast with good choice: cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats & cheeses, pastries. DIY boiled eggs replaced by being cooked in the kitchen so you can have them any way you like.

The small size means not a lot of choice for the evening meal. You choose at breakfast with usually a choice of 2 main courses.

But what a change!

I would still describe the food as good, local, home cooking but with complete revamp of meals/choices and especially presentation – easily to 4* standard.

We ate turbot, fresh trout, and fresh perch, all beautifully cooked. Vegetarian choices on some nights. The first thing Andrea chef/owner said when we arrived was ‘tripe is off!!’ (See my Sept 12 review)

The themed evenings are still there: fabulous gala dinners, a pizza & cocktail party on the terrace, a tour of the kitchen with drinks, selection of local cheeses.

How good was the food?

Well on one gala evening an amuse bouche pudding was served before the main pudding. We were so impressed that we thought that was it, left and missed the main event, despite a telephone call to remind us!!

Another great holiday: return again? probably!!

Via Ferrata

One of the main reasons for us to visit in the summer is these walks. Lots of guidebooks and gear hire is around 9-10 euros. We are experienced walkers from UK & only needed gear on walk 5:

1. Sass de Rocia. A beautiful location south of Arabba. Short but quite tricky up steep stemples
2. Sass de Stria: not really a via ferrata as only short protected route but interest in the trenches and tunnels
3. Monte Cavallo: Long exposed route from Rifugio San Croce on path 7 to the plateau. Two protected areas
4. Lajazuoi (start route M2): a tough route, across a narrow bridge & exposed
5. Brigata Tridentina: a really hard route, 750 m of climbing & very popular, stretched us to the limit but worth it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed 1 week in March 2013 for skiing Vacation.
Due to end of winter season the owner upgraded us for Junior suite room for free - that was just great - big room with rest area and big bathroom.
Hotel is located in the center of Badia but on the hill with great views on the hills and slopes.
It is family hotel so you can really feel like home and owners are so great, friendyl and helpfull- we have never experienced such a care in any hotel. This makes this place just wonderfull.
Food was homemade and prepared with love and sooo delicious.
We also have to ponit out the spa with great views on the hills and big variety of saunas.
All hotel is very clean, ncie and you really feels like home.
We ould like to come for sure.
We can strongly recommedn this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katka Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Super location, warm, friendly and helpful staff combined with clean and comfortable rooms and DELICIOUS food made for everything we look for when traveling-clean, quiet, safe and comfortable. The Irsara family truly made one feel "at home."

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent base for activities in the Alta Badia or broader Dolomiti. Very warmly welcomed and treated by family and all staff in the hotel. Food was excellent and service most gracious. Room was spacious and clean with excellent views of surrounding mountains. Did not visit the spa, but facilities looked nice. Wifi available in common areas with periodic password required. In sum a family tradition of warm service combined with excellent facilities and food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badia
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rezia
Hotel Rezia
#4 of 18 in La Villa
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#9 of 32 in Badia
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melodia del Bosco
Hotel Melodia del Bosco
#18 of 32 in Badia
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#2 of 18 in La Villa
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
3.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Fanes
Wellness Hotel Fanes
#1 of 19 in San Cassiano
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ander

Property: Hotel Gran Ander
Address: Strada Runcac 29, 39036, Badia, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Badia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Badia
#12 Spa Hotel in Badia
#17 Family Hotel in Badia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Ander 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gran Ander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Ander Badia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing