We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Gardenia, Bardolino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived on a dreadfully wet day in May. Our greeting was to be sat down for a welcoming free cappuccino and kind words. We soon settled in and the weather improved - radically! Our room was excellent, as was the service and the breakfast each day. The hotel is nicely set back from the road but on slightly higher ground so you don't get unpleasant traffic noise but do have a lovely view of the lake - we had a front balcony room on the second floor. We stayed for a week and really enjoyed our time there. We have fallen in love with Italy on this trip and the Italian people seem warm and welcoming. We made good use of the hotels bicycles to explore up and down the shore. I kept meaning to go in the pool but we kept finding other things to do. We found Bardolino to be a charming base for our holiday. I had practised my basic Italian before the visit, but only discovered once there I should have practised my German too with so many German speaking tourists in this area.

Room Tip: We had a front balcony room and would ask for this again if, as is quite possible, we go back again.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel lived up to everything I could have wanted or hoped for. I have just returned from a 6 night stay which was perfect. I had a room in the Villa which is situated just in front of the hotel, my room overlooked the pool and you could see the Lake just across the road. The furnishings were bright and fresh and incredibly clean, as was the bathroom. The shower cubicle was quite small, but there was lots of really hot water. The owners and staff were so very friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome. They were incredibly patient as I tried to speak some Italian and were very encouraging - made it all the more fun!
The walk into Bardolino only takes 10 minutes along the edge of the lake and it is very pretty.
This is an absolutely brilliant hotel with outstanding staff and I would love to return again right away!

Grazie

Room Tip: My room overlooking the pool (in the Villa) was perfect
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is perfect spot to stay in if you are visiting Bardolino. The walk to the town centre is short by the main road but there is also the option to take a more scenic route by the lake that is only a few minutes extra walk. We can't praise the hotel staff enough for their helpfulness and willingness to go out of their way to assist us with everything from restaurant recommendations to booking excursions.
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels in the past few years and never received the quality of service provided here. We'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

But very easy to find charming, wonderful people here!!!

We have stayed here twice so far and have loved it. The hotel is small enough to have the
"old world charm" that we look for in Italy, but every convenience you could want. The owners and staff are top notch, agree talbotz, nothing is to much trouble and always with a smile. Now after 4 visits, twice in an apartment, they treat us like old friends.Very yummy and generous breakfast buffet included with our room. The quiet hotel is set back from the main road that has frequent bus service to all of the other Lago di Garda towns. It offers lake views (lake is right across the street) and sunsets looking out over the beautiful pool in front. Great location for a short stroll (not far at all Henrykm?) along the lakeside promenade to Bardolino centre.

So if your looking for fantastic service, friendly knowledgable staff and spotlessly clean accommodations in a wonderful location I highly recommend Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme.

If you are looking for an apartment as an alternative, ask for Riccardo or Nicola. We have rented apartments in Bardolino and Lazise with their help. Both were comfortable, well located and fair priced accommodations. On a personal note: While staying at the apartment in Lazise I had a allergic reaction, my family called the hotel just to ask for procedure for calling an ambulance, but shortly after Nicola arrived to make sure I was being attended to. So I will always have a special appreciation for this wonderful family business. Thanks again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake, top floor for best views of all.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hooked_On_Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay and cannot praise all the staff enough for the warmth of their welcome and helpfulness;nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was immaculate, breakfast delicious and plentiful and the hotel is on a pretty road not far from the lake and a few minutes walk from Bardolina . We were in the front with a lovely balcony and a lake view and I must say we heard no traffic noise from the road(the hotel isn't actually on the main road, unlike others along that stretch). Hotel Gardenia is a great base to explore this beautiful area and I'm sure in the summer months(we were there in October) a great place to chill by the pool or the lake. All in all we had a super holiday and would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talbotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGardenia, General Manager at Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Guest,

It is nice to know you've appreciate our hospitality and our service !
We too, would like to thank you. you have been for us important Persons !

For next time we advice to book best room at reduced rate on hotelgardenia.it
or just send us a little mail for a free Buffet breakfast.

We will always be proud and delighted to welcome you again in our Hotel
and assure you of our best attention at all times.

All the Best from all of
The Hotel Gardenia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The hotel is comfortable, friendly and provides an adequate breakfast. The rooms are on the small side but modern and well equipped, although only have a shower. It's location is within a built up area just outside Bardolino centre, which is walkable along a pleasant lakeside footpath.
The hotel is away from the main road but the traffic noise is always present.
Do visit the 'Museo Dell'Olio D'Olivia' (olive oil museum). It is at via Peschiera 54 heading out of Bardolino on the rhs - not only does it sell great produce which you can sample but has an extremely well presented museum with a video show on olive growing, gathering and oil production.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Have just come back from another fabulous stay in Gardenia. Great to see the team all there again and a few new additions too. You are always guaranteed a great holiday and this year the wine festival added to a lovely trip. It is a popular spot but service never drops its high standards.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth it for the lake views but it is not a deal breaker as you dont spend too mu...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme

Address: Piazza Serenissima 12, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: £80 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gardenia is tranquilly positioned near the centre of Bardolino and just 80 m from the lake shore. A friendly atmosphere, completed with every comfort – combining an attractive italian design with the warmest hospitality, for a relaxing holiday on Lake Garda. The 2 new swimming pools (1 with salted water) with deck chairs and sun umbrellas, heated whirlpool and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gardenia And Villa Charme
Hotel Gardenia Charme
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing