We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Bellevue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Lac et Bellevue

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Gods Own Country
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Bellevue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just come back from The Bellevue, Bardolino, Lake Garda. Booked on line through Thomson's 3 weeks prior to going as we were unsure if we would go abroad this year. Were so glad we decided to go as we both needed a well earned break, and we knew we would get well looked after at this hotel.

Booking on line is so easy through Thomsons, I received my booking confirmation & ref number same day by email, and my paper ticket arrived within 2 weeks. The booking was for the Bellevue, our favourite hotel as all the rooms are lake facing and have a balcony or garden room. Our booking was for a full lake view balcony room and I requested a room as high up as possible, bearing in mind there is only 4 floors inc the ground floor.

We flew from Manchester airport, an early flight at 6:20am, when we came to check in we were not on the system so guy at check in desk rang through to Thomsons who quickly added us onto their system so he could check us in. Flight took off at 6:30am, we arrived in Verona Airport 9:30 thier time and was met by a Crystal rep which we were told about in our paperwork. We were directed to our coach and soon set off making just one drop off before ours in Bardolino. You check in at the Du Lac, but due to the early flight our room as not ready, so we left our bags in the hotel and had a walk into Bardolino and sat on the benches on the promenade and ate our sandwich which we had purchased in Manchester airport for our lunch & had a bottle of water also. After about an hr we walked back to the hotel, receptionist commented that we had been there before in fact we have stayed in the Du Lac & Bellevue 4 times, and after checking with housekeeping gave us our room keys. The porter brought our bags to the hotel which is next door but one to the Du Lac. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our room, we had a top floor room and was on the end of the building, so our balcony was extra large. We could not have asked for a better room, the balcony had a canopy which you could position where you wanted as you got the sun nearly all day long.

There was 2 lounging chairs, 2 plastic chairs and a table outside. The bedroom had 2 single beds pushed together, I think this is usual in all the hotels we have stayed in abroad. 2 bedside drawers, a large wardrobe with a safe inside which was free of charge, a fridge, dressing table & a small table & 2 chairs, and another unit to put your case on, although under the sliding wardrobe was plenty of room for 2 cases.

There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, we always take a travel kettle and a plastic screw lid beaker with coffee in that lasts us a week, as we like a coffee first thing on a morning.

In the bathroom there is a proper hair dryer, not a tube, some toiletries, & plenty of towels, they ask you to only put these on the floor if you need them changing to save the environment, but we had clean each day even though we did not ask for them, we also had slippers and bathrobes to use whilst there. We also had stripped towels to use when going to the swimming pool which is at the Du Lac. You can use all their facilities.

You have your breakfast in the Bellevue, in the garden if the weather is nice or inside when wet, We went down for breakfast on the first morning and it was raining so had to sit inside, however the breakfast room was full so had to wait around 5 minutes for a table to become free. This is unusual, as we were later down than normal, and the weather is not usual wet when we have gone before.

There is the usual continental breakfast as well as hot things like bacon, eggs, sausages, etc, the bacon is usually very fatty done in oil.

The weather was unusually mixed, as I said before we have gone to Lake Garda a few times and this was the worst the weather has ever been for us, but all in all we still had some scorching days, some sunny days and a lot of thunder & lightening, although it was still warm. We had one really bad day where we stayed in having coffee and reading on the balcony watching the thunder and rain, by lunch time the sun had come out, we went to the Du Lac and had lunch there on the veranda under the umbrella's, then we decided to walk to Lazise a steady 1 hour walk, we just got there when the heavens opened and we got drenched, so we caught the first bus back to the hotel and sat there watching the rain again.

You take your evening meals in the Du Lac, a salad course, then 4 further courses which you give your order in at breakfast. The salad course has everything you can think of, I could have made this my main meal, I just love their salads, which includes meats, cheeses, pasta & pizza as well as different dressings.

We never have wine with our meals, but we do have a bottle of water which was Euro 2.60 a bottle, I think we paid Euro 4.50 last year in Sorrento, so good value for money.

We walked to Zeni Wine Museum and bought wine from there after having free tasters to see which we liked, we paid Euro 3.60 per bottle and would have a glass or 2 as we were getting ready for dinner, then come back to our room and sit on the balcony and watch the world go by with the rest of the bottle.

To get to Zeni, if you go to the bus station on the main road, and look to your left there is a roundabout, but there will be a sign showing the wine museum too. Walk up the hill, just past the cross on your right hand side, and over a bridge, you turn right, also signposted here, walk further up the hill till you come to the museum, around 1.25 miles, it's a steady walk uphill, but easier coming back, also the views over the lake from up there are very good.

We went to Lazise one day on the ferry Euro 3 and the same to get to Garda, we went to Torri Del Beneco also on ferry it was Euro 5 for me Euro 4 for hubby as he's 65+, show your passport you do not get discount at weekends, and also not on a 3 Euro fare. We went to Malcesine on ferry this was Euro 12 each one way, we came back on the bus.

For some reason this year they have changed how far you can get down this side of the lake on the bus's, so from Bardolino it was better for us to get to Malcesine on the ferry but we came back on the bus as far as Garda, then you have to catch another bus to Bardolino, or walk from Garda which is a nice walk along the lake, but if you have been walking around Macesine as well you might not want to walk for another 45 minutes to Bardolino.

I think we were given the wrong info when we asked at the bus station in Malcesine about getting back to Bardolino. There is 2 bus's you can catch, 30 minutes apart, one goes only as far as Garda and the other to Verona, I think if we had caught the one to Verona we would have had to buy a ticket to Garda, then another ticket to Bardolino, but we wernt told that, so we caught the first bus that came which stopped at Garda, then bought a ticket from Garda bus station to Bardolino and waited for the next bus which was the Verona one, people didn't get off this in Garda, so I think we could have caught this and purchased 2 tickets each, one to Garda, and then from Garda to Bardolino instead of changing in Garda and waiting for the next bus. So if you are going down to Malcesine ask in the bus station first as I think one bus does go from Verona to Malcesine, it's all confusing till you get it right. I think our tickets from Malcesine to Garda for 2 of us were just over Euro 6, and the ticket from Garda to Bardolino was Euro 1.30 each, so a lot cheaper than the ferries, but they make a nice change especially if the weather is good.

A new thing from Thomson this year is a walk about meeting instead of coming to your hotel which I think is a good idea especially for new comers to the area. we did not make this meeting as we slept in. They take you around Bardolino and this year give you free tickets for an ice cream, and a book showing places you can eat and obtain discounts. although we did not make it to the meeting we still received our free tickets for ice creams.

We booked 1 trip to the Dolomites, we have been before 10 years ago so thought it would be nice to have a relaxing day and go back there. The bus went a different way after it's last pick up in Garda, last time we went all the way down to Riva, this time we went via Garda out onto new roads at the back of the resort, until we hit the motorway, it's a long way but we had comfort stops, and stopped off at a beautiful lake called Karersee , we had a bout 30 minutes there, I would have liked longer to be able to walk around the lake, but it was just beautiful. we then went onto the Passe de Pordoi to the cable car which you paid an additional Euro 13.50 which was well worth it for the views are spectacular. We had 1.5 hours once we got to the cable car, so it was up to you if you wanted to spend all your time up there of go for some lunch which you paid for yourself. We went up the cable car prior to lunch took lots of fantastic photo's then came down and went for lunch. It started raining when we set off for our last stop of the day in the village of Moena, we had about 1 hr here but most of it was closed, so longer around the lake and mountain would have been better. We had 1 other comfort stop then back to Bardolino for around 5:30, it was scorching when we got back so sat on balcony catching a few rays before dinner.

Even though the weather was mixed we still enjoyed our holiday, the Du Lac/Bellvue is great, and the food fantastic.

We thought Bardolino in general was a bit quieter than normal for the time of year as we have been both in July & Augus, but we will be back again in a couple of years time.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they all face the lake, a garden room on the ground floor still has a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshirelas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    100
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
218
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Bellevue for seven nights at the end of June/beginning of July on a half board basis. Our room number 737, a junior suite, was located on the third floor at the corner of the building providing stunning views across Lake Garda and also to the hills behind Bardolino. The room was very clean and comfortable with twin beds, a sofa bed , and a bathroom with bath and shower. The buffet breakfast could be taken at either the Bellevue or the Du Lac, whilst the evening meal was taken in the Du Lac. The food quality was excellent as was the choice of menu, however if there was a particular course that did not appeal the staff were more than happy to provide a suitable alternative. At breakfast we noticed that there was also a selection of gluten free food.
All areas of both hotels were very, very clean and all of the staff were friendly and super efficient. The hotel location is excellent on the lake front, and is within ten minutes walk of the town centre, the ferry point and the bus services.
We really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at the Du Lac, comfortable lounges indoors whilst outdoors there were plenty of sun beds and also a nice shaded area with tables and comfortable chairs. There is a combined indoor/outdoor swimming pool although we did find the water to be quite cold. There were sun beds available in the gardens of the Bellevue. Live music was provided on the covered terrace on three nights of the week.
We have been holidaying in Bardolino for many years now and stayed in a number of hotels, some on a repeat basis, all of which we enjoyed. This was our first visit to the Du Lac and Bellevue, we enjoyed it so much that we are returning later in August this year.
We are very happy to recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a stunning view then ask for room 737 in the Hotel Bellevue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Du Lac for a week half board with Thomson and it was great. The hotel is in a great location just a pleasant 10 minute stroll along the picturesque waterfront promenade into the marina and centre of Bardolino itself. The service and staff in the hotel are excellent, as is the food in the restaurant ( my wife is Coeliac and there was a great choice of gluten free food for breakfast and dinner - Vito the maitre'd really looked after her very well ). Nice touches like an aperitif on the terrace overlooking Lake Garda before dinner on Sunday and chilled watermelon every day on the terrace at 4pm also went down a treat. All in all a lovely place to stay, and one that I'd heartily recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DJAsmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in the Bellevue on half board (first visit) and were delighted with the whole experience. We were allocated a corner room on the first floor with great views of the lake. Food overall was an excellent standard. Breakfast choices were good, as were dinner menus - something to suit most tastes. Eating breakfast outside was enjoyable.The outstanding aspect of the holiday was the service - the staff were super efficient and friendly in all departments.
The location of this hotel beats others hands down being only metres from the Lake, and just a short 8 minute stroll into the centre of Bardolino.
Special thanks to restaurant staff - Vito the Head Water, Ricardo and Stefano, also to bar staff Andrea and Francesca, they all made our holiday a bit special.

Room Tip: Upgrade to stay in a first, second or third floor room in the Bellevue to guarantee a lake view. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T3JHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Unlike me,but I shall not bore you with a vast list of why you should consider a stay at the Hotel du Lac,but I will say....Hotel is great-The food is wonderful-The staff (All the staff)are second to none.Location first class..The pool is big and lots of fun.Good sauna box/steam box/And a workout room.Last year we stayed at the Nettuno Hotel which is part of the same group as the Du Lac,and if you read my review of the Nettuno,it was always a risk at another hotel..No way...I would like to thank again the Director and all his staff;for a Superb Holiday,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently stayed five nights at the Hotel Bellevue in a junior suite. We booked direct with the hotel and the stay was part of a longer trip around Lake Garda. The room was okay but reminded me of a Premier Inn. There is absolutely nothing wrong with Premier Inn. However I feel the money we paid was too much for what we got. We had a first floor suite but the lake view was obscured by trees and hedges. The balcony itself felt closed in with frosted panels on all sides which also spoilt the view. I felt the balcony furniture was dated. The balcony doors are not easy to operate which has a knock on effect on getting the air con to work. Positives in the room were great storage, shoe rack, comfortable beds and clean functional bathroom. Also plenty of plug points for charging phones. Wifi was okay but you have to keep logging in every time you need it. I understand why this happens presumably not to clog up the system but it was quite annoying.

I am all for security but I found the card entry system annoying.....you have to swipe to get in and out of the garden gate and twice more to get into room. A bit annoying but I realise this is due to the Bellevue being separate from the du Lac with no manned reception.

Breakfast served at the Bellevue is okay. Poor Coffee from a machine and meat and cheeses are not covered. The seating area for breakfast is pleasant but the general atmosphere and feel is 1960s bed and breakfast.

The main du Lac hotel is incredibly dated. A positive is that the staff are lovely. The receptionists at the du lac were excellent and arranged our taxi to Verona. Francesca and Andrea at the bar service were also friendly and efficient.

The beach / pool / lake experience feels disjointed. Whilst sitting on a lounger you can't see the lake and have to walk across a path and down a jetty to swim in the lake. The pool is half indoor and also a walk away.

Overall, I would not stay at the Hotel du Lac et Bellevue again.

Bardolino itself is great lakeside town. Lots of lovely restaurants and bars. I just wished I had booked a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you are in the Bellevue you need to be on one of the upper floors to get a clear lake view. Firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KazzaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europlan, Direttore at Hotel du Lac et Bellevue, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear customer,

we are sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasant, however, we would like to call your attention to the following facts:

The room you have booked has lake view. Even if it might have been partly impaired as environmental concerns do not allow the felling of the centuries-old trees on the lake shore, this does not impede the splendid view from our rooms. The lateral window panels on the terrace are thought to give greater privacy to our guests in their rooms.

I am sorry you found the entrance via key system tedious, but this system has been specifically developed for security reasons – given that security is important to us – and not to bother impatient guests.

Breakfast is served in the garden outside. It certainly cannot be compared to a Bed & Breakfast of the 60s, given that there are 101 buffet foods and beverages, among them two types of coffee: fresh, ground coffee and American filter coffee…

From our wide beach, which boasts a beautiful quay, you can see the lake and hear its waves, and it is only a few steps for you to do to take a swim in the lake or the swimming pool … but this is certainly not the case if you stay on your sunlounger … this always holds true, however.

We always accept constructive criticism that helps us to improve our services, but not that of an “annoyed” guest…

Have a nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Du Lac hotel on half board basis. Cannot praise the hotel, staff, facilities and off course the food enough-it was one of the best holidays we have ever had-and we've had over 30 abroad. There is no need to go into more detail -all the other reviews say almost the same thing-SUPERB in every aspect. Bardolino is a clean vibrant little Italian town on the eastern side of Lake Garda with excellent shops, range of places to eat and steeped in history. We will be back.

Room Tip: Stayed in 110- side view of the lake -it suited us fine-all facilities excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 602WRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac et Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac et Bellevue

Property: Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Address: Localita Santa Cristina, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bardolino
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#6 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Lac et Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Du Lac et Bellevue is located at the shore of Lake Garda, on the beautiful lake promenade. It is just a short walk from the historic centre of Bardolino. It consists of three close buildings: the main building, the annex and the Bellevue building. The hotel boasts a private beach with deck chairs and parasols, pool, restaurant and bar, spa area (with sauna, turkish bath and whirlpool) and a fitness area. Bike rental available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Lac et Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bardolino
Hotel Du Lac Bardolino
Du Lac Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Du Lac Et Bellevue Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing