We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor air conditioning at Aqualux Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I and my husband have just returned from our holiday in Italy staying at the Aqualux Hotel. The Hotel itself very nice and our room was of a high standard as you would have expected with the hotels star rating. However one of the main essentials we look for when choosing a hotel is that it has air conditioning and this is one of our main priorities. When we arrived at the hotel the room temperature was 27.5 oC and despite trying to adjust the temperature setting to 18oC it kept rising back to 27.5oC. Despite several conversation with the reception staff and an engineer coming out to try and fix the air conditioning the lowest our air conditioning could go to was 23.5oC. We were not offered a fan to help cool the room or even the option of changing rooms as we were informed all the rooms temperatures were set by a computers. Our room was situated above a sauna so maybe if we were able to change rooms this may have helped.

Room Tip: If a cool room is a priorty request for a room that isn't above the sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed 3 days at Aqualux June 11-14, following earlier reviews on TA. Completely agree with current reviews via sheffieldmac/indiaedinburgh/RaymondH, so I'm trying hard not to duplicate.
Layout of Hotel is in a square with pools & restuarants/gardens conveniently located on inner-square. From check-in to check-out very good experience, with Room/Breakfast & Hotel amenities. I echo the sentiments on staff who were superb!
Excellent outdoor pools included various spa features & infinity pool. Plenty of terraces/decks to find sun-loungers & general layout is ideal for families. We had no problems getting loungers, cooling off in the pools, mid to late afternoon, after our trips out. Tried A la carte restuarant (outside on deck) one of the nights & was impressed with choice & value for money.
Whilst the Hotel is not directly on Lake Garda, it's only a 10-15 minute amble through Bardolino town to get to Boat terminal if you're not hiring bike/scooter/car.
It's a 5-10 minute walk to Bus station with VERY helpful Tourist Information office/staff that provided help/tips & timetables/prices etc...............
Would highly recommend this Hotel if your basing a holiday around Lake Garda.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room number 214 on side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTET96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I can't understand why this hotel is not rated a 5 star of which it is more than deserving of..

Spa facilities
Excellent quality, peaceful environment. Prices looked reasonable

Pool area

Wonderful range of pools for all the family. They were inside and out with smaller bubble baths dotted around the grounds. They were large enough for a good swim and because there were a number of them never felt crowded. I loved the hydrotherapy features. The pool areas were kept spotless by constant vigilant staff. There wasn't a problem with seating when we were there and it was fairly full. The pool bar offered reasonably priced tasty snacks.

The gardens

Beautiful walkways with water features and bright flower beds. Very relaxing and you could settle yourself in a quiet area very easily.

Bedrooms

Comfortable with a high standard of cleanliness. Towels were changed regularly in accordance with the hotels eco status however more were available. There was a turn down service if wanted and all housekeeping was checked daily by a supervisor. The drinks tray was a bonus. Fresh milk was available on request. We had a double and a twin room with different views. We didn't hear any noise. The hotel is only over two floors so doesn't have the feel of those impersonal corporate hotels.

Restaurants

We ate at the Drops restaurant twice. It was comparable to a high class restaurant with great service and lovely ambience. Unfortunately the menu didn't change during the week we were there but if it had we would have visited again. The Italian taste restaurant however was brilliant. The chef offered such a range of different dishes and interesting starters etc. the desserts were out of this world. The wine especially local was really good value and no one tried to get us to have expensive options. The only negative for this restaurant was the lack of atmosphere. It really needed to reflect the quality of the food by perhaps lowering the lights, candles around, low music. Unfortunately it still felt like the buffet restaurant used for breakfast. However the food made up for this.
Breakfast was also excellent.

Location

A slow ten minute walk brings you to Bardolino. A lively town with lots of character. From there you could access all the other towns and travel on the ferries.

The people

I should really have started off with praise for all the people who worked at this hotel. We have just returned from the USA and had to endure the false have a nice day rhetoric. Here the staff were just a credit to the hotel and themselves. They were kind, warm, efficient, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They genuinely seemt to be proud of the hotel and wanted to please their guests. They were always in the background.


I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheffieldmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you want to relax, this hotel would be hard to beat. Fabulous outside space with stunning water features and walkways, super-comfortable sun beds with tilting shades and a choice of chill-out areas whether you want to enjoy the sunshine or retreat for some shade. Amazing choice of pools, inside and out with a decadent spa area. We had a spacious comfort room with balcony and sliding louvre privacy screens where we enjoyed the late afternoon sun and rooftop views to the town and lake (5 minute walk to nearest ice cream shop!) The room was well-appointed with beautiful furnishings, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. We enjoyed the use of the oversized spa towels and luxury bathrobes which most guests used at the pool area. The staff we came across were friendly and welcoming. We booked with Thomsons Lakes and Mountains (excellent organisation with them once again) staying half board and whilst breakfast was enjoyable, we sometimes struggled with the choice available for the mains at dinner. In saying that, would we go back to Bardolino and The Aqualux? Yes, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore at Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear IndiaEdinburgh,

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback about your holiday with us! For sure I’m going to share it with my team who always need positive energy to optimize service standards and one of the best way is the final comment of our clients.

We do hope that you will be back in Bardolino and at Aqualux Hotel !

In the meantime I wish you a very nice summer season.

Kindest regards.

Lara Udovini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend last week and found it to be very good. Staff were very helpful and room was very good! Breakfasts were great apart from the machine coffee, we stayed on half board basis and the evening menu was good each night.

Bardolino itself was a short walk from the hotel and well worth exploring. There are also very good bus services around the lake from Bardolino, we particularly enjoyed Malcescine and the cable car to the top of Monte Baldo with great views of the lakes and the Dolomites. A day trip to Verona is also a good idea and a superb city which is easy to walk around.

Overall the Aqualux is a great hotel in a good location for exploring Lake Garda and the surrounding area. And as others have said the pools are superb!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart_Smyth38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Place is amazing, staff very friendly and clearly management have listened to the comments here. We started on room 414, after asking to move from 404, this was done perfectly by reception staff, who were very helpfully at all times. We had half board and the dinner was excellent, wine recommendations were also good from friendly waiting staff, and excellent restaurant manager whose name I forget. Your can eat in the a la carte even if on hb, by paying the difference, and it is truly worth it once or twice if they have weekly ish specials (ours was a local menu of asparagus, strawberries and others - sounds odd but worked. ), credit to the bar staff in both bars particularly Paula who was very helpful, and clearly loves her job and does an excellent job, with daily cocktail
Specials and a fab selection of grappa (wasn't a fan if grappa until I came here ). The pools have been described below and we can't add any more positive comments. We will be back for sure

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sonic434343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore at Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Sonic434343,
thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay with us! It is always a great pleasure to listen to positive comments about our staff who also need to have the feeling their job is appreciated . I will share your feedback with them for sure especially with Restaurant Manager/Maitre and Ms Paola of our Sparkling Lounge bar.
I really hope to welcome you back to Aqualux Hotel Spa Suite & Terme very soon and in the meantime I wish you a very pleasant and sunny summer time!.
Kind regards.

Lara Udovini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a family suite through hotel's internet site and were informed upon our arrival that we got free upgrade to a round suite as not all of the bigger rooms were booked.The hotel is just a short walk from the lake that we could see a little bit of from our room. Glazing is excellent we - saw a church very close, but hardly heard the churchbells with windows closed. We only heard neighbour children on the hallway but not in the room.
Suite was spacious with a firm round bed that our baby adored, with two bathrooms, one had a jacuzi in it. The whole hotel is in earth colors, some quite dark, but overall very calming and relaxing. There were some spots on one of the walls and on the ceiling in one of the bathrooms, that made the staying less then perfect. Also we had a problem with rooms never cooling below 24 dg. We did not report that to the receptionists so maybe it was just us not knowing how to operate the air-conditioning.
Breakfast was nice buffet but nothing out of extraordinary. We didn't take halfboard as it did not go with our style of living on vacation.
We did enjoy the pools, even our five-month baby as the water is heated to 31dg. There are no children allowed in the pools after 6 p.m. which was nice if you wanted a quiet relaxing time, and once a week pools and saunas were open till 9.30 p.m. I liked the fact that most of the pool gadgets - from buble beds to wild river were operated by buttons so you didn't have to wait for one to start working by some programe.
Overall it was a nice stay with a surprise jacuzzi.

Room Tip: book on hotels site with a hope for a free upgrade - the prices are the same as on booking.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katysem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_albergo, Direttore at Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind feedback about your stay with us and I am pleased you enjoyed the upgrade in round suite. Spots you mentioned are system detectors and they emit colored lights. Unfortunately we are not able to do anything against that.
Spring season is very changing in terms of weather; both air-conditioning and heating systems can’t be switched either off or on at our pleasure . If you turn air condition on we can’t turn it off suddenly if the weather changes. Today (28th April) is cold for example. We will switch air conditioning on starting form 1st May.
I hope you will come and visit us again soon and in the meantime I wish you a very pleasant summer!

Kind regards.

Lara Udovini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardolino
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,255 reviews
7 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#11 of 67 in Sirmione
489 reviews
7 mi away
Hotel Olivi Thermae & Natural Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino

Address: Via Europa Unita 24/B, 37011, Bardolino, Italy (Formerly Aqualux Suite Hotel)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bardolino
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#6 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: £148 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing