We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel al Sole
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

First time we have stayed in a small hotel and we were not disappointed. Our room was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We're surprised to read that some guests had problems getting sunbeds whilst another had problems with air con. We had no problem getting a sunbed even when returning in the afternoon and have just returned on 4th July. The air con was easily adjusted by opening the flap in the top of the unit, turning the fan up and putting the temperature on the wall thermostat down.
While the location isn't central it is a pleasant 15 minute walk to the centre (don't use the main road, walk a little further towards the lake and use the pedestrianised road going past the school or go down to the lakeside and walk along the shore - the shore route is the longer walk though, adds another few minutes but very pleasant.
I would agree that the balconies in some rooms are a little small however I think that Bardolino itself is too nice a resort to spend your time sitting on a balcony, there are lots of places to sit watching the world go by!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
93
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The positives: Bedroom was very clean and well furnished with a very efficient shower in the bathroom and air conditioning. There is a flat screen TV which had BBC1 and 2 and a very comfortable 6ft bed. The breakfast was good, continental.
The negatives: When we were there, all the sunbeds around the pool were taken and because of the limited space around the pool (which is small, but adequate, with a nice jacuzzi) there was nowhere to sit and just relax or read a book, which I like to do when on holiday. This happened every day and it was only after 6pm when everyone deserted the pool that we could get a seat and a swim. Our balcony was tiny, just enough room to stand on, but some of the balconies at the front of the hotel were huge and had canopies over, so would be a nice place to sit, but that's the luck of the draw I guess.

Room Tip: The larger balconies are at the front with canopies over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pewter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a small hotel with a lovely pool. Very clean and friendly. nothing too much trouble, always pleasd to help. would go back again.

Room Tip: rooms at the back have the balconey over looking the pool. All rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just spent a week at the Al Sole (in fact, I had breakfast there this morning!) and really enjoyed staying in this lovely little hotel. The staff are outstanding; unfailingly friendly and helpful - you really get the impression they want you to have a great time. Our room (overlooking the carpark) was basic but spotless. Minor gripes would be the aircon, which wasn't particularly effective, and the lack of a fridge. The pool is quite small but there was never a problem getting a sunbed. Bardolino is lovely and we used the ferries a lot to visit other lake-side towns. The cable-car at Malcesine is wonderful, even if the day we used it we arrived at the top of Mt Baldo in total cloud! There are endless restaurants in Bardolino - menus tend to be a bit "samey" but we ate very well and the local wine is excellent. I would very happily stay at the Al Sole again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

it's Clean, quiet location, and has a nice pool. The staff were friendly and the breakfast while not great was ok. Could have had real coffee ( this IS italy )and juice instead of from a vending machine.

All good apart from one big but - no air con. We had a radiator type thing in our room thst blew slightly cool air that was meantto be air con but is totally useless. We were not the only ones that had this problem. It seriously impacted my holiday making me very tired and drowsy. It was really hot and couldn't get any sleep.

My last holiday abroad in spain, I had a room same size, good air con, and 24hr reception as apposed to the 11 pm close ay al sol and that was a 1 star...

personally I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomchickawaawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I have just returned from holiday having spent 2 weeks in Hotel Al Sole. We enjoyed our stay here and have no real complaints with our experience and would recommend this hotel to others. A few key points of note: The family who run this hotel are very hospitable and friendly, all the staff are also very good.
The rooms are basic but very clean. (I agree with the reviewer who recommended that a small fridge would be ideal)
The location is very good, 10 minute walk into the centre of Bardalino. Bus stops are also very close to hotel.
Swimming pool at hotel is small, but adequate and noticed that a number of smaller hotels in Bardalino did not have a pool, so this is definitely a bonus.
The only small gripe I have with the hotel is the noise generated in the corridors by the maids from 8am onwards (maids were excellent by the way) If you are looking for a long lie on holiday, then I am afraid this is not going to happen!(maybe we were unlucky as we were on the 1st floor and these rooms were serviced first?)
Finally, small tip....if staying at Hotel Al Sole, you MUST visit the restuarant Al Capitel at the bottom of the road. It is approx 50 yards away and it is by far the best food we ate on our holiday. The service was also outstanding, the head waiter's name is Andrea and if you meet a more knowledgable, pleasant waiter who provides better service than this guy - well I doubt it! (NB: The restuarant is authentic, serves local dishes whereas in centre of bardalino there are a number of average restuarants in my opinion)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kevtee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel is about a 10 minute very pleasant walk from the town centre . You need to be a bit cautious walking out from the hotel as it goes straight on to the road but once you get off the main road the walk is fairly safe. We had a larger room on the first floor which was very nice . Nice 6ft bed & large bathroom & balcony, spotlessley clean. The staff were all very pleasant & helpful. The breakfast was nice enough but no cheese was put out which was unusual for Italy. For the cost of this hotel I would say it is very good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sno125patrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Sito
Hotel Bel Sito
#1 of 1 in Cisano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Sole

Property: Hotel al Sole
Address: Via San Colombano 5, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bardolino
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#15 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Sole Hotel
Hotel Al Sole Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing