We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Suprise”
Review of Parc Hotel Gritti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parc Hotel Gritti
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Suprise”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked this hotel at the turn of the year, and a few weeks before leaving I was a bit worried about what we would find.

The trip from Verona airport to Bardolino was only a short 20 minute trip and that was a positive thing.

The first impressions of the inside of the hotel didn't look good - the corridors are long and dark, and the room for myself, my wife and teenager son was a bit on the cosy side, also it was raining when we arrived - so the thought of 10 nights didn't look promising.

But then it stopped raining and we went for a walk around town that was bustling with life. We came back to the room and unpacked and the sun was shining then and it was hot, so we went to the pool area that was quite empty.

The majority of the days where hot and sunny with two thunderous downpours that only lasted an hour at most - then the sun came out again just as quick as it went.

There where always plenty of sunbeds around the pool.

The evening dinner buffet was not to bad, lots of choice, but it could have been better for my vegetarian wife not much choice (luckily she eats fish).

Breakfast was again a buffet and had everything you wanted.

The location of the hotel is right on the lake front, and you can have a long or short stroll every night into the town or further if you wish.

The nightlife was quite poor, a few solo singers over the nights, local Italian's dancing one night, some nights nothing. But as others say - you can easily go into town for this thing if you want it.

There was free tea or coffee and biscuits (and sweet lattice tart) every day from 4pm to 5pm, it took us a few days to realise that pressing "latte" on the machine just means hot milk, not latte coffee, we always thought the machine was broken!

Listening to other guests at the hotel talking, they said it was their 8th 9th etc time here and loved it.

The location is the best part of the hotel, the pool and surrounding area are good, the food and room are acceptable - would we come back - well the world is such a large place I try never to go back again anywhere until I find that extra special place, but not this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave_B_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Dave,

thank you for your review. We're happy for having surprised you positively. We're sorry though that you probably won't come back; as for this matter, we would like to inform you that the new management has a nice programme of events in store: concerts, food events, and so on. Would you join us?

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    259
    159
    61
    39
See reviews for
115
384
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After reading reviews of this hotel prior to arriving there, I was a little concerned that it would meet our holiday requirements and expectations. HOWEVER I was pleasantly surprised. We were an all female party of 3 generations and this hotel had something for us all.

Unfortunately when we where shown to our first floor room, it was dark, cramped and smelt strongly of dog. After a word with reception we were moved to a second floor room which was brighter, fresh smelling but the same size. The reception staff could not have been more helpful. Many thanks.

It is a super hotel, clean and well looked after.It has a lovely shady area with comfy loungers for relaxing out of the sun. The bar area is super and the pool clean although a little cold. There was never a problem getting a sunbed and pool towels were changed daily free of charge.

Our room could do with being updated but the beds were comfy, the shower hot and powerful and the balcony spacious. Our towels were changed daily and the room was spotless when we returned to it each evening.

We were staying on a half board basis and were able to swap dinner with lunch when necessary. The food was super, lots of choice, well presented and delicious. The waiting staff were polite and friendly and service excellent.

The position of the hotel is ideal. The boardwalk and lakeside were accessed straight from the hotel and it was an easy stroll to the centre of Bardollino. The choice of bars and restaurants is amazing and the shops interesting and individual.

Our weather was varied, some very hot days and some days with thunderstorms which cleared up quickly.

I would thoroughly recommend this gem of a hotel and will be booking again for next year.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with the room allocation, politely ask to be re-roomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshipperHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear sunworshipperHull,

thank you for your review. We were happy that our hotel exceeded your expectations. We will await you for your next holiday next year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Before I begin I have stayed on lake Garda seven times so I do understand Italian food that is served in hotels.
This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel, the last time was July/August 2010 since then the food has gone down hill a lot the vegtibles consist of a lot of peppers and onions mixed together, one tray most night you could not make out what it was they called it three colour vegetables (looked like sick) the desserts consisted of different coloured sponges that all tasted the same or ice cream and Italian cheeses. The entertainment ( if you want to watch it) is quite bad the resident DJ/singer is like a karaoke singer, the only one to watch is a singer called Kevin. If you want entertainment go into bardolino some of the bars have some good entertainment. If the management do not understand that the entertainment is bad look at the bar takings on the evening at the last time of staying the bar area was always pack and you had a job to find a seat.
We found it a shame that this hotel has gone like it has, the rooms are big going by a lot of Italian Hotel rooms, the bathrooms have seen better days and I believe that they are being refurbished, the pool area is nice and big with plenty of sun beds. The bar staff are the same has they have always been friendly and polite, some of the waiters and waitresses need lessons in good customer serves, the cleaners who do a great job with the rooms could be more polite when passing barge pass you has though you are not there.
The last thing is if you stay here go for bed and breakfast and eat out which we did in the end because we could not eat any more of there food. I do hope that they improve the food other wise people will not stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Dave,

thank you for your review. We're sorry for your experience of our hotel. The hotel is now under a new management, and a programme of events is in store. As for the food, we try to cater for a varied clientele; the vegetable area is always plenty of tomatoes, carrots, and so on. We're sorry that you couldn't find anything to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Reception - smiling and helpful all holidays, though decor isn't welcoming, the yellow sofas are dreadful.
Dining room - staff kind and courteous, great choice of food, and plenty of it. Yes, the second week was a repeat, which was a shame, but overall fresh, beautifully presented and plenty of it. The only downside is meals are finished by 8.30, which is a little early if you have been out all day, would sometimes prefer to eat at 8, which we did, but less food to chose from.
Bedrooms - we had a privelege room overlooking the entrance. Beautiful, fresh towels, clean linen, and immaculate, very quiet with lovely views of the mountains.. Again, due to heavy rain our friends room did experience problems with rain coming in, staff were there immediately to help and sort the problem.
Pool - immaculate, plenty sun beds, no need to reserve. Pool bar staff, friendly and helpful
Grounds - kept clean and tidy, though was disappointed the bouganviella and jasmine has been cut back so the wonderful smell wasn't there.

We had approached this holiday in trepidation with the reviews, however, it was lovely. Oh, and not all the holidaymakers were over 70, all ages including young children, and over 70's are allowed to
go on holiday, aren't they?. The only downside was entertainment - dreadful, the same singer most nights and he was using karoke and was really bad. Because of torrential rain, we did have to stay in a couple of times and he was so loud. Why isn't the lovely American Bar used, that would have been a perfect opportunity when so many people were 'trapped' those nights - a missed opportunity!

We had a great time, and would say, go to the Gritti, but if you can, choose a privelege room, they are lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a privelege room, they are bright, modern and the air con is super efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy2504033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Judy,

thank you for your review. We're happy that you had a great time. The American Bar is open to the manager's discretion, when the grill bar is not open. We're sorry that you didn't like our night entertainment; we're setting up a varied programme of events, so maybe you would feel like taking a look. We hope you will come back next year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spotlessly clean. Towels changed every day, buffet breakfast and evening meal excellent, the only difficulty was knowing when to stop!! Reception services excellent, we had a faulty combination padlock on our suitcase on arrival, but a quick chat with reception and the problem was solved within a few minutes. Similarly, when the shower unit became faulty, it was changed the same day. These two comments underline the effort that Gritti takes to give its guests an excellent holiday, and the hotel is only a few minutes lakeside walk to the harbour, the ferries and the centre of Bardolino

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear John,

thank you for your review. We're glad that your holiday was a pleasant one. We hope that you will come back again: as you may have notice as a loyal customer the manager has changed, and a programme of events is in store. We look forward for you to come back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having read some of the recent reviews we were a little anxious about staying here and especially about the food. But we found it to be a lovely hotel, very clean and with a great range of delicious and healthy food. We did not manage to get the refurbished rooms we had hoped for, but our two rooms, though slightly "shabby chic" were beautifully clean and had everything we could want. Bathrobes, slippers, pool towels and complimentary sparkling wine, daily bottled water and boxes of biscuits were really lovely. In addition the hotel did daily afternoon tea and snacks "on the house" and gave us a free cocktail! The pools were lovely, the health spa was luxurious and offered some great treats - I had a pedicure and my teenager daughter had a massage. The staff in the restaurants were great. Every meal offered a great range of fresh food, with salad and fruit. A delightful young man made us fresh omelettes to order every morning and the restaurant staff were fantastic. Of course the half-board eating experience will never be quite the same as going out to a restaurant, but for a range of fresh European style food at a reasonable price we thought it was great, and the hotel did allow guests to exchange half-board dinner for lunch if people wanted this. Bardolino is extremely pretty and a pleasant shopping and eating port. It's also very well placed for visits to Verona and Venice. I was glad we took rain coats as the weather was unexpectedly wet during our week. On one occasion we waded knee deep in flood water through the backstreets of Bardolino! But even heavy rain couldn't spoil the beauty of the place. We loved travelling around the lake on the ferries and there's plenty of opportunity to walk and cycle. Going to the Movie-land Theme park on the convenient free bus and the hilariously scary haunted house (and many other attractions) was a definite highlight. The staff at the hotel were all lovely and really seemed to go out of their way to be helpful. There was free wifi in the reception and lounge areas - enough to satisfy the kids without such ready access that work might start intruding into our time off. I thought that gave us a good balance. I would happily go to this hotel again. Our family (two adults and 2 teenager)s really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: The re-furbished rooms are supposed to be the best. We did ask about these and we told we might swap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mary,

thank you for your review. We're happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have recently returned from a 9 night stay at the Gritti.

First - the positives. We booked a priviledge room on the 3rd floor. These are a great improvement - refurbished with reliable air conditioning (very useful considering the recent temperatures) and a super well lit bathroom with a fabulous shower that gives you a real soaking. The TV was a bit small, but there was a dvd player which was useful because the TV channels are not worth watching (BBC World News and CNBC were the only English broadcasts!). The room was bright and well furnished and there were some nice touches such as the free soft drinks in the mini bar and water bottles that were replaced daily.

The safe was digital so no key was needed and this had more capacity than I remember the previous key operated ones.Free wifi was useful, but a little tricky to set up and did run a bit slow at times.

The cleaning staff were very efficient and extremely friendly. Our room was spotless on arrival and remained so. The hotel generally was clean,, tidy and well kept.

Breakfast was very good and having now a dedicated egg chef is a great improvement.

Now the negatives - The hotel has a dress code for dinner. Quite right - this for us is one of the attractions. The dress code was observed impeccably by nearly all guests of a certain age - but flouted by many others. Every night we witnessed dinner guests in jeans (they are long trousers I suppose) or shorts, swimming shorts, trainers, flip flops, tee shirts and other casual wear. On one evening a young lady appeared for dinner in a bright yellow tee shirt and frayed denim hot pants. All were admitted without question.

The pool rules clearly state that sun beds may not be reserved with private belongings. Great - but everyday - without exception - beds were reserved in advance with private towels, goggles etc. way in advance of the pool opening hours.

My comment to the management will be - if you are going to have rules, enforce them - or don't have rules.

Dinner was plentiful,and the soup and pasta dishes were excellent but the main courses were nowhere near as good as in previous years. The salad bar had some odd contents and the main course vegetables were a little bland and unexciting.

Finally, beware the "Holiday Tax". This was never referred to when we booked nor was it drawn to our attention when we checked in. We found this on the welcome sheet under "Bike Hire"!, and subsequently we saw notices in reception. For some curious reason this has to be paid in cash and cannot be included in your main invoice (?). Our tax was 18 Euros.

Our advice to would be travellers - book a priviledge room on the third floor, go for the bed and breakfast option and eat out in the evenings. Bardolino is a fabulous town with a lively atmosphere and some fabulous restaurants. The hotel is within a very short and pleasant walk away.

As you will note above - this was our 7th stay and we have visited most of the local attractions, so unless we start to see some more positive reviews on this site, I feel that this may be our last visit for a little while.

Room Tip: Book a third floor room and ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deeb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParcHotelGritti1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Parc Hotel Gritti, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Deeb33,

thank you for your review. It's great to read that you came back here for the 7th time. The "negatives" section of your review will be of great help. Thank you. We're sorry that you plan not to come back. We have a new manager now and a nice programme of events is in store. Would you like to give it a try?

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardolino
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
24.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parc Hotel Gritti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc Hotel Gritti

Property: Parc Hotel Gritti
Address: Via Gabriele D'Annunzio | Via Lungolago Cipriani, 1, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc Hotel Gritti 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location and high quality services for this 4 star hotel, the perfect choice for a relaxing and exclusive holiday. Just few steps from Bardolino and lake front, Parc Hotel Gritti is very popular for its tranquil gardens and terraces, for its pleasant pool area and a nice wellness center with indoor pool, sauna and wellness treatments.260 cosy rooms with en-suite facilities, hairdryer, minibar, tea & coffee maker, telephone, sat.TV and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parc Hotel Gritti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc Hotel Bardolino
Parc Hotel Gritti Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing