We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain bike through the Dolomites”

Holimites - Holiday into the Dolomites
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Badia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Dolomites with us! As tourism experts for several generations, we love sports and know these spectacular mountains like the backs of our hands. Our goal is to organize your next vacation and make it unforgettable!
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mountain bike through the Dolomites”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I did the best of Alta Via 1&2 tour from July 12-19. I just want to say that it has been an amazing adventure. Andreas was our guide and he is a real mountain professionnal, as he is also a guide for running and ski. This guy really loves his job and makes us feel it all the time. While we were riding, he could explain a lot of things about the region, the mountains, the flowers, etc. After a very good breakfast, we started around 9h00 for a 5-6 hours of riding.The trails are not so technical but there is a lot of climbing, so you have to be in a good shape. The good thing is that Andreas was always aware of the energy of the group and could adjust the itinary when it was possible. He is very patient and always care that everybody is ok. For the riding, every day brings a new scenery, The trails are very nice, with a good flow, and the technical parts are not too difficult for a person who is used to ride. The bike that I rented was very good and they took time to fit it for me. An another reward at the end of the day were the huts where we were sleeping, very confortable, clean and with such a good choice of local food and wines (and Grappa too!). The people from the Alta Badia region are very nice and you feel that you are welcome.And for the Holimites company, I can say that they are very professionnals. Everything was well organised, even for the bike location, than the transport from hut to hut or the transport from-to the airport. I want to thank them and congratulate them for all their great work, this is a journey that I will remember for all my life. Thank you so much!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent organization for hiking trip in Dolomites”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My 15-year-old son and I just completed a sel-guided five day hike through the Dolomites, organized by Holimites. Our experience with Holimites was very positive. From the very beginning, they were responsive, efficient and professional. They organized a hike for us that fit our hiking needs and capabilities perfectly.

During our hike, we met other hikers whose trips had been organized by different organizations than Holimites. In comparing notes of our experiences, it was clear that Holimites provided a level of personal service that was not included by the other organizations. Holimites provided us with a detailed route and itinerary, a topographical map of the area and a meeting with a representative from Holimites. They also provided us with a cell phone, for use in the event of an emergency.

If I were to change one thing, it would be the hut booked for us for the last night of our trek. Although all of the other huts were spectacular, the last hut we stayed in was very ordinary and located on a major road. However, every other detail of the trip was beyond our expectations. If I were to book another hike in the Dolomites in the future, I would most definitely utilize the services of Holimites again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holimites - Trekking holiday/Guided”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have visited this area twice before with other companies but found the Holimites service by far the best. Their organization, information, route planning and accomodation choice were all excellent, including food and service! Our guide Richard was also brilliant and his knowledge of the local area and people provided a great insight into local life, he assessed the group very well and made our safety and comfort his first concern, also very good translating skills and a great sense of humour. Holimites also provided us with a very good transfer service from the airport, a very good driver who also gave us lots of information and helped us with our onward journey into Venice. Our holiday was fantastic and we will be returning, definitely using Holimites again, I can't think of anything that could have been improved!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
2,603 reviews
1,418 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,366 helpful votes
“The peaks are entrancing,almost mystical in their beauty with the best sunrises and sunsets,anywhere....anywhere”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Le Corbusier described them as "the world's most beautiful works of architecture" and not only am i in awe,but also in total agreement with his discourse about these peaks that emerged from deposits and sediments and debris through erosion into the gentle valleys,plateaus and towering pinnacles and pillars,that makes this landscape so awesome.

With its pink mother- of -pearl colour,these majestic pes when bathed in moonlight, have cast spells and inspired myths and legends throughout the centuries They are totally entrancing,almost mystical in their beauty, inspiring a roller coaster of emotions as you see the pyramids of Segonzano,soaring 20 mt high, reminiscent of of the fairy-tale chimneys of remote regions. The landscape is sublime, as the three distinctive peaks in the Sexten Dolomites that are revealing their secrets to geologists and mountaineers.

but to really get the arial view,you have to be transported to the Langazuoi refuge and above to the Badia Valley where Michelin-starred restaurants await you. here the spectacle of sunrise and sunset on the Marmolada and Tofane will enchant and bewitch your senses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great scenery and skiing”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great scenery and skiing. Dolomites landscape is impressive though not so many black runs. Only few in fact. If you are just out relaxing trip there are enough reds you keep you busy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holimites - Holiday into the Dolomites also viewed

Corvara in Badia, Province of South Tyrol
Corvara in Badia, Province of South Tyrol
 
Corvara in Badia, Province of South Tyrol
San Cassiano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Holimites - Holiday into the Dolomites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing