We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Sportsman Hotel is half way between Bardolino and Garda (20 minute walk along the promenade to both). Our room looked out over the lake and also had a side view looking towards the hills. The room was very comfortable and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was served outside, looking out over the garden, and the variety on the breakfast buffet was excellent. The service in the restaurant was superb. I am unable to eat garlic (not great for a holiday in Italy!) but this was no problem for Simone (the restaurant manager) and his staff who really looked after me.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol_S57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    51
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
119
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in the Sportsman for 7 nights in June after a few days in Milan. We took the train to Peschiera Del Garda and jumped in a taxi to the hotel. The taxi was about 33 euros. We could check in straight away (at about 2.30pm) and were allocated a non-lake view room. The room was nice, clean and comfortable with a side view over the pool, and part of the lake.

The hotel is located in between Garda and Bardolino – slightly closer to Garda. This was great as it gives you 2 places to go out, although does mean a 15-20 minute walk every evening. There are lots of beach-style bars along the promenade so idea for breaking up the walk with a cold Aperol Spritz. We preferred Garda as it was slightly smaller with more character. At both there are huge selections of restaurants and bars.

The hotel itself was located right on the lake, with a small beach. Neither the beach or the pool got particularly busy, so there was always somewhere to sit. There were some guests that put their towels out really early in the morning despite the sign advising not to which was quite annoying. There were also quite a few young children so not always relaxing. Pool towels were supplied in the room, but we had to track down the maids in order to get fresh ones.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and the breakfast was comprehensive and good quality. For lunch we ate in the bars/cafes on the lake which were reasonably priced (4.50 euros for a pizza). There is also a shop in the campsite next door (to the left along the promenade) for snacks and drinks.

The hotel also invited us to go out on the lake on the hotel’s boat on Wednesday. This was a real bonus as the boat went right across the lake and sailed for several hours. When the captain cracked open a few bottles of wine we couldn’t believe our luck! And all for free! This was an excellent addition to the holiday!

A day before departure the receptionist booked us a taxi back to the station (taxis are not too easy to come by). All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rock_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in this lovely hotel. The hotel is located in an ideal position on the promenade half way between Bardolino and Garda. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the whole hotel was immaculately clean.

Food was delicious, lovely breakfasts served in front of the garden and evening meals served in the restaurant looking onto the main promenade.

View from our bedroom was incredible. We were in room 301 which looked straight onto the lake.
Lounge was very comfortable and the drinks throughout the hotel were no more expensive than in restaurants and coffee bars in the towns.

Pool area was very relaxing but it is annoying to find that the beds in the best areas have towels on but no-body on them at all. Extremely irritating when the owners return after we had been there for 5 and a half hours at 16.30, so they were blocked with no one on them for all of this time.

The staff were all friendly and the blond receptionist was a joy. Nothing was too much trouble and she arranged the bike trip and the sailing trip around the lake courtesy of the hotel. Lake trip was fantastic with staff pointing out Garda Island which is owned by the Ferrari family. Bikes are available to hire from the hotel. We rode along the edge of the lake to Lazise which is very pretty.

We went on the day trip around the lake arranged by Crystal holidays. It was an excellent day including a boat trip from Limone to Riva. Then we went on the trip into the Dolomites. The scenery was absolutely stunning and we enjoyed all of the stops along the way.
Bardolino is a lovely town with a great selection of cafes and bars to watch the world go by.
We would love to return and stay at this lovely hotel in the future.

Wish we could go back tomorrow it's one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Fantastic to have a room with a view of the lake. Be aware that several of these only have a Juliett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fionalcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

we stayed at the sportsman to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, travelling on the 4th of may with Thomson's lakes & mountains. We had pre booked a lake view room which made the holiday, we had a room with 3 balcony windows giving a almost 360% view, the room was also bigger than others we saw as well. The food and drink at the hotel is very good with a 5 course evening meal every night, you could order wine and if you didn't finish it it was on your table the next night, which was a nice touch. The breakfasts were ok the usual fare avaible.drinks were not to expensive although some were a bit weak.the hotel is well located if you don't mind a walk,it was 30 mins to bardalino and the same to garda.we liked bardalino better as it had a more traditional feel.we walked to laize 1 day which took 90 mins but was worth it.we took the ferry to simone as well which I would definitely recommend as it has a beautiful harbour, you could sit there all day with a glass of wine.we pre booked 3 trips,first we went on the wine tour which was fantastic you got a good look around the vineyard then enough food and drink to make everybody very happy.next we went to venice which did not disappoint you just cant stop taking photos and you must do the gondola ride.we also went to Verona which was a lovely place but after venice was a bit of a let down.all in all we had a fantastic holiday in lake garda,and hotel helped towards this.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CumbriaChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

A special holiday to mark a special birthday for my wife was called for so after much searching and deliberation Lake Garda, Bordolino and the Sportsman Hotel, was selected partly due to a possible requirement to visit Venice. Although looking a little like a Moroccan Fort or a Foreign Legion outpost, the Sportsman Hotel is excellent all round and that includes Location, Food, Staff, Bedrooms Etc. During our stay, there was live music in the bar area on two evenings thast was very pleasant. I highly recommend this Hotel that is situated in a quiet location with views that cannot be beaten. It was well worth the extra money to have a lake view room as we did in room 302 that might be a little larger than others on this floor based on the floor plan map in stairwell.

Make sure you request the discount vouchers and details of the Wednesday free sailing trip on their two masted Ketch. We were not offered the vouchers but they did advise of the boat trip. Unfortunately the boat trip was cancelled 5 minutes before the boarding time (2.00pm) due to a battery problem even though the main engine was running. A vessel of that size could easily have carried a spare battery surely? We were really looking forward to the trip and the non sailing messed up the day as if doing our own thing, we would have planned our own trip across the lake Etc to make the most of the day. We are boaters and being on the lake was all part of our plans.

Discounts for Senior Citizens are available from the ferry operators. Anything that proves your date of berth will be OK but they normally take your word OK. We preferred Garda to Bardolino and found Torri Del Benarco very quiet and almost deserted, completely the opposite to Sirmione that seemed very crowded, possibly due to narrow streets etc. Apparently, the southern resorts of the lake are more popular than those on the eastern side of the lake. Salo, on the Western shore, is apparently very worth a trip across the lake. We did not take in any of the longer organised trips since most involved much travelling by coach which is not really our thing but if you have got the stamina then you should consider Venice & the Dolomites Etc.

If you are into bikes, then you can obtain these very cheaply so as to transverse the level walk ways between Bardolino and Garda and beyond. Be warned however, that if you are walking, the cyclists can become a menace as they make their silent approach sometimes at high speed. You will have to decide which side of the path is safest since rules of the road are not always observed.

We travelled with Crystal Summer and flew with Thomson, all part of Tui and were pleased with the service. No check in ques at Birmingham but they did get us back to Verona airport 3 hours in advance of take off time that all adds up to a lengthy time to get home when you add in the flight time and drive home. A longer stay than 7 nights and maybe taxi transfers might help in this.

Room Tip: Lake view either part or full view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

As a couple we stayed at Sportsman 8th - 15th September 2012 half board, and it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The place was spotless, we had a large room and bathroom. Food was excellent and they catered v well for me being vegetarian. The hotel is ideally situated to walk to Garda and Bardolino itself. Staff were v helpful and friendly.
We plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Booked 2 rooms with half board, which represented excellent value. All hotel staff were the epitome of professionalism. Meals in the restaurant and breakfast room were fantastic. Their private beach was just that. This hotel was so good that I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. So good that. We will stay there again if we are in the Area.

Room Tip: You must stay here if in Bardolino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magere1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#4 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gardenia & Villa Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Hotel

Property: Sportsman Hotel
Address: Via Gardesana Dell'Acqua 17, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bardolino
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#18 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sportsman is located halfway between Garda and Bardolino, directly on the lake, in an enviable, calm and peaceful location. It is the perfect destination for guests who wish to relax or do sport. The hotel boasts a bar, restaurant, lounge, tv room, terrace, swimming pool, private beach, wifi, air conditioning in all rooms, heating and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing