We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Bardolino”
Review of Parc Hotel Gritti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parc Hotel Gritti
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Bardolino”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Parc Hotel Gritti for 7 nights in the middle of May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I had read some negative reviews before booking but took a chance and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in a privilege room which was worth the extra cost as it was furnished to a high standard and the bathroom was very modern with a fantastic shower and bathrobes and slippers were provided as was a hairdryer. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean as were the corridors and other areas of the hotel. There was air con in the room (but we didn't need to use it) as well as tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi (the reception staff tell you how to get the special code). The reception staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which was fine for us as there were loads of restaurants in Bardolino (beautiful, clean and only a 5 minute stroll away). The breakfast was excellent - loads of food and a decent choice.

The hotel is located right near Lake Garda but it is worth noting that the rooms don't really have a view overlooking the lake as the hotel is set on an angle and there are a couple of small buildings in the way. However, the lakeside path runs past just outside the gate and you can walk for about 4kms in each direction - to Garda one way via Bardolino and Lazise the other. We highly recommend the walk as the views across the lake are fantastic. The ferry stop is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and there are various ferry routes you can take. We took a ferry to Garda then a high speed hydrofoil to Malcesine in the north which was an excellent day out. There is also a spa within the hotel which we didn't use but we did have a look around - lovely. The hotel's outdoor pool was beautiful but freezing cold and there were plenty of sun loungers and parasols. The free afternoon tea provided between 16.00 and 17.00 was very welcome especially after a hard day walking and sightseeing! The hotel's gardens were well tended. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a privilege room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Steph,

thank you so much for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to see you again soon. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    264
    167
    67
    40
See reviews for
122
401
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Very pleased with room which I believe had just been renovated . Sparkling wine on arrival. Air conditioning blissful and much needed.

Food a little bit samey and we did go into wonderful bardolina for food even though we did book for evening meals we did this a couple of times actually. Staff in restaurants were lovely and very helpful though.

Didn't look at indoor pool but outdoor pool facilities were excellent and pool lovely.

Crystal reps were great and ensured it all ran very smoothly.

Only criticism would be that the reception staff are not the friendliest and give the impression that they are a bit irritated.

All in all a very enjoyable holiday experience

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filofaxqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Filofaxqueen,

thank you for your review. It's great to read that you had a very enjoyable experience. We're sorry about your experience with the reception staff: they're usually friendly to everyone, but it may happen that, when in peak season, they are quite busy. Anyway, we hope to see you again next summer. :-)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We have recently returned from a week spent in the beautiful surroundings of Bardolino on Lake Garda. The location of this hotel is ideal for being close to the lakeside, close to Bardolino town itself and within easy walk of the nearby town of Lazise too. Well, I say easy walk...most of the residents of the hotel were of a more 'mature' status, let's say!
The hotel itself is a bit dated and needs a bit of 21st Century updating but it was kept clean and tidy by a good quality staff.
The standard rooms are very basic (as you will see in the photos) but hopefully you don't spend much time in your room, so it is adequate as somewhere to rest your head (though the pillows were suspect to say the least).
The pool area is decent and you even get to share the pool with some local wildlife (ducks). Haha! Don't let this put you off..it's quite quirky!
The hotel does offer coffee and cakes at 4pm each day, which is a nice touch. There is also the option, if you are half-board, to switch your evening meal to lunch. This is useful if you fancy going exploring and don't want to have to hurry back or if you fancy sampling some of the local restaurants on the odd evening! There are many lovely ones so it is worth doing!
Bardolino is lovely and has some excellent shopping options for a small town! We arrived to a weekend of a local Wine Festival! What a great occasion...buy a glass and your first taster for 3 euros and then each top up after that was just 1 euro 20! Splendid!
Garda town is approx 45-60 minutes walk along the prom to the north. Again, a lovely town. There is, of course, the option to take ferries to the various stops around the lake too.
We took a bus into Verona (approx 60 minute journey depending on route). The city is lovely and not too big to walk around and see all you would hope to see...easy to do on the local bus so no need to pay big excursion fees from operators.
The food standard at the hotel was decent...we have seen better selections but the quality was good overall.
We would happily return to this hotel...in fact, we are aiming to do so at the same time next year! This is testament enough to how we felt overall. It is worth a recommendation...but don't expect the Ritz!! George (on reception), if you read this...your parents would be proud!!! Haha!

Room Tip: Honestly....pay more. It seems the only way to get a better standard room! Sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinC2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear client,

thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you plan to return next year. Thank you also for your recommendation. We're looking forward to your next stay. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Spent a terrific week in the beautiful Bardolino and opted to stay at the Gritti mainly due to its good location. We were not dissapointed as an easy 5 min strole took you in to the main piazza and the general hub of things. We stayed in one of the privelage rooms which i would reccommend to anyone to pay the extra for this as the standard rooms are very old fashioned. Our room was bright,modern with a fab bathroom with an excellent shower,toweling robes slippers, and excellent toiletries are a nice little extra. Another little perk is that all water and soft drinks in the mini bar are complimentary and we also received chocolates and champagne on our arrival. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel 2 buffet restaurants serving breakfast and one for evening meals only (buffet) and then there is a small gourmet restaurant which you have to book. We did not go to this as there are so many lovely restarants in Bardolino to choose from if you want a break from the hotel one. The food is ok there was always something you could eat and for those who do enjoy their food you can eat as much as you want.However the food was always served a bit cool& could be done with being served warmer.There is a beautiful bar in the hotel looks really chic but was not open WHY? The pool area is fine but i would reccommend using the Mirabello lido just opposite the hotel the sunloungers are great and it is lovely and peaceful with fantastic views of the lake and great to watch the boats going by. There is a bar here as well where you can buy drinks and snacks. Bardolino itself is simply stunning and staying at the Gritti will provide you with the perfect location to enjoy it.You can hop around the lake by steamers or the faster service hydrofoil. The ferry stop is just a five minute stroll from the hotel. You can also do a number of excellent excursions to Venice,Verona,Wine tour etc. We chose to visit Venice and it was marvellous. Eating out in Bardollino i felt was very reasonable in comparrison to other parts of Italy. A meal for four with wine was about between 35 and 45 euros ok we were mainly just having a main meal but that is cheap in my book. If your looking for a bar with a good atmoshphere and friendly staff then head to the yacht club it is excellent. All in all a fantastic holiday and as for the Gritti well it ticked most of the boxes. C Irvine Glasgow.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the privelage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear cirvine,

thank you for your kind review. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our renovated rooms. We suggest that you try our gourmet or buffet restaurant, if you like: you will be able to choose from a wide variety of high-quality dishes. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at the Parc Gritti in Bardolino.We will certainly go back,the location was brilliant just on the lake with walks to Bardolino and Garda one way and Lasize the other way.The hotel was everything we hoped for,very comfortable beds and clean rooms ,we had a standard room with a bath( the only downside it was very deep and slippy-but the hotel provided a slip mat),we had a good view from our balcony.The glass screens separating the balconies were something we would change,as you could see through the thick glass to our neighbours who were also heavy smokers with a yapping dog .The outdoor pool was well positioned with sunloungers but the depth markings not very clear-this isnt a hotel suitable for children. There was live music near the outdoor pool some evenings-a really nice atmosphere. At our meeting our rep suggested the coach tour round the lake-it was a long day but worth it with a taster of Sirmione,Limone Riva and Malcesine ,the rep on board the coach was very good we would definately recommend the trip if you havent visited the lake before.Venice was another brilliant trip,another long day but worth it.We visited Salo,by getting the Rapid boat going and the slower on the return-a place worth visiting.We found the food in the hotel very good with lots of choice and hot enough,even though we had been warned that the Italians eat their food warm rather than hot.The best kept secret is the Gourmet restaurant unfortunately we left this until our last night 6 fish courses-really good food and excellent service from our waiter.We found all the staff very pleasant and helpful,nothing was too much trouble-they were always smiling.I just hope they are well paid as they seem to work long shifts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Nicola,

thank you for leaving your comment. It was good to read that you enjoyed our hotel. We're looking forward to your next visit; maybe you can try our well-equipped internal spa. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have just returned from a one week holiday at this hotel (June 2012). I don't wish to appear too negative, as we did have a great holiday, but the purpose of this site is to rate the actual hotel, and unfortunately, by our standards the Hotel Gritti fell short, though it does have the potential to be an amazing hotel.

We had booked a standard room with a balcony and when we checked in, it was grim to say the least. The room looked like it was trapped in the 1980's - terracotta & green bedspreads, dark carpets, dark furniture & a very dated bathroom suite.We returned to reception and enquired about an upgrade. Our new room couldn't have been more different - it was lovely. Very modern, nice bed linens, super bathroom with large walk-in shower, great wardrobe space etc. It was a no-brainer to upgrade, though it did cost us an extra £150 - but it was worth it as the diference between the two rooms was as different as night & day. The balcony though was still grotty. Rust and peeling paint on the ironwork, wires poking out from the patio door with their ends covered in insulation tape. Peeling wall paint and badly faded and patchy staining on the woodwork & dead flies in webs that hadn't been cleaned for days on end.....Come on guys, why renovate a beautiful bedroom and leave the balcony in such a state???

Now this is a theme that is consistant throughout this hotel - it really is a hotel of two halves....the areas / rooms which HAVE been renovated and those that HAVEN'T.

The reception area is great. Bright & modern. The bar inside the hotel, again, bright & modern (unfortunately it wasn't open - why???). The indoor pool area was dingy with loose tiles and three or four plastic sun loungers around the edge - not inviting at all and hence I didn't even try the "spa" !! The bar/lunchtime grill by the pool, again was lovely (and the food was delicious) and in complete contrast to the main dining area serving breakfast and dinner which I was describe as a glorified canteen. It was fine for breakfast, but I personlly would like somewhere more refined for dinner. Speaking of which, dinner started serving at 6.30pm and by 8.00pm most of the food and the diners had gone so you either ate early or not at all. I prefer to eat around 8.00pm on holiday, but this hotel seems to be geared for the older guest who seeming prefers to dine early, so it is not a criticism per se, just our personally preference - and it didn't suit us. The food itself was OK - nothing great, just OK. There are so many nice eating places in Bardolino itself that I would recommend B & B and explore Bardolino at night unless to like to eat a 6.30pm !!

The pool area was fine, with plenty of comfy sunbeds and you were allowed one free towel a day each (you had to pay one euro per extra towel). Just across the road is a beautiful grassy area (Lido Mirabello) right on the lake that guests of this hotel are allowed to use and this was a great little spot. Free sunbeds and it's quiet and you can watch the boats go by. There is a bar & restaurant there and this is a fab place to go if you want some lunch followed by a lazy afternoon of sunbathing.

The location of this hotel is what makes up for its faults. You are right on the lake about a five minute stroll into Bardolino itself. Bardolino is a perfect location for exploring the south of Lake Garda. You can walk about 45 minutes all along the lake edge into Garda to your right, and about an hour, again on the lake edge to your left into Latzie. The ferry is a few minutes away, and you can sail over to Sirminoe in 20 minutes on the rapid service. I would really recommend Bardolino for anyone wanting to discover the south of this beautiful region. Whether I would recommend this hotel is doubtful, though I suppose it depends on the guest and what you want out of your hotel accomodation. I really hope that they continue to renovate this property, as it does have amazing potential. It is spacious, has a great location and the areas that have been improved are lovely - alas, if does show up the areas that haven't been touched for what looks like a couple of decades at least.

Happy to answer any questions if you would like to e-mail me.

Room Tip: Unless you want to sleep in the 1980's - you have to upgrade your room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrandMrsDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear clients,

we thank you for your review. We're sorry to read that you didn't like our room, still your remarks are very useful to us so as to improve our service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week in Bardolino. we stayed at the 4 star Parc Gritti, a 5 minute walk along the beautiful Lake Garda to the centre of the resort. we took an upgrade to a "privileged" room, which the brochure said was fit for film stars ( a wee bit o.t.t. ) still the room was excellent, clean, comfortable, with a lovely on suite shower room, all toiletries supplied and refurbished every day.there is a large balcony with a table and two chairs, ideal for a drink in the evening before dinner.a nice little touch was the compliamentary bottle of sparkling wine delivered after your arrival, and also the daily delivery of free bottled water ( 1 litre ) the hotel has lovely gardens, and areas to relax, and also a wonderful swimming pool.their are two choices for dining, a restaurant with table service, or the larger option serving buffet food. we opted for the latter, on a scale of marks out of 10 I gave it a mark of 6 3/4 loads of choices, but not served as warm as we wood have liked, but there was always something to please. the staff were excellent and very helpful, as was James the Crystal/ Thomson tour rep. Bardolino is a wonderful resort, and an ideal centre for exploring the lake and surrounding towns and villages, we took excursions to Venice, Verona, Riva Del Garda, and several others. we will definitely return, as we found the prices very reasonable, lunch for 4 people with wine varied between 30 and 40 euros. I must give a mention to the staff at the Yacht Club bar, they were terriffic

Room Tip: the "privilige room was ideal, cant comment on the spa or wellness centre as I never had the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Web PR Manager at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear David,

thank you very much for you review. It's great to read that you had a wonderful week in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#15 of 43 in Bardolino
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#13 of 43 in Bardolino
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Gritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Gritti

Property: Parc Hotel Gritti
Address: Via Gabriele D'Annunzio | Via Lungolago Cipriani, 1, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Gritti 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location and high quality services for this 4 star hotel, the perfect choice for a relaxing and exclusive holiday. Just few steps from Bardolino and lake front, Parc Hotel Gritti is very popular for its tranquil gardens and terraces, for its pleasant pool area and a nice wellness center with indoor pool, sauna and wellness treatments.260 cosy rooms with en-suite facilities, hairdryer, minibar, tea & coffee maker, telephone, sat.TV and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parc Hotel Gritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Bardolino
Parc Hotel Gritti Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing