We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
162
62
14
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
62
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach lake view lake trip maitre de hotel puts cross trainer bbq night course dinner hour cruise half board beach bag breakfast is served excellent hotel lakeside path hotel pool bike ride meal times
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely two week stay at this hotel. There are many positives about this hotel: friendly and helpful staff, good quality food, clean and good sized bedrooms, regular shuttle bus to Bardolino and a fantastic free half day lake boat trip. We have however taken a star rating off as there were two mornings where we were unable to get an inside table for breakfast and had to return at a later time. I understand that the breakfast room does not have enough inside tables to cater for all guests and if the weather is poor everyone wants to naturally eat inside, however could the dining room or snack bar not be used for the overspill of guests? It was also very apparent during our stay that one particular couple were given preferential treatment at meal times. We were told on arrival that all breakfast tables are free and you can sit anywhere, however the same table was reserved every day for this particular couple. This was extremely frustrating when we were being turned away at breakfast time when this table was not even in use!! Furthermore, these guests were provided with 'extras' such as individual fresh fruit platters at breakfast and bread rolls, balsamic vinegar and olive oil with their evening meals. It is understood that the couple in question are return guests, however as return guests ourselves we received no additional benefits and feel that ALL guests should be treated equally. I think the hotel should be very careful with this 'favouritism' approach as it does alienate other guests and could affect those considering a return visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JLA2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Sportsman hotel. With husband and 2 girls age 6 & 12. We all loved the hotel. Food was delicious. Kids loved the bambino menu. Great service. Great air conditioning . Really clean. Very relaxing. Cannot fault it at all. Great Location between garda and bardolino. Loved the private beach. Always plenty of room. Highly recommend a bike ride and the boat trip courtesy of the hotel. Well worth it. We went with Thomson. Big shout out to our rep Matt. Very helpful and gave us great advice for trips. We went to Venice with Thomson tour. Highly recommended. What an amazing city. We made our own way to Verona by local bus. Worth a visit also as we had the best pizza there at a restaurant called Marzini 27 on the main high street. I've honestly got no complaints or anything negative to say about our holiday. .it was as every holiday should be..delightful, relaxing , stressfree, excellent service. Money well spent

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank maudiequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

A quality hotel in a great location with good food and amenities.
Excellent facilities for families.
Our grandchildren love swimming in the lake and the pool.
Pleasant walk into Bardolino or Garda but be aware of bikes in high season.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marbilltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We travelled to Lake Garda to attend a family wedding in Bardolino. We chicken the Sportsman during it's location being walking distance from Bardolino and also Garda.

We had a lake view room on the 4th floor. The room was very big and we had loads of space.

The hotel has a pool with loungers round it and also has its own private beach right on the lake. This was excellent, there was plenty of loungers to lie out on and I found there was more of a breeze than the pool area. The beach is quite pebbley towards the shore line and also about 1m into the water so you need to be careful when walking barefoot.

We were half way board at the hotel and whilst we never ate every night at the hotel, the food was top quality. It's a 4 course menu and they offer alternatives too. The BBQ night was fantastic and the staff were excellent.

Breakfast is served every morning and features a large range options including eggs, pancakes, cold meats and cereal.

We are quite good walkers and we could reach Garda in around 15 mins and the center of Bardolino in about 20 mins. There are plenty of beach bars in each direction to stop along the way.

Overall, this hotel is great, the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good. The rooms are decent too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dotsandspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

What a beautiful location this hotel sits in, half way between the small towns of Garda and Bardolino making it quiet and peaceful yet handy for the livelier parts. It's private beach and pool area are very peaceful and we had no bother getting sun beds at either throughout the day.
We stayed at the hotel as part of our honeymoon and the staff could not have been more pleasant. The room was very clean and in good condition; one of our light bulbs was out and it was fixed within half an hour of reporting it to reception.
The restaurant and its staff were out of this world! They were all very informative about the different options of wine available and the choices on the menu - The food was to die for!
All in all I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Absolutely worth a visit!!

Room Tip: Request a Lake View.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews