We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Don’t judge from the cover. This hotel does not look much from the outside, but believe me this hotel is everything you want for a relaxing holiday. We stayed for 1 week in June 2008, the weather was hot and humid. The hotel was always a pleasant cool place. We had a lake view on the 2nd floor, some rooms are lake view from side windows (watch out for that). The pool side is small bur never appeared to be an issue. The restaurant is first rate with waiter served and good quality food. We will say at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    53
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
123
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2008

The hotel Sportsman was equal distance from both Garda and Bardolino and made for a great location and selection of things to do. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were pleasant and efficient. Special note must go to the young bar man whose name I did not catch but who always had a smile and courteous manner.
The pool was clean and well maintained and at the time we were there (end of May / start of June) there were plenty of sunbeds to be had with clean towels provided.
The evening meal which unfortunately we partook of only once, was fantastic and had I had any more evenings left would have certainly gone again. Price was very reasonable and we found that for the three courses we ate there it equaled the amount we would have spent in another restaurant for only one. Great selection of food and the provision on a Sunday of a musician, appetizers and bubbly in the gardens was an absolute delight! Will be booking my holiday again here next year!

  • Liked — Location on the side of the lake
  • Disliked — Flies at the lake, though not accommodations fault!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercury363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

A very nice hotel good people in charge nice walks food good hotel clean, quite own beach will go again

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank petenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Have just returned from one of several visits to the Sportsman. We had a lovely room with a balcony and a front lake view. There are a few rooms on first and second floors with balconies contrary to what was stated in a previous review.
The rooms are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Bathrobes and towels for the pool are provided.
Staff are extemely friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast is served in the villa in the garden and can be eaten outside on the terrace. All the usual cereals, fruit, meats, cheese, bread, rolls,etc. There are also a couple of hot items.
It is lovely having the 5 course dinner and watching the sunset over the lake.
There is a small private beach in front of the hotel with sunbeds and umbrellas and you can swim here from a small the jetty. The pool at the side of the hotel also has sunbeds with the usual towel problems. The garden at the side is the setting for canapes and drinks on Sunday evenings. During the day and evening drinks and snacks are served here.
It is situated on a lovely lakeside path between Garda(20mins) and Bardolino(25mins) which gives the choice of visiting either delightful resort. Both have very different atmospheres in the evenings. Ferries can be caught in either place to visit other small towns. You can get the bus on the road bahind the hotel to visit Verono or other towns around.The hotel has a courtesy bus which runs several times a day to Bardolino.
Lake Garda is a beautiful place to spend a holiday and the Sportsman a super place to stay

  • Liked — Position of hotel giving choice of resorts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank penstemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#3 of 43 in Bardolino
377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
1.4 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
825 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Hotel

Property: Sportsman Hotel
Address: Via Gardesana Dell'Acqua 17, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bardolino
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
#18 Family Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sportsman is located halfway between Garda and Bardolino, directly on the lake, in an enviable, calm and peaceful location. It is the perfect destination for guests who wish to relax or do sport. The hotel boasts a bar, restaurant, lounge, tv room, terrace, swimming pool, private beach, wifi, air conditioning in all rooms, heating and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing