We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel close to lake”
Review of Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bologna
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel close to lake”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Have stayed at the Hotel Bologna many times over the years. We choose it because it offers good sized rooms with balconies (with limited lake views), secure underground parking and a 5% discount for motorcyclists if paying by cash. It is a family run hotel with a warm welcome and very friendly staff. The swimming pool is a bonus and the short walks to either the lake or the centre of the very pleasant town easy on the feet.

Overall, a bargain in an otherwise expensive resort!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    25
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the boats and the centre of Bardolino. Although it is almost on a main road, the room was incredibly quiet. The staff were excellent - friendly and professional. Towels changed daily, sheets every few days, cleaning to a good standard. Breakfast was standard continental and okay. The bar was cheaper than most bars in town which is amazing. Hotels usually charge silly prices. My only suggested improvement would be a mini-fridge or minibar in the room. The air conditioning was very effective and quiet. I recommend the hotel strongly.

Room Tip: 304 has a big terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzathebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bologna. Nothing was too much effort for any of the friendly, welcoming staff. Spotlessly clean and well maintained. Drinks and snacks very reasonably priced and always delivered with a smile! The room whilst not huge, was more than adequate for us, with very much needed, super efficient air-conditioning. The pool like everything else was spotlessly clean, never really a problem finding a sun bed, in fact on several occasions we had the entire pool area to ourselves. All in all a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. Would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireLass91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOLTON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went to the Bologna in Mid May.
Spotlessy clean Hotel, the town can be reached either by a lakeside walk along the flat or up a slight incline directly into the heart of the town. Either way is no more than a 10 minute stroll.
A major plus for the hotel was having a lift, not always standard in 3 Stars in Italy.
Small rooms and showers but cleaned and maintained to the highest standard, with fresh towels daily. Remember your own toiletries only an emergency supply is provided.
We had no problems sleeping, the traffic noise was minimal, however unluckily on our last night the loudest snorer in the world moved in next door and gave us an hours concerto
A really pleasant breakfast room, very light and airy with as a bonus your own designated table, saves the usual scrum. Breakfast is the usual Continental fare but with a little added extra that you can boil your own egg.
Overall, the hotel is staffed by attentive, helpful and pleasant people, who went out of their way to make it an enjoyable stay.
Now for the downside, not the hotel or its people, our travel operator Inghams.
Inghams expect you to carry your luggage and yourselves 200 metres over a main road, a large garage forecourt and finally a side road on a blind corner, when 50 metres from the hotels front door is a perfectly safe side road. Their coach actually goes down this road to pick up guests from the Gritti Park.
I complained to Inghams twice by email and they never responded until I threatened to write to their CEO.
Their reply was totally negative so I then wrote to CEO, you guessed it, he is not interested either, not even an acknowledgment to my letter.
On their booking form they require your age but there was no warning of the transfer arrangements, so if you want your Granny’s inheritance send her with Inghams, especially if she is infirm.
I would add finally my wife and I are both in our seventies.
Never again with these cowboys.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, at the side overlooking the Hotel Capri, with no traffic noise whatso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank LesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had an excellent 2 weeks at the Hotel Bologna. We arrived early but we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. The rooms are not huge but more than adequate. Twin beds, en suite, tv, small balcony with 2 chairs. The whole hotel was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. Towels changed daily
Breakfast is self service, selection of youghurts, fruit, cereals cold meats, cheeses, DIY boiled eggs and a special mention for grandpa's home made jams- well worth a try, especially the strawberry and the orange
Pool area is on the first floor, spotless as everywhere, seem to be plenty of sunbeds for the size of the hotel, we didnt have problems finding one any time we went down. Bar snacks and drinks service are available and reasonably priced. Altough close to a busy road the pool area is amazingly quiet
The outside tables for the bar are in sun early in the day but in shade later on
There is a cabinet of English books in reception to borrow/swop
Air con in the rooms was excellent and the temperature controls actually made a difference to the maintained temperature
The walk into the centre of Bardolino is 10 minutes going via the straightest route a bit longer if you go down and walk round the front. The front is a nice flat stroll pre dinner
The Hotel is B&B but reception is manned up until midnight and they will serve a drink/coffee if needed. Plenty of restuarants in the town, there is a good sized supermarket less than a 100 yards down the road
Hotel is busy, large numbers of Germans and Austrians as it was in the resort as a whole
As mentioned before, it is on a busy road but the rooms are quiet when the windows are closed
Beds were a bit too hard for me
Be warned that the new tourist tax has to be paid in cash, as was the bar tab. Some warning of this would have been nice and saved a a quick trip to the cash machine.
All in all thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gpwestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

just been to Bardolino + stayed in The Bologna, was really good,very clean,nice swimming pool
Run by a nice friendly family. Drinks were very good price
All round excellent value

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hinckley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed here for one week towards the end of August. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming.
The rooms were very well kept, cleaned daily and had free air conditioning (very good!). The hotel had a great pool with Jacuzzi at the back if you wanted a day just to relax. The drinks were very cheap, with glass of wine only costing 1.50 euros and a pint of beer 3.50 euros.
The location of the hotel was fantastic, a 2minute walk to the Lake and 5 minute walk to the town centre. It was ideally situated. The town is fantastic for all age groups I would say. As a young couple we wished to have a few drinks at a bar afterwards and there were definitely facilities for this but there were also quieter cafe style bars if you wished to just chill out after your evening meal.
Cannot fault this hotel or place, was the perfect holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EAM4122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#10 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
B City Hotel
B City Hotel
#33 of 43 in Bardolino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beatrix Apartments
Beatrix Apartments
#37 of 43 in Bardolino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ca' Mura
Hotel Ca' Mura
#25 of 43 in Bardolino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#14 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna

Property: Bologna
Address: Via Mirabello 19, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing