We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but Poor Staff”
Review of Hotel Rive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rive
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Reviewed 4 February 2013

First of all the hotel is in a great location beside the chair lift in Bardonecchia. However, the hotel is let down by the welcome from the staff. It seemed like the guy wanted to get rid of us as soon as we checked in. No details about wifi, breakfast or spa usage. In fact you have to pay for the spa but no one told us. Upon checkout we were presented with a bill for using it. I refused to pay. The spa itself is great and the staff there are so helpfull. They should employ them in the hotel reception instead :) Reception also handed us an out of date discount card. he didn't bother elaborating what it was. By luck I asked when buying my skipass and got a discount. They weren't happy that it was out of date but made an exception when I told them we stayed at Rive.

So in summary not a 4* hotel when you have to pay for the Spa and when some of the staff will do anything to avoid helping you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Great location at the bottom of the slope for ski in ski out. Rooms are spacious and clean (although the beds are very hard) with ours having a large balcony over looking the slopes. Booked independently rather than via one of the ski tour operators to meet up with friends for 3 days. The hotel staff were very effiecient and friendly rearranging seating in the restaurant to accommodate our group. Originally booked B&B but upgraded to half board on arrival, lots of choice for both breakfast and dinner. The bars around Campo Smith were lively and relaxed for Après ski. Only disappointment was the spa, we were charged €12.50 each to access (which would have been a daily charge) and found some of the facilities not up to scratch. Great potential with a good selection of hot and cold, sauna, steam and plunge pools etc, however the Turkish bath was too cold to relax, unwind and enjoy the hydrotherapy. Overall good value for money in a relaxed and friendly environment.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sharon_Hardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just returned from a great week skiing with my Daughter and two grandsons. The location was excellent, short flight and just over an hour transfer. The hotel staff were all pleasant always we had nothing to complain about. 4 course meal every evening spot on . Breakfast repetative but fine. Resort ;- Quiet midweek ( had the mountain at our disposal was great) weekend was the opposite "hectic" only comment i would make is that the Hotel did not have a cozy lounge area with a log fire and a less formal looking bar. you did feel that you were in a hotel reception. otherwise no complaints would def go again... Oh yes nearly forgot went with Crystal and the reps get 0 out of 10 Quiz night and race presentation night was dire- Saved by the kids ski instructor Matt (it was short for something, all the kids loved him and called him this)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billbobagginses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Good points- close to slopes.
Bad points- long delay to check in at hotel, hard beds, noisy Italian groups running riot in early hours so severe lack of sleep & lack of understanding from hotel staff. A total waste of £1600 definitely not a 4 * compared to previous hotels we've stayed at!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed in the apartments and it was really nice. We'd checked reviews before travelling so were prepared for long wait at airport and possible delay accessing room but luckily our room was available straight away. Nice clean apartment with balcony, large bathroom, comfy beds and lots of nice soft towels, kitchen area was clean, big fridge and well equipped with crockery/cutlery etc but no just a hob (no oven, microwave or kettle but again, read the reviews and took a travel kettle). Hotel staff all very friendly and helpful. Ski conditions were generally slushy but they worked really hard to keep things going, moving a lot of snow around to keep lifts open. Even though many of the runs linking different areas were closed due to conditions the main ones were open and perfect for intermediates, I would definitely go back, especially in better (snowier) conditions are there are some nice long runs. Staff on the slopes were lovely and helpful too, especially getting 4year old on and off of drag and chair lift, and the ski school was great, she loved it and was very proud of the little red run she conquered on her last day. On site restaurant and bar (pub with English landlord) were friendly and good value for money and we weren't disturbed by noise apart from one night when an international student organisation descended, but closing the windows kept the noise out. The swimming pool across the road was good for 4year old, with floats, noodles etc. free to borrow but you do all need swim caps and flip flops/crocs - under 5s free and you get a discount if staying at the Best Western.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a great time at this hotel. I have an eating dis-order Coeliacs disease, no problem for this hotel. Menus made for me 100% and no supplements.
Rooms quirky, clean and cleaned daily.
Ski in and Ski out facilities were great

Room Tip: Rooms facing slopes are noisey at nights, bars scattered around resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edin660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hotel has great location for skiing with a basement boot room that also links directly onto the slopes next to main lift. The hotel is functional rather than luxury, modern, well maintained and immaculately clean. The rooms are spacious as I understand they were built for the 2006 Olympics (presumably for 2 athletes to share but I may be wrong). I wouldn't normally make such an observation, but the mattresses were hard even for me! Staff were friendly and the whole resort has a nice relaxed, welcoming feel. Food in hotel was good, varied and plentiful on half board. Food on slopes was freshly prepared bistro type and reasonably priced. We skied over British half term and Mon-Fri never queued for lifts, the weekends were busier with Italians but tolerable. There is a weeks on-piste skiing in resort for intermediates. We took our 4.5 yr old son for first ski trip and the resort was ideal, with good magic carpet and nursery slope and easy blue for latter part of week. The Italian instructor Robbie was ace. A good hotel and a great ski holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking slopes have balcony. All are generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DominicPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 23 in Bardonecchia
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jafferau
Hotel Jafferau
#23 of 23 in Bardonecchia
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ca Fiore
Hotel Ca Fiore
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Pigna
Hotel La Pigna
#8 of 23 in Bardonecchia
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico
Villaggio Olimpico
#6 of 23 in Bardonecchia
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rive

Address: Regione Molino 4, 10052, Bardonecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bardonecchia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range: £79 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardonecchia
Bardonecchia Best Western
Best Western Rive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing