We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villaggio Olimpico Bardonecchia”
Review of Villaggio Olimpico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villaggio Olimpico
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Despite being the Olympic hotel for competitors in 2006 winter olympics - this hotel is like a large Russian prison camp. It looks good on the internet and advertises a swimming pool and a sauna - but it is a very large concrete building, bedrooms are sparse tiled rooms with nothing other than a couple of beds, a wardrobe and an old TV. It is ideal for school trips and for large groups of kids (there were about 4-5 different schools staying there) - but totally unsuitable for famlies. The "all-inclusive restaurants" are basically large school canteens with long queues and really basic food.
The location is fantastic - 500 meters from the slopes, the ski resort is great and the town of Bardoneccia is great, just don't stay at the Villaggio Olimpico Bardonecchia with a family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Villaggio Olimpico
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

Worst problem of this hotel is the management.
I went there in a big group of friends and I made the check in with other 3 people (for two rooms). Lady at the desk needed 20 minutes to give us 2 keys!!!! In the following days she always asked which group I belong to, but this never helped to get info I needed!
We have to pay 6€ to get a kind of association card that, I thought, covers all additional services in the hotel. But I discovered the following day that I need to pay 8€ in addition if I wanted to use swimming pool and spa (really small one) for two hours!!!!
First morning (Saturday morning) I was woken up at 7:30 a.m. by men who were repairing some walls in the corridor of my room. The second morning clean up lady entered in my room at 8:30 a.m. asking at what time I would leave the room. Check out was scheduled at 10:00 a.m. So sleeping in that hotel is not a good experience.
The only positive point is that Hotel has a reduction agreement on ski pass, for which I payed only 15€ in addition for 2 days.
Location is not too far to reach Campo Smith ski slopes by foot. Room as not so bad, I would say essential but a little under standards, considering the price you pay. Buildings are pretty new, even if up keeping could be better, and you see that they have been built to accommodate a huge number of people. As consequence now they are too big and dispersive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I spend a week at the hotel and was sad to leave. The staff were really warm and friendly. The facilities were in good condition as expected. A good selection of dishes in the restaurant. I was a bit daunted by the reviews previously posted and feel that they are too harsh. The hotel manager/staff Paulo and Sebastian was truly fantastic and a credit to the hotel.
I enjoyed my time on the slopes skiing and the hotel was a nice relaxing place to return each evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The week I spent at Villaggio Olimpico was, to put it politely, an 'experience'.

I will start with the only positive - we were given rooms in the main tower which were clean and spacious. Unfortunately, the review from this point forward goes downhill.

The staff (and I mean this in the collective) were the rudest I have ever encountered anywhere when travelling. The Reception staff were poorly trained, unwelcoming and very disorganised. Considering the hotel guests were 95% English it was odd they did not speak a word and given they cater to school groups it was odd that all signage was in Italian only. We paid the Reception staff a deposit for ski lift passes and room keys on arrival - when leaving they couldn't find it but not surprising given they had no filing system, instead they had to look through hundreds of envelopes dumped in an unlocked filing cabinet. Not my fault they lost it but they make you feel like it's your fault - most bizarre.

This kind of service continued throughout the hotel, but the hotel's worst had to be reserved for those staff working in the restaurant headed by the rudest head waiter you will ever meet (you will spot him easily with his bald head and folded arms watching over your table constantly). Meal times are rushed with waiters constantly trying to collect your plates before you have finished your food. Within 20 mins of the restaurant closing, the waiters literally walk up to you, tap on their watches and tell you to 'go now'. We were having wine with some other skiers and one waiter even brought plastic cups to our table and said 'here - plastic, your wine, bye bye you go now'!

The above was the same every single night and I don't think I have felt so uncomfortable eating at any hotel anywhere in the world. You never get a 'hello' or 'good evening' just constantly rude staff. At breakfast you are only allowed to eat with plastic cutlery but on our first day it had been set out for evening dinner so the metal cutlery was quickly withdrawn as we were sat there! Meanwhile, the table cloth did not get changed the whole week.

On one occasion I decided to go swimming with my friend. You have to give a deposit for towels upstairs at what they call the 'InfoPoint'. So my friend and I proceeded to go downstairs to swim. I got into the pool and a very rude lifeguard called Veronica literally clapped her hands at us, saying "get out, get out". It transpires that in Italy it is law to wear a swimming cap. This is fine but it would have been useful if at the InfoPoint we were told we would need one before coming downstairs. As my friend hadn't yet got in the pool he explaiend we didn't know and that he would go and get us some. This is where common sense went out the window. As he left for the caps, the woman continued to yell "Get Out" in front of fellow guests. I said I would stand and wait for my friend to return with the caps and I wouldn't put my head under water. She got increasingly rude saying you get out now so I did and stood by the side of the pool - but this wasn't good enough with her continuing to yell 'no get completely away from the pool'. So I gave up at this point and left. I pointed out she could be more helpful but just kept saying "It's not my problem" and throwing her arms around.

We spoke to the holiday reps as did many others and it appears that the attitude of the staff is well known and they themselves get treated equally as poorly. But if this is the case the holiday companies need to stop sending customers there.

The above will all sound very harsh but my only surpise is that this hotel is only 17 out of 18 in Bardonecchia - God help those who stay at the hotel ranked 18th!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daveconnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Recently visited for a week. Hotel was great in most aspects with great facilities and fantastic mountside location! Only issues were massive queues of people at mealtimes and issues connected to room keys etc during our stay. Cashless bar upstairs is a bit of a pain but something you get used to! Overall, a hotel offering great facilities in a great location!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gph92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Maruska67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Davide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bardonecchia
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jafferau
Hotel Jafferau
#23 of 23 in Bardonecchia
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
3.5 mi away
Chalet della Guida
Chalet della Guida
#4 of 23 in Bardonecchia
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ca Fiore
Hotel Ca Fiore
#1 of 23 in Bardonecchia
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Olimpico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico

Address: Viale della Vittoria, 10052, Bardonecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bardonecchia
#3 Spa Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range: £83 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villaggio Olimpico 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Bardonecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing