We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary”
Review of Hotel Catullo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bardolino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catullo
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is excellent, clean, perfectly situated on the edge of the Lake and walking distance to the Lake Ferry. The superior rooms are clean, well presented and have views to die for over the lake.

Room Tip: Take your own hair dryer. Superior rooms are roomy and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    80
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
169
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A lovely family run hotel. Very centrally situated in Bardolino for all the town's amenities. Food in the restaurant is excellent, good choice and well cooked. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is continental, (no toast), but plenty of other choices. Minibar in the bedroom but take your own tea and coffee making if you like an early morming cuppa. Whole hotel is very clean. Choose a superior room as it is worth the extra cost.
Pool towels are provided for 1 euro - saves having to fill up your suitcase with your own.
TV said it had BBC 1 and 2 , but it was very intermittent and the signal repeatedly disappeared.
Only downside was that although we had a bath , there was only a shower attachment, so it was awkward to just shower. Some rooms do have showers. If you want to try the Catullo, then book early. They have lots of repeat business and get full very quickly.

Room Tip: Lake view is lovely, but the rear view over the mountains is also very good. Ask for a room on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

At the harbour in Bardolino - a handy place to stay. Excellent family run hotel. Everyone really friendly and the food was very good. Go for a superior room with lake view - worth the extra cost. Very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JFHSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I echo the good comments that most people have made, regarding location, staff, food....

We stayed in a standard room which was fine, apart from wardrobe space and limited TV channels (nothing with international news and no BBC as stated by the hotel).

Everywhere was SPOTLESS, and I even saw somebody cleaning the hedge next to the pool!

The main disappointment was lack of WiFi at the hotel. It wouldn't cost much to provide this and it would make a big difference. I felt really out of touch, especially with minimal TV channels.
However, Marilyn's bar behind the hotel offer this for free, so if you lurk in the back extrance you can pick it up easily!

I don't normally go on package holidays but I was very impressed with the whole holiday (Thomson) and the lovely people we met. Don't be fooled by the Thomson trips though and their over-egging of the length of time it took to get to places on public transport. We used the bus to get to Verona which cost EUR8 return and took 50mins.

I would definitely return to Lake Garda as there were lots of things we didn't get around to doing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chifchaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in mid May and could not have asked for better weather. Hotel is ideally situated by the lakeside and near the towns main pedestrianised centre. I have stayed at the hotel before in a superior lake view room and the extra cost I well worth it for the increased room size and balcony with lake view. Unfortunately this time around we were in a standard room which, was fine but very small.
The room had a safe, basic hairdryer and TV. If you are staying for more than a week please note that the wardrobe space is extremely limited and you would struggle for room.
The hotel and room were spotless with towels being replaced every day without asking. You can obtain pool towels at reception for 1€ each.
The staff are helpful and friendly and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank GlasgowPttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauchline Ayrshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel has an excellent location right at the lake,great little hotel,staff were great,breakfast was also good,we had a twin room (No 32) good side view of the lake and of the pool,it was a shared balcony of 3 rooms but we were the only ones using it,weather was fantastic,definitely going back for a 2nd visit.

Room Tip: We were in room 32 but the rooms above(top floor) would have been my choice you get the sun a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Whilst ttis ia a nice hotel, very clean,helpful staff etc be very careful which room you book. Our twin room was tiny with very little wardrobe space really should have been a single.and the beds were rock hard. We asked for a change of mattresses but were told that all mattresses in the hotel were th same.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#14 of 43 in Bardolino
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catullo

Property: Hotel Catullo
Address: Lungolago Francesco Lenotti 8, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the wonderful backdrop of Lake Garda, Hotel Catullo enjoys a unique position. Situated in the historical centre of Bardolino, directly on the lakeside with a romantic view of the small harbour, the hotel offers rooms of different types: Standard, Superior and Junior Suites provided with every comfort, all of which have a balcony, some overlooking the lake, others with a view of the historical centre. A' la carte restaurant and open-air pizzeria facing the lake, bar with shady terrace, swimming pool with sunbeds and whirlpool, private car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catullo Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Catullo Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing