We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 7th visit - great holiday, but a few grumbles”
Review of Parc Hotel Gritti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parc Hotel Gritti
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Berkshire England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our 7th visit - great holiday, but a few grumbles”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have recently returned from a 9 night stay at the Gritti.

First - the positives. We booked a priviledge room on the 3rd floor. These are a great improvement - refurbished with reliable air conditioning (very useful considering the recent temperatures) and a super well lit bathroom with a fabulous shower that gives you a real soaking. The TV was a bit small, but there was a dvd player which was useful because the TV channels are not worth watching (BBC World News and CNBC were the only English broadcasts!). The room was bright and well furnished and there were some nice touches such as the free soft drinks in the mini bar and water bottles that were replaced daily.

The safe was digital so no key was needed and this had more capacity than I remember the previous key operated ones.Free wifi was useful, but a little tricky to set up and did run a bit slow at times.

The cleaning staff were very efficient and extremely friendly. Our room was spotless on arrival and remained so. The hotel generally was clean,, tidy and well kept.

Breakfast was very good and having now a dedicated egg chef is a great improvement.

Now the negatives - The hotel has a dress code for dinner. Quite right - this for us is one of the attractions. The dress code was observed impeccably by nearly all guests of a certain age - but flouted by many others. Every night we witnessed dinner guests in jeans (they are long trousers I suppose) or shorts, swimming shorts, trainers, flip flops, tee shirts and other casual wear. On one evening a young lady appeared for dinner in a bright yellow tee shirt and frayed denim hot pants. All were admitted without question.

The pool rules clearly state that sun beds may not be reserved with private belongings. Great - but everyday - without exception - beds were reserved in advance with private towels, goggles etc. way in advance of the pool opening hours.

My comment to the management will be - if you are going to have rules, enforce them - or don't have rules.

Dinner was plentiful,and the soup and pasta dishes were excellent but the main courses were nowhere near as good as in previous years. The salad bar had some odd contents and the main course vegetables were a little bland and unexciting.

Finally, beware the "Holiday Tax". This was never referred to when we booked nor was it drawn to our attention when we checked in. We found this on the welcome sheet under "Bike Hire"!, and subsequently we saw notices in reception. For some curious reason this has to be paid in cash and cannot be included in your main invoice (?). Our tax was 18 Euros.

Our advice to would be travellers - book a priviledge room on the third floor, go for the bed and breakfast option and eat out in the evenings. Bardolino is a fabulous town with a lively atmosphere and some fabulous restaurants. The hotel is within a very short and pleasant walk away.

As you will note above - this was our 7th stay and we have visited most of the local attractions, so unless we start to see some more positive reviews on this site, I feel that this may be our last visit for a little while.

Room Tip: Book a third floor room and ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deeb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Deeb33,

thank you for your review. It's great to read that you came back here for the 7th time. The "negatives" section of your review will be of great help. Thank you. We're sorry that you plan not to come back. We have a new manager now and a nice programme of events is in store. Would you like to give it a try?

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    260
    166
    64
    39
See reviews for
119
393
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Arrived to stay at the Parc Gritti for a week's stay with my father who had stayed at the hotel on six occasions in the past.
The hotel has apparently been refurbished - according to my father - however to our standard of hotel this was an unloved hotel.
We paid for 4 superior rooms and one standard room - the superior rooms are a must as the standard room looks like an old peoples home. The superior rooms have a good view over the lake and are decorated to a high standard, with good bathrooms. Robes provided, clean towels daily, shampoo and shower gel, tea, coffee and kettles also provided!!!! Also bedding changed twice a week.
The rooms were very clean, and the cleaning lady was the only friendly member of staff in the hotel. The rest of the staff were mainly from Poland or other countries - not Italian and did not smile or converse. Couple of dining staff better and they did engage more, but general miserable.
The dining room was tired and very old fashioned - but the food was good - we always enjoyed our meal - not the ambiance - it needs a total refurbishment - once again more like an old peoples home.
Communal areas needed new furniture and needed refurbishing! The gym was ok - nut no air conditioning so way too hot. Being in the spa area was doomy and gloomy although the indoor pool was lovely - have to wear a cap though!
The outside pool was pretty, and there were plenty of sunbeds and chairs. Staff at the pool side bar miserable. We were TOLD OFF for playing with a ball in the pool - when no one else was in the pool! NO fun in this pool - only swimming - no floats, inflatables etc.
Entertainment was terrible - one night some local s were brought in to dance - who want to watch amateurs???????? Kevin good to sing along to, an other guy came in to sing and played a song we requested - he was TOLD OFF by bar manager for playing it because it was too much fun - too up beat for the clientele! We felt awful for the singer and had to apologise.
In general if you are not over 70 this hotel is not for you. If over 70 you may enjoy it - it is well placed for walking to Bardolino and enjoying other small towns, also well placed for taking the boat trips. Easy bus route to Verona.
It took 55 mins on the bus to Verona - and only cost 10 euros return! Recommend.
This retirement home hotel is well placed, the superior rooms are a must buy. But there surely must be other hotels you could choose, we understand someone transferred to another Parc hotel in the same town and loved this one.
We still had a nice holiday - beautiful spot, nice food, but we entertained ourselves, travelled and relaxed by the pool - if this is all you want then enjoy this holiday - but I am sure for the price we paid you could get a better deal else where.
Look around before you book here.
Parc Gritti step up! If you want to charge these prices you need to upgrade communal areas and pay the right staff to work here. You will not attract new clients as your old ones will be dead!

Room Tip: Book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gentlefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear gentlefrench,

thank you for your review. We're sorry for your experience of our staff; we will take steps so as to improve this. Sorry for what happened by the pool: to ensure that everyone of our guests have a relaxing stay, clients are not allowed to play with a ball in the pool.

Although some of our guests are over 60, we welcome guests of all ages. Some families with children stayed here as well, even though Parc Hotel Gritti does not have the facilities that are necessary for children to have a funny stay.

As you said, our hotel caters especially for those who want to have a chilling, relaxing holiday.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just been to Lake Gada for first time,excellent.The hotel is in the process of upgrade a little bit of wear and tear.The first room was overlooked by trees,but they changed our room with no problem over looking courtyard.The food was of good quality with good selection,the desserts were excellent,take your expanding trousers with you.Staff were very helpfull.And excellent position for lake and surrounding areas.A nice touch tea and cake at 4pm.

Room Tip: need a room overlooking courtyard odd numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia2222_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Patricia,

thank you very much for your kind review. We're glad that you spent an excellent holiday at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having visited the Gritti for over eight years, it is noticeable that the hotel is not as good as it used to be. Various parts of the communal areas need refurbishing and repainting. The room we had needed refurbishing and disposables such as tissues and bath gel were not replaced. However, bedding and towels were frequently replaced. There was a general lack of quality and variety of food in the dining room especially for the evening meal e.g. parma ham and melon and mussels which always used to be on offer was non existent during out 11 day stay this year. Also the choices of pasta were limited and few of the dining room staff were not as friendly as in the past.
Beware of the daily delivery of water to the room as it wasn't until we checked out that we discovered that there was a 2 euro charge for each bottle taken!
The Gritti is situated in an excellent location in Bardolino and the pool and sunbeds are of a very good standard.
With a little more investment the Gritti could be restored to the hotel it once was in the early 2000's. At this stage we're not sure if we will return to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room. Balcony not always worth the extra payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Peter,

thank you for your review. We are sorry for your experience of our hotel. We try to cater for a different clientele, as for food, with a wide selection of starters, vegetables and first / second course which vary every evening. As for the complimentary water we provide our guests, we would like to remind that it is completely free of charge. We will only charge guests who make use of the minibar. Obviously, we won't charge anyone for a service they didn't ask for.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Probable the best 4 star hotel I have ever stayed at. We had an upgraded room on the third floor with balcony which overlooked tall trees, not a problem on the third floor but could be a problem on the lower floors. There is a good sized swimming pool with plenty of sunbeds all around, complete with parasol and small table. In the basement there is an indoor swimming pool and fitness centre. I found it extremely hot there but the facilities were fine.

The food is excellent with plenty of variety to suit most tastes and the restaurant staff are very pleasant and very efficient. Sadly the same cannot be said for the reception staff who seem to think that their duties do not include any interaction with guests. In fact I would say that guests are made to feel most unwelcome! Such a pity because everything is excellent. Try the afternoon tea and cake,very pleasant and free!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the quadrant. There are no rooms with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rightoldcodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Rightoldcodger,

thank you for your review. It's great to read that ours was the best 4-star hotel you've ever stayed at. Sorry about your experience of our reception staff. We will take action so as to prevent this from happening again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The room was overlooking footpath with tall trees, which made the balcony and room very dark. Needed a light on even on very sunny days. Pool was great, plenty of sunbeds and seating areas. Reception staff not very friendly or helpful, we asked where we could go dancing and they said there wasnt anywhere and they said there was music on in the hotel. Music finished at 11pm and on the Friday and Saturday there was no music on when we stayed.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the courtyard garden or lake if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Angela,

thank you very much for your review. Our hotel have a inner courtyard with trees and plants, a feature that many appreciate, but we understand that someone could not like it. As for the music, there's a club in Bardolino, but we would like to inform you that the new management is now organizing a programme of interesting events in the hotel, ranging from concerts to food events. If you happen to come back next year, give it a chance.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from this hotel having stayed there a number of times before. This trip was not as good as last time but speaking to the staff there has been a change in some of the managers / directors since our last visit.
Location of this hotel is superb, one of our party is disabled and this is fully accessible and ideally located to as it is situated on the lakeside, going out on to a pedestrianized promenade, also the whole town in fully accessible as on the flat and traffic free.
Rooms - the updated rooms are very nice and worth the extra money, we did not pay for (or get) a balcony this time and regretted not booking one. Some of the cleaning was a bit inconsistent this time which has not happened before. One day all our towels were removed from our room and on going to reception to tell them I felt I was being accused of stealing them! Also did not get the bottle of water every day and some people had fizzy wine when they arrived others did not.... we did not! We requested a late check out on the day we left but were told it was not possible as the hotel was full ( we were happy to pay for it)
Food - We only eat breakfast as in the past have found the dinners somewhat lacking and there are so many lovely restaurants we would rather eat in Bardolino. We prefer the smaller restaurant as one of our party is disabled but this closed half way through our stay due to the hotel not being busy.... which seemed odd given the comment about a late check out room. Afternoon tea is still free and served every afternoon but less cake choice this year.
Pool - Pool Area is very nice and kept clean, pool towels are a bonus but this year restricted to one per person whereas in the past you could have more.
Reception - like other guests I found the courtesy on reception somewhat lacking at time.
Overall a good holiday.... would we go back?? Probably because the location is the best in Bardolino, as long as it does not decline further.

Room Tip: Updated rooms worth the extra money and do book a balcony - request a room overlooking the court yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dud-and-Jacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Dud-and-J,

thank you for your review. We're sorry that you didn't like our hotel as much as you used to. We will take your review into consideration to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#14 of 43 in Bardolino
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 43 in Bardolino
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Gritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Gritti

Property: Parc Hotel Gritti
Address: Via Gabriele D'Annunzio | Via Lungolago Cipriani, 1, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Gritti 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location and high quality services for this 4 star hotel, the perfect choice for a relaxing and exclusive holiday. Just few steps from Bardolino and lake front, Parc Hotel Gritti is very popular for its tranquil gardens and terraces, for its pleasant pool area and a nice wellness center with indoor pool, sauna and wellness treatments.260 cosy rooms with en-suite facilities, hairdryer, minibar, tea & coffee maker, telephone, sat.TV and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parc Hotel Gritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Bardolino
Parc Hotel Gritti Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing