We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel would go back again.”
Review of Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vittoria
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel was in a very good location, excellent staff, rooms and facilities were spotless, the breakfast was ample, plenty of choice, especially the fried eggs.
The shower curtain was also all right once we had mastered it.
Centrally located, with the bus stop around the corner, Bardolino shops and restaurants minutes away.
We would both come back again, as it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe were quieter, than the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFF T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

The advantages of this hotel: central location, easy access to bus stops, pharmacy, bakery and other shops. Five minutes walk to the town centre. Set beside a busy road yet if you keep the windows shut, there is no traffic noise at night. Air conditioning in the room means you can shut the window on a hot night and be both comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts are very good, as is the dining room itself. The staff are helpful and welcoming with the exception of one sulky young male member of staff.

The disadvantages: Due to UK Health & Safety laws, our agent was unable to allocate us a balcony room. The rooms are on the small side, which is fine if you don't intend to spend much time in them. They are also rather tired-looking and very basic - also fine if you just want to sleep there. The biggest disadvantage by far was the bathroom which was both small and hazardous. The whole room is a wet room i.e. the bathroom itself is a shower room. There is a shower curtain that you can pull round yourself but you find that it is no use whatsoever in keeping the rest of the room dry. So you can't really take clothes or towels into the room unless you are prepared for them to get soaked. After a shower is the hazardous bit as the water drains into a central drain set in the floor and the floor remains wet for a considerable time. You have to take great care at this point. The other disadvantage is that in our bathroom a raised metal bar had been set in front of the door to prevent the tide of water from spilling over into the bedroom. Unfortunately, it was at least 4cm short and therefore, could not always contain the tide so we had the bathmat on the bedroom side to soak up the overflow.
This apart, I'd recommend the hotel, as long as you aware of the shortfalls.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraS623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I made a mistake while booking a hotel for our holiday - I had no idea that there were 2 hotel Vittorios on Lake Garda. Needless to say, when I realised I had booked the worng one and saw the other reviews I was worried. I did confess to my husband before going and we decided to go with an open mind.
We arrived during Assumption week - a huge celebration in Italy - and the area was busy. The hotel is in the town centre, by a roundabout. But once the shutters were down and the aircon was on, it was pretty quiet. We did notice a real difference during the last 3 days of the stay when the celebrations were over as it did become considerably quieter.
Service at the hotel was excellent, and the rooms were cleaned every day. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and you could have cereal, fruit, and continental breakfast (including croissants and cakes). You could eat inside or outside.
The design of the wet room is a little curious, but actually did not pose a problem. By using the shower curtain as it was intended, there were no issues.
The staff were lovely and accomodating and you could really talk to them - not at all aloof like those I have encountered in 4 / 5 star hotels.
So, in conclusion, remember this is in the town centre and the wet rooms are quirky and then you will enjoy your time. It really is worth a chance!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel. The staff were very friendly & the service was great-lovely breakfasts. Situated in a great spot in Bardolino .. very near the lake but out of the bussle.It gave us an affordable way to stay in this beautiful part of Italy. Fantastic value for money & a perfect base for a holiday

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have just returned from a week stay in the Vittoria, where we had a lovely time. We weren't expecting much, given the TripAdvisor reviews and the price, but were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is in a superb location, just a stone's throw from the bus stop, and a minutes walk to the main promenade.
The quality of the hotel itself was much better than expected. The staff were friendly (especially Laura on reception), although on occasions lacking in English fluency (but seemed keen to learn). Breakfast each morning was good, with a range of fresh options including brioche and cakes, as well as the usual med ham, cheese, rolls etc.
Our room was bright and clean, with air conditioning (essential in the 100 degree heat we encountered!) and was comfortable to stay in. Having said this, the bathroom leaves much to be desired. It is very small, and logistically challenging - the shower is in the center so its curtain hangs in the way when not in use, and does little to prevent the whole room becoming flooded when you do shower. In addition, there were no bedside lamps, and no refrigerator - quite a pain in such heat, when it would be nice to keep drinks cool in the room.
Nevertheless, these are minor inconveniences, maybe to be expected from a lower budget hotel. The hotel exceeded all our expectations, and provided a comfortable base for our stay. It deserves much better reviews than it seems to have received, and we would gladly return to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just got back from a brilliant week. The hotel is small as are the rooms - but so are the prices! The place is friendly, really good value for money and brilliant just to chill out on the patio. Free wi-fi too. Laura was especially brilliant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Having taken into account the previous mixed reviews for this hotel, me and my girlfriend took a bit of a risk and booked a great late deal package for the second week of August. It cost £280ea, which is important context for this review.

The Vittoria is a family run hotel and the staff are very welcoming and helpful - especially the receptionist who has very good English.The location for the hotel is really good. It is not on the lakeside though and room views were limited. We were situated in the annexe and so our view was of the other section of the hotel and the roundabout. We did experience some noise on the Saturday night from the bar across the road, but during the week this wasn't a problem.

The hotel is just off the main road, so it is a very short walk to the bus station, pharmacy and the supermarket - and crazy golf. There is a fantastic patisserie right opposite the hotel, from which we enjoyed many lovely pastries and bought many gifts for our friends and family. The walk into the town takes about 5mins and passes by a small grocery store which is very reasonable for bottled drinks, fruit and such like - cheaper than anywhere bar the supermarket.

In the hotel itself there were no lifts, and the two flights – potentially 3 flights – were tricky with 2 x suitcases (what a gentleman I am). The room we had was very small; merely a double bed (made of 2 x singles) a wardrobe and a desk. It was difficult even to find room for the suitcases, which made it cramped, I tended to leave mine at the bottom of the wardrobe. There was only a small window, with shutters, net curtains and luckily a fan - it was extremely hot. As has been discussed in previous reviews the bathroom is a wet room, which can cause issues if not managed, my poor rough guide got soaked when I put it on the stool. The room, though small, was clean and cleaned everyday as would be expected.

The breakfasts were great, usual continental fare with lots of excellent cakes (is there a theme running through this review?!) Breakfast could be taken out on the front terrace or in the dining room. There was no pool, which we knew, but there were two terraces on the first floor of the main section of the hotel. One was shaded, overlooking the main road (which we were directly opposite in the annexe) and the other was at the front of the hotel above the breakfast terrace. We used this almost everyday to catch some sun on the loungers/chairs, people watch and to get out of the room.

Overall we were very happy with the hotel – knowing and experiencing as we did the limitations, although if we had paid the £595ea brochure price we may have thought differently. Bardolino is an excellent little resort and was absolutely heaving when we were there. This was our second year in a row on Lake Garda – Riva last year – and we enjoyed it just as much. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops with plenty of places nearby to visit – the 50min walk to Garda is easy and flat, Lasize is 1hr15m in the other direction and the Zeni wine museum is 15mins up the hill to taste the famous Bardolino wine. You can never get bored of relaxing by the lake, with your drink of choice, watching the lake gently undulate.

Pros

Good Location
Friendly Staff
Clean
Good Breakfasts
Cozy
Brilliant, friendly, patisserie opposite
Sun Terrace

Cons

Small, hot rooms
Wet Room not separate shower cubicle
Limited Hotel Room views
Sometimes Noisy at Night
No Lifts

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardolino hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Locanda Corte Montioni
Locanda Corte Montioni
#1 of 1 in Montioni
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Sito
Hotel Bel Sito
#1 of 1 in Cisano
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Carbonara 6
La Carbonara 6
#1 of 1 in Calmasino
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Germano Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittoria

Address: Borgo Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 38, 37011, Bardolino, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Bardolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Bardolino
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittoria 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Bardolino
Hotel Vittoria Bardolino, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing