We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a breath of Lake Garda fresh air”
Review of Nettuno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nettuno Hotel
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a breath of Lake Garda fresh air”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We wanted to go to Verona to see the Opera -Aida, and chose one of best hotels, we were very lucky. Our room on the second floor was clean, airy, with plenty of light but a little small. All the staff spoke English, but we tried to practice the local lingo, they were very good with us. Breakfast was self service, fresh fruit and plenty of everything you could imagine, the coffee was out of this world. The dinners were fun with salads and 3 more courses all served by young charming ladies, appearing very calm and serene under the supervision of Loris the Maitre. You have to stay and dine there to see how this charming gentleman looked after us. Nothing was too much trouble for him. The town of Bardolino was only 10-15 minutes away on the promenade, but closer through the main street. Great shops for ladies with a fat purse and quaint little streets to walk any time during the day or night. Lots of bars and restaurants. There were evenings with choirs, orchestras and local bands entertaining locals and tourists outside and inside the central church that will stay with us for ever. The local bus service to Verona and other Towns on the lake, were comfortable and on time and very reasonable priced. Yes we would return to Bardolino, Nettuno Hotel and Loris .And - Aida - was an experience at the Roman Arena in Verona

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, overlooking the lake and the pool, were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritathegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    88
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
254
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have experienced 3 Bardolino hotels in the last 5 years, all rated 4 star.The Caesius well deserves its rating, the Gritti has deteriorated rapidly and badly needs a rerating downwards.Now to my most recent experience, the Nettuno. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough....every staff member goes out of the way to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, the maitre d , Loris , is deservedly a legend in this area, and the food was superb. How this hotel can be considered at the same rating as the Gritti is beyond belief. Only one observation...tea/coffee making facilities would help make this an even better proposition. I can only thank all connected with the Nettuno for making my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I said that we would return and we have ! The hotel was as good as ever, standards maintained and the familiar staff very efficient and cheerful with the sole aim of ensuring guests have a memorable holiday. The weather was variable but the hotel had ferry reduction tickets for guests on the ferries which were welcome. Loris the Maitre 'd was as entertaining as ever whilst still catering for the whims of every guest - mine was the comparison of wines and monk fish v angel fish !! Bardolino did not dissappoint with the free concerts in front of the church and elsewhere and the many friendly bars. We walked to Garda - 35 mins and Lassize - 1.5 hrs and enjoyed the exercise. Also had trips to Salo , Torre de Benaco and Peschiera using ferries and local busses

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are extra but worth the small cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BossPrestonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were worried the hotel would not live up to the glowing reports but we needn't have been concerned: if anything, it exceeded our expectations.
The hotel is well located by the edge of the lake and quite literally a five minute stroll into the centre of Bardollino. There is an alternative walk along the lakeside with beautiful views over lake Garda. It is especially rewarding at sunset when the sun drops slowly behing the mountains. Quite spectacular in the right weather. We had been disappointed we were unable to book a room with a balcony, but in the event we had a room with a view over the lake which was ideal. In fact during the week we were there we never ever saw people out on their baconies so it would have been money wasted for us.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful with absoluely no exceptions. Our room was not huge but certainly not cramped, with plenty of storage space. The bed was large (two single beds put together) with a very firm mattress. Bed linen is changed as often as you wish.
Breakfast is served in the outside area which is kept spotlessly clean and tidy. There is a very wide variety of food available, suitable for most people's tastes. There is a good sized lounge with plenty of comfotable sofas and armchairs with a bar adjacent where you can get various snacks during the day. We ate out for dinner but feedback from guests who had dinner there was invariably very positive, both on the menu and the price. We spent more on our meals in the local restaurants than we would have if we had eaten in the hotel.
The hotel has a reasonable sized pool, surrounded by sunbeds and parasols. During our stay there were more people on the sunbeds than in the pool!
This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and should we ever return to Bardollino we will use the Nettuno.

Room Tip: We had room 204 which had a good side view of the lake, harbour and hills in the background. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed in the Nettuno at the beginning of May, we usually go in August but decided to take our break earlier. The weather was cooler at this time of year but still warm throughout the day.
We have stayed at the Nettuno many times and have always been very happy with the service provided. The staff are very accommodating and happy to help whenever.

The food is excellent quality and if there isn't anything on the menu to your liking then Loris ( the headwaiter) is more than happy to offer an alternative.
The rooms vary in size some with a balcony and some without, sometimes you can upgrade to a balcony (if available) at cost.
The hotel is in a great position right by the lake shore and a short easy stroll into Bardolino, Garda is about a 20 minute walk but pleasant with some bars on the way if you need to stop.

When staying in Bardolino ask for a Welcome Card which are kept at reception and gives you a small discount on things like ferries etc..There is free wi-fi in the hotel just ask for a code when you arrive.

Verona is about 45-60 minutes bus ride depending on the traffic, tickets are available at newsagents, buses run about every half hour but are not always on time especially in peak holiday season.

Bardolino is a great base from where to explore the lake and visit places like Gardaland, Movieland, Caneva World and Verona.

Hotel Nettuno is a great hotel but not to everyone's taste, we have stayed in the Nettuno as a family 8 times and the Caesius once.

Overall a great place for Families, Couples and single people, plenty of shops, cafe's, restaurants etc...

Hope the review was helpful.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony, there are some with a lake view and some without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meisgyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel starting on the 28th of May . We really liked it on our first visit and mostly liked it this time again. If you are like us and really like a balcony do not come here. There are only a few and we were lucky enough to get one on our first visit. This time we did not get one and found our room a bit cramped . It had two chairs but only one of them in a sensible place to sit so I ended up sitting on the bed. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel and the staff were lovely. They say over 80% of the guest are repeat visitors. The pool was a good temperature and we managed to swim in it . Food was good I especially liked the buffet salad and if you wanted there were lots of lovely things for the sweet course. Breakfast was especially good with lots of choice . If you have a very early start they will do you a packed lunch if you are to miss breakfast. The hotel is in an great situation for a stroll along the lakeside . Go when we did and you will find the wine festival on .It caused quite a stir and there were dragon boat races and other events as well . There is a lovely wine shop opposite the hotel who only sell wines from the local area . My husband was a good customer while we were there and we enjoyed some lovely wines . Would I go back , who knows perhaps we would but I did miss a balcony to have a sundowner on .

Room Tip: I think they keep the balcony rooms for people who book direct .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eleanorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Visited for a week at end of May and had a great stay. Food was very good as was the service from all the staff. Loved being able to access lakeside walk from hotel terrace. Ideal location to visit many places on the lake.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room book early
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thomcat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sportsman Hotel
Sportsman Hotel
#9 of 43 in Bardolino
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nettuno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nettuno Hotel

Property: Nettuno Hotel
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 41, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#5 Family Hotel in Bardolino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nettuno Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nettuno is located in Bardolino, a splendid location directly on Lake Garda, a short walk from the historic centre. The hotel features a swimming pool, bar, restaurant, lounge with tv, terrace with a lake view, lift, air conditioning in all rooms, free wifi and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nettuno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nettuno Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy
Hotel Nettuno Bardolino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing