We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in a pleasant town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Idania

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Idania
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel in a pleasant town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

All things considered I'd say the Idania is a reasonable 3* hotel, for the following reasons:

Room - basic, TV not equipped with channels stated in handbook, but nonetheless room exceptionally clean, and visited each day by the hotel maid service. Air conditioning switched off midway through stay, but that us September holidaying. Also been on first floor close to stairwell, room 117, we were woken each day by staff working below.

Food - of a good quality and reasonably varied, portions on evening a little small for my taste though.

Reception areas - very clean, nice seating available as well as free wi-fi.

Cost - fine in keeping with rest of town.

Location - good, lake and town within five minute walk.

Pool area- a nice clean pleasant area to spend time, the pool was exceptionally cold though.

Staff - fine, nothing more or less than I'd expect, polite courteous, but nothing more.

All things considered I had a reasonable stay at the Idania, and as it is relatively cheap I don't have too many complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael-24-09-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    83
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
36
130
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Following on from Singapore99's review we were in one of the other rooms that had money stolen from the safe. It happened exactly as he described - all four rooms robbed were on the third floor next to lift so easy for thief to hear anyone coming with time to get out of room.

We have stayed at the Idania before as it was so friendly and perfectly situated in Bardolino we had to return. To say we are disappointed about what has happened this year is an understatement.

Management gave us no confidence that they were dealing with the matter and didn't even change the door or safe locks while we were there.

We also, sadly, will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Jacquie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria gabriella m, Direttore at Hotel Idania, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Google Translation
Ci rivolgiamo ai Lettori che utilizzano Tripadvisor per un'eventuale scelta di un hotel per la propria vacanza a Bardolino, in quanto agli autori delle recensioni sopra indicate ci siamo già rivolti personalmente durante un incontro svoltosi in hotel, per comunicare il nostro dispiacere riguardo all'accaduto e tutto il nostro impegno, assieme al Comando dei Carabinieri locale, per far luce sul fatto, che presenta molti punti oscuri, non avendo trovato nessun segno di scasso (nè sulla porta della camera, nè su quella della cassaforte).
Noi garantiamo l'assoluta onestà di tutti i collaboratori.
Le persone con accesso alle chiavi delle casseforti siamo solo noi, proprietari dell'Hotel e vantiamo 50 anni di attività alberghiera senza mai aver riscontrato un episodio del genere.
Vi assicuriamo che non abbiamo nessun interesse a derubare i nostri Clienti.
Asserire che siamo stati totalmente indifferenti all'accaduto non è corretto, poichè i clienti dichiarando di aver bloccato le carte di credito (anche se non sono state derubate) e comunicando la loro impossibilità a pagare il loro conto delle consumazioni di due settimane di soggiorno, gli è stato abbonato l'intero importo.
Concludendo, riteniamo opportuno e importante, attraverso questa risposta, sottolineare la Nostra professionalità e il Nostro amore verso il lavoro che quotidianamente svolgiamo e che in 50 anni di attività abbiamo sempre svolto al meglio.

Direzione Hotel Idania

Maria Gabriella Mascanzoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from staying at this hotel for 2 weeks. Three days before we left, our locked room and safe were entered with no sign of a break-in and all our cash was removed. Another 3 rooms were entered the same night with all the cash taken from the room safes and also jewellery. In total a substantial amount of cash was taken. No other valuables were taken from the safes. This happened on the third floor, the rooms being next to the lifts. The keys were with us at all times held in a secure place and never handed into reception. The owners did not want to believe us and were not at all helpful and showed no remorse. The police are currently investigating it but we don't hold out much hope. Please stay clear of this hotel. We will certainly never be back

Room Tip: Do not visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank SINGAPORE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria gabriella m, Proprietario at Hotel Idania, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Google Translation
Ci rivolgiamo ai Lettori che utilizzano Tripadvisor per un'eventuale scelta di un hotel per la propria vacanza a Bardolino, in quanto agli autori delle recensioni sopra indicate ci siamo già rivolti personalmente durante un incontro svoltosi in hotel, per comunicare il nostro dispiacere riguardo all'accaduto e tutto il nostro impegno, assieme al Comando dei Carabinieri locale, per far luce sul fatto, che presenta molti punti oscuri, non avendo trovato nessun segno di scasso (nè sulla porta della camera, nè su quella della cassaforte).
Noi garantiamo l'assoluta onestà di tutti i nostri collaboratori.
Le persone con accesso alle chiavi delle casseforti siamo solo noi, proprietari dell'Hotel e vantiamo 50 anni di attività alberghiera senza mai aver riscontrato un episodio del genere.
Vi assicuriamo che non abbiamo nessun interesse a derubare i nostri Clienti.
Asserire che siamo stati totalmente indifferenti all'accaduto non è corretto, poichè i clienti dichiarando di aver bloccato le carte di credito (anche se non sono state derubate) e comunicando la loro impossibilità a pagare il loro conto delle consumazioni di due settimane di soggiorno, gli è stato abbonato l'intero importo.
Concludendo, riteniamo opportuno e importante, attraverso questa risposta, sottolineare la Nostra professionalità e il Nostro amore verso il lavoro che quotidianamente svolgiamo e che in 50 anni di attività abbiamo sempre svolto al meglio.

Direzione Hotel Idania

Maria Gabriella Mascanzoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our third stay at the Idania (over 12 years) and it is still excellent value and quality. We paid for an upgrade to a superior room (top floor front) and enjoyed excellent room service. The restaurant had variety and choice for each course freshly made to suit our eating times. Five courses of salad, pasta, meat, sweet and cheese every night. Quality of the food was excellent with delightful sauces. Breakfast was continental and a bit repetitive, but still had choices. Bar prices were about the same throughout the resort and the number of excellent restaurants is almost endless. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. This is our favourite hotel and would recommend it to anyone planning a visit to the Lakes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

When we first arrived our impression was not good as our room was small,and a little dated, but that first impression was wrong.The room was spotlessly clean, and kept that way by the maid who came in every day. The sheets were of excellent quality, and changed twice in the week. The bath towels were the best we have ever had on holiday, and were changed daily.
We were on a half board basis, both the breakfast and evening meals were varied and good value for money. We left the dining room well satisfied every day.
The public areas were excellent, well furnished and well laid out. The staff in every area were always smiling and very friendly.
This is a 3 star hotel but represents real value for money. If we revisit the area we will certainly
stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here 4th-11th September, booked through Thomson Lakes and Mountains. We upgraded to a Superior room which was great as the superior rooms have air-con and we really did need it as the weather was fantastic for the most part. The room was very spacious and had loads of cupboard and drawer space. Modern bathroom, although the hair-dryer was pretty poor - I would suggest taking your own.

The food at the hotel was very good. 4 course evening meals which you chose at breakfast time and you could swap your evening meal for a packed lunch if you pre-booked this the day before. We did this 3 times and were really pleased with the content of the packed lunches - 6 sandwiches, 2 boiled eggs, 4 plums, 2 nectarines, 2 cakebars, 2 crossiants and 2 cartons of juice - all very fresh!

The hotel has a great location, about 5 minutes from the lakefront and even closer to all the bars and restaurants.

The staff at the hotel were lovely, all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel bar prices were reasonable - 4 Euro for a beer, 2.5 Euro for a glass of Prosecco, 10 Euro for a bottle of Soave in the the restaurant and 8 Euro for the Bardolino Red.

We really enjoyed our stay here, we visited somewhere different every day and have no hesitation in recommending Idania and Bardolino.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a superior room do so as you really need the air-conditioning in the hot weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We Stayed at Hotel Idania for 3 nights booked through Thomson Lakes & Mountains.

As other reviews have said the Hotel doesn't look a particularly attractive building from the exterior but the interior and levels of service recieved were impeccable.

I travelled with my 8 year old son and we found this hotel to be very central, a 2 min walk to Bardolino lakefront with an abundance of restaurants to choose from, a 2 min walk to the bus stop and tourist information Centre, a bank next door, a short 10 min walk to the cheap supermarket.

The service here at the Idania was what made our holiday, nothing was too much trouble. We went to Venice for the day and the man from the hotel woke us at 6am and then came to take us for an early arranged breakfast and then handed us a huge packed lunch to take to Venice as he knew we would miss dinner.

Meals were great,you had the same table for the entire stay. Breakfast was buffet style and had choices of meats, pastries, breads, jams, cereals, fruit, biscuits, yoghurts and hot drinks. every morning you had your menu for that evening. Evening meal was a choice of main meal, salad buffets and dessert buffet, we found the food very enjoyable and my 8 year old liked most things on the menu and obviously you are in Italy, so its Italian style cooking.

Interior was clean, boutique style and very spacious, the pool area was so clean and also had waiter service.

There`s so much to do from this hotel and after checking out the other hotels in the resort from the Lakes and Mountains brochure I can completely recommend this hotel for location and service and I would most definately return and my 8 year old said it was one of the best holidays we had been on and he is very well travelled.

Room Tip: I like to have a view, but I was very pleased with our room ( number 10) it was at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.4 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#20 of 43 in Bardolino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#14 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#19 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Idania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Idania

Property: Hotel Idania
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 18, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Idania 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Idania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idania Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Idania Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing