We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED this hotel and we will be staying there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Color Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Color Hotel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVED this hotel and we will be staying there again”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Had a week at The Color Hotel, Bardolino in August 2009 with our 2 teenage sons. We loved it from the moment we arrived. Total luxury and relaxation at this hotel. We spent most of our time at the hotel just chilling by the pool areas - 3 lovely pools each with different characteristics. One quite large pool with a wet bar, table tennis, garden & hammocks, obviously intended for families with kids. 2nd pool near the bar area with sofas to relax on nearby. 3rd smaller pool obviously intended for adults as it was very peaceful and relaxing by this pool with no screaming kids. So if you have no kids and need to get away from kids you would be able to at this hotel even in peak summer time.
Our rooms were the "deluxe" ones, and we overlooked the restaurant and pool area which was nice as we woke up to the smell of fresh coffee. The other side of the hotel was facing onto the main road, so might not have been quite so nice there but we would not have minded as we spent very little time in our room anyway. The rooms are quiet small and a bit tight for space for moving around in especially since we had a deluxe room, but this did not bother us in the slightest. The bathroom was nice and large with a wonderful shower and bathrobes and soft towels.
The hotel offers free wifi which is great, and there is also a computer to access the internet on if you don't have your own.
Breakfast was a buffet with a huge array of different foods - something to suit every taste and we looked forward to it every morning.
Food and meals at the hotel were quite expensive but were excellent every time.
We hired bikes (free from the hotel) one day and cycled along the lakeside to some other villages further up the lake.
The hotel is on a fairly busy main road and some reviewers have commented on this and said that it was a disadvantage, but this did not bother us in the slightest. The pool areas were all at the back of the hotel tucked away from the traffic noise. To get to the lake area we had to walk along the road a little way and cross over at a pedestrian crossing and then down another little road to get to the lake, but we enjoyed our walk every evening and the main road was no problem for us at all.
Bardolino is a great little town and one of the best we saw on the lake and we were glad we stayed there - huge choice of restaurants and lots of lovely shops to look around, plus a very picturesque lakeside area and nice walks along the lake in the evening.
Our 2 teenage sons loved the holiday - they were quite happy being by the pool and if they got bored they could easily go out and walk around the town and see other things. There are also buses to other areas on Lake Garda and I believe there is a water park not too far away although we didn't go to this.
We took a day trip to Venice which was fantastic.
We are planning on going back again to this hotel this summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0nB0nJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    119
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
220
472
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Where do we start? We booked our holiday in Lake Garda a mere 10 days before we were due to depart, our choice of destination and hotel were made purely on the reviews of this much referenced site. Thank God we only had 10 days to wait because we were so excited about our imminent arrival at the Color Hotel. Having read the wonderful reviews, we both tried not to let our expectations build too high, but that was a difficult task everytime we looked at more and more reviews.
We arrived at the hotel and were impressed with its private location along the main Verona road in Bardolino. Welcomed by a beautiful fountain and cobbled drive we rushed into reception eager to see our new home for the week. We were greeted by the pleasant and warm staff at reception, check in was easy and the most professional we have experienced. Our bags were taken to our room while a member of staff gave us an extensive tour of the hotel and its wonderful surroundings. Our modern room was spacious with impressive decor (Iike the entire hotel), the bathroom contained the best shower ever, jets from all angles with brilliant pressure. Comfortable robes and slippers were provided for lounging by the array of pools available.
The hotel grounds were stunning and idyllic, amazing pools and plenty of comfortable seating. Our favourite area to sit at being the covered decking with snuggable sofas where she read while I tapped away on the laptop ( free wi-fi a massive bonus).
The hotel staff were wonderful, always pleasant and extremely helpful. Breakfast at the hotel was brilliant, enough to set you up for a full day of touring the lake, a vast array of cereals, breads, cheeses, fruit, yogurts, cold meats, bacon, sausage, eggs, salad, cakes, pastries.....YUM, how could anyone go hungry. Tea and coffee were kept topped up by the attentive waiters/waitresses.
We dined at the hotel restaurant on our final night, it was priced higher than the numerous restaurants in Bardolino, however we treated ourselves after a wonderful stay. It was a fine dining experience, great food well presented and served.
We dont normally leave reviews, however we promised ourselves that we couldnt not review this place. It is the fine attention to detail by the staff, designers and management of the Color Hotel that make it a wonderful place to stay.
Best bits: Pillow Menu, free bike hire, Hammocks, Staff, Gift on arrival, Free water in mini-bar daily, cleanliness, relaxing atmosphere, color pool and evening turn-down service
Worst bits: Checking out and leaving this Hotel
We can't and wouldn't recommend any hotel more highly, and we are well traveled. Absolute gem and we will definitely return, if you are thinking of booking, stop now and get the credit card out!!!
Thanks to everyone at the Hotel for our best holiday yet, made by our stay with you!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rizo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts. england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed here for four nights in an Elegant room. The whole decor of the Hotel is very beautifully designed and has three swimming pools in the grounds - all have lawns and sunbeds around them and never seemed crowded. It is a 15 minute walk to the centre of Bardolino which can either take you round the lake edge or by a narrow road (no pavement) which is slightly shorter. - both entail crossing a very busy main road which has two pedestrian crossings on which you have to take great care as the traffic is very fast and certainly not many stop unless you are actually on the crossing! We had Breakfast included in the room rate - the food was varied but the scrambled eggs were ghastly (solid and brown burnt bits in it). We ate in the Restaurant each night - the food was nicely presented - small portions and expensive, which possibly explained the lack of diners - only five tables occupied one evening and less on the others, which gave a very dismal atmosphere. Wi Fi is advertised as free throughout the Hotel but we found it was impossible to connect anywhere away from the Reception area (noticed others trying to log on but unable to do so). The Staff were quite courteous but some a little unfriendly in Reception. Waiters and Cleaners were very nice and attentive. I would certainly return but would try to eat in Bardolino in the evening if it were at a time of year when it is light later.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights over the summer of 2009 and it was the highlight of our trip to Italy. It's nestled in a wonderful town of Bardolino, about a 5 minute walk to the centre of town and the lake. This is more than a hotel, it's a resort with 3 wonderful pool with poolside service. The rooms just the right size and the lounging area is wonderful along with the free breakfast each morning... my fiance and I fell in love with the place and would go back again! - GREAT POOLS!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank B_TheWorldExlporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, N.I
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We have just returned from five nights in an Armonia suite at the Color Hotel, Bardolino. I booked it based on the good feedback on Trip Advisor, booking direct on the hotel website as this was the best deal.

The hotel was everything we had wanted, a very central hotel with great facilities and excellent staff. Lots of info on what to do in the area in the foyer area which is great. Great market to stroll through on the walk to Bardolino on Thursdays. It really is a short and scenic walk from the town and right next door is a supermarket for drinks/snacks. The hotel itself has 4 pools and lots of different seated areas so there is always a feeling of space and never seems crowded. We took advantage of the free bikes at the hotel - would advise this as you can travel so far in even one day - remember to ring your bell! We only had one day of poor weather but still enjoyed our time with the selection of free dvd's at reception and a long stay in the large heated whirlpool which everyone else had forgotten about!

The suite was well worth the extra - large bedroom and seperate seated area lots of storage for clothes - fruit/nut display on arrival. Great bathroom with whirlpool tub. Two balconys to sit out at! The service was very good and even though there were 2 weddings during our stay we heard nothing in our room.

Breakfast was a wide and fresh selection (hot eggs and bacon) and I would advise anyone to treat themselves to a meal in the restaurant in the evening. The area changes completely from breakfast and feels very relaxed, the service was amazing and we had one of our best meals ever!!

If you chose to stay here you will love it and walking around the area you will appreciate this hotel is a lot newer and well maintained than most of the other hotels, a lot of effort has gone into making it a unique holiday experience. Many hotels seem to command attention as they are closer to the lakes edge but im not sure how this is an advantage as the communal areas and pool (if any) at most we saw were dire and old fashioned. If you are exploring the other resorts by ferry I would advise paying a little extra for the high speed option - it leaves you more time to enjoy the location, the ferry journey is as pretty as imagined. The only warning for Bardolino is the taxis, there are none! A lot of people hire cars so maybe this is why but if you are heading to any of the attractions/stations and need a taxi you will have to book in advance and be prepared for a very pricey journey.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Just came back from a 6 day break at Color Hotel with my husband. The Color Hotel was recommended to us by a friend who had been there twice before ! It met all our expectations and more, we received a fantastic welcome and our room was decorated with balloons and rose petals to celebrate our anniversary, plus a gift and a bottle of champagne on ice !! The room and hotel was spotlessly clean and the decor and design of the hotel was unique and classy. The staff were courteous at all times, the reception team were always very approachable and helped us with all our questions about the resort, the ferry services, restaurants etc., The food was fantastic and at breakfast time we were met by Carlos the Restaurant Manager with a friendly smile and a "good morning" - Carlos run a first class team delivering friendly first class customer service at all times.
Bardolino itself is a beautiful location, we will be going back to Bardolino again and will stay at The Color Hotel as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkIreland
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stayed here with my husband for a relaxing break, hotel recommended by a friend and they were spot on. It was all we expected, staff very courtous and pleasant, hotel spotless, food fab - couldn't find fault with anything

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryoCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#4 of 43 in Bardolino
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Color Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Hotel

Property: Color Hotel
Address: Via Santa Cristina 5, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#2 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Color Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At ColorHotel in Bardolino on Lake Garda you will find the luxury, style and design that you expect from a 4 star hotel, but with a little something extra. That something that cannot be touched but is felt and therefore leaves its mark. A feeling of being welcomed that allows you to be yourself whatever color you are feeling or whatever your mood is. Only in this way can you be sure that you are not missing out on anything. This way of welcoming you we have called: Be Your Color. Be Your Style. Discover our 4 swimming pools of which 2 are heated, a green area which recalls the tropics, free parking, a relaxing lounge and spa, a well equipped gym, bedrooms containing every possible comfort, unique suites, a rich breakfast buffet, a wine-tasting cellar, a gourmet restaurant and everything else that you could possibly want from a luxury hotel including style and design. rself an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Color Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Color Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing