We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel, Mr and Mrs W, Sussex.”
Review of Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2008

The Hotel is on the lakeside promenade about mid way between Garda and Bardolino. The food is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable, and the whole hotel clean and tidy. We were lucky and had a room with balcony at the front with a stunning view of the lake, and could have sat there all day and watched the boats, ferries and people on the prom. going about their business. Shame we could not have stayed for longer, so we will have to return here for another holiday soon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bykerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at The Sportsman for the first week of September 2008, and can highly recommend it; we wished we’d stayed longer.

The hotel is equidistant from Garda Town and Bardolino, about a 20 min stroll along the lake front promenade to either town.

The Thomsons/Crystal coach from Verona Airport takes approx 45 minutes and Sportsman is the last drop off for the Bardolino hotels.

The coach drops you at the end of the drive, at a petrol station and pizza restaurant, which doesn’t give a good impression, but the hotel is at the end of a drive away from the main road and is an exceptionally quiet spot on the lake front. The reception is friendly and well run.

Like someone else commented: Sportsman regard side lake view as ‘lake view’ and side lake view is what we got. I’ve attached some photos of our side lake view. The rooms and shower were very clean and comfortable, but my wife couldn’t get to grips with the hair dryer! In fact the whole hotel is clean and well run.

The hotel is small enough to have the personal touch, and big enough to have the facilities you’d appreciate. The gym contains bicycle machines, cross trainer, some weights, sauna, Turkish bath and whirlpool baths.

There’s a lovely lounge and garden with friendly service from the cocktail bar.

I’ve added some photos that you don’t see in the brochures to give a better view of the orientation of the hotel.

I would recommend half-board, since apart from the pizza restaurant (which looks very nice) at the end of the drive there aren’t a lot of places to eat in the immediate vicinity. There are a lot of good eateries in Garda and Bardolino if you don’t mind the stroll.

The half-board food is very good and there is an a la carte menu too. Wine list is excellent and concentrates on the local Bardolino/Valpolicella/Soave types, but also has Chianti Classico etc.

What we did was to eat at 7pm in Sportsman and then stroll into Bardolino to walk it off and sit outside a café to people watch over a coffee or drink, and then stroll back to the Sportsman bar & lounge for one last coffee and grappa. (Incidentally the latest drink craze there is ‘Aperol’ which looks like Lucozade and contains Aperol, white wine and tonic water. Not seen it before but everyone was asking what it was and was drinking it. Seemed a bit bitter for our taste).

Sportsman has its own private sandy/pebble beach and small pier across the promenade from the hotel (See photos). We sat at the beach most days on the sun loungers (hotel provides towels) and crossed back over the promenade (about 5 metres wide) to use the hotel pool (20 metre pool). I did swim in the lake (there are loads of people swimming in it), the water was very clear and would make for good snorkelling. It smells a bit ‘pondy’ though. The lake floor starts off pebbly, but as you get further out it goes sandy and the sand feels powdery underfoot. It shelves very gently. There was a bit of sun lounger reserving going on, but we didn’t have trouble finding a pair free.

BTW: Nothing to do with the hotel, but don’t be fooled by the all day ‘Lake Tour’ that the tour companies are running – it’s a coach tour round the whole lake, not a boat tour, with one brief boat journey from Limone to Rive. You stop at Sirmione, Limone, Riva and Malcesine, but not for long at any of them. The coach got blocked for 30 minutes in one of the tunnels (built by Mussolini :-) approaching Limone by a lorry coming the other way, until the police came to sort it out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nitroSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Don’t judge from the cover. This hotel does not look much from the outside, but believe me this hotel is everything you want for a relaxing holiday. We stayed for 1 week in June 2008, the weather was hot and humid. The hotel was always a pleasant cool place. We had a lake view on the 2nd floor, some rooms are lake view from side windows (watch out for that). The pool side is small bur never appeared to be an issue. The restaurant is first rate with waiter served and good quality food. We will say at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GrahamManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

The hotel Sportsman was equal distance from both Garda and Bardolino and made for a great location and selection of things to do. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff were pleasant and efficient. Special note must go to the young bar man whose name I did not catch but who always had a smile and courteous manner.
The pool was clean and well maintained and at the time we were there (end of May / start of June) there were plenty of sunbeds to be had with clean towels provided.
The evening meal which unfortunately we partook of only once, was fantastic and had I had any more evenings left would have certainly gone again. Price was very reasonable and we found that for the three courses we ate there it equaled the amount we would have spent in another restaurant for only one. Great selection of food and the provision on a Sunday of a musician, appetizers and bubbly in the gardens was an absolute delight! Will be booking my holiday again here next year!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercury363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

A very nice hotel good people in charge nice walks food good hotel clean, quite own beach will go again

Stayed: August 2007
Thank petenottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Have just returned from one of several visits to the Sportsman. We had a lovely room with a balcony and a front lake view. There are a few rooms on first and second floors with balconies contrary to what was stated in a previous review.
The rooms are well furnished and spotlessly clean. Bathrobes and towels for the pool are provided.
Staff are extemely friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast is served in the villa in the garden and can be eaten outside on the terrace. All the usual cereals, fruit, meats, cheese, bread, rolls,etc. There are also a couple of hot items.
It is lovely having the 5 course dinner and watching the sunset over the lake.
There is a small private beach in front of the hotel with sunbeds and umbrellas and you can swim here from a small the jetty. The pool at the side of the hotel also has sunbeds with the usual towel problems. The garden at the side is the setting for canapes and drinks on Sunday evenings. During the day and evening drinks and snacks are served here.
It is situated on a lovely lakeside path between Garda(20mins) and Bardolino(25mins) which gives the choice of visiting either delightful resort. Both have very different atmospheres in the evenings. Ferries can be caught in either place to visit other small towns. You can get the bus on the road bahind the hotel to visit Verono or other towns around.The hotel has a courtesy bus which runs several times a day to Bardolino.
Lake Garda is a beautiful place to spend a holiday and the Sportsman a super place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank penstemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MrsC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
437 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#23 of 43 in Bardolino
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
455 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#15 of 43 in Bardolino
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Hotel

Address: Via Gardesana Dell'Acqua 17, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bardolino
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: £116 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sportsman is located halfway between Garda and Bardolino, directly on the lake, in an enviable, calm and peaceful location. It is the perfect destination for guests who wish to relax or do sport. The hotel boasts a bar, restaurant, lounge, tv room, terrace, swimming pool, private beach, wifi, air conditioning in all rooms, heating and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing