We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Wedding Celebration”
Review of Sportsman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent 6 days with very good friends who were celebrating their silver wedding anniversary. The hotel is clean and modern, our room with a lake view was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was self service and the options were limitless, fresh fruit, cereal, continental meats and cheese, pastries and any variety of eggs with bacon, sausage, mushrooms and kidney.
The staff were very helpful both with booking and at reception. The hotel is 1.5 miles from Bardolino and 1 mile from Garda, both a pleasant lakeside walk but there is also a free shuttle service to both towns. The only downside was that the free wifi was very intermittent in the room but ok in the public rooms.

Room Tip: A lake view room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days there in June '14, staying half-board. I can't recommend it highly enough. The food was excellent, in terms of choice, quality and quantity, with no repetition during our stay. Service throughout the hotel was impeccable and all the staff were extremely friendly and efficient - and their fluency in English was an unexpected bonus. The location is quiet but not remote, being an easy walk to both Bardolino and Garda. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay in what we would rate a quality establishment. This was our first ever holiday in Italy and we were certainly impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BathDavid_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We visited this hotel late August '13. The hotel was comfortable and very clean. We were placed well between Garda and Bardolino.
We booked B and B and evening meal and we're very disappointed in the food, both the quality and preparation were poor.
Without a doubt a new chef is required.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here at the end of September with our two year old. The staff could not have been better. They looked after us like we were family. The hotel was spotless and the food was excellent - they even prepared simple pasta dishes for us on request. The location is excellent, being a short walk to both Garda and Bardolino - Garda is slightly closer. The private lake front beach is a worthwhile added extra with everything you need to soak up the Italian sun! Would we come back again?? Definitely!!

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank LeeB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of August with out teenagers. We chose this hotel based on previous tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. As advised by others - pay extra for a lake view. The staff were very helpful (especially Roberto!), the food was excellent and it was great to have both Garda and Bardonlino so near. The weather was lovely so we used the pool and the lake to swim in. The lake has lots of opportunities for watersports at reasonable prices. We took trips to Malcesine and Venice - both of which were well worth the effort. The local bus stop is a 5 minute walk away and much cheaper than using the lake ferries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseMSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed recently at this hotel and it was very good value . It is not the most attractive building but it is clean and tidy with good rooms and good food . The staff were charming and it felt like one big family . Set between Garda and Bardolino it is very convenient . Set on the beach front so perfect for enjoying the lake .

Room Tip: Ask for lake view if you want to pay extra .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Sportsman Hotel is half way between Bardolino and Garda (20 minute walk along the promenade to both). Our room looked out over the lake and also had a side view looking towards the hills. The room was very comfortable and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was served outside, looking out over the garden, and the variety on the breakfast buffet was excellent. The service in the restaurant was superb. I am unable to eat garlic (not great for a holiday in Italy!) but this was no problem for Simone (the restaurant manager) and his staff who really looked after me.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol_S57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
Hotel du Lac et Bellevue
#1 of 43 in Bardolino
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Gritti
Parc Hotel Gritti
#22 of 43 in Bardolino
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nettuno Hotel
Nettuno Hotel
#5 of 43 in Bardolino
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Color Hotel
Color Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bardolino
861 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
Hotel Kriss Internazionale
#15 of 43 in Bardolino
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Hotel

Address: Via Gardesana Dell'Acqua 17, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bardolino
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bardolino
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bardolino
Price Range: £114 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sportsman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sportsman is located halfway between Garda and Bardolino, directly on the lake, in an enviable, calm and peaceful location. It is the perfect destination for guests who wish to relax or do sport. The hotel boasts a bar, restaurant, lounge, tv room, terrace, swimming pool, private beach, wifi, air conditioning in all rooms, heating and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sportsman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing