We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent views”
Review of Hotel Rive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rive
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent views”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a week's skiing here its not exactly ski in / ski out as advertised but close enough. The hotel lived up to its four star rating for location, rooms, service and amenities, only grumble would be the food took a little getting used too and you had to be selective in what you chose, but have eaten alot worse in other places. The beds were uncomfortably hard but after a days skiing you can usually sleep any where. We had a couple of beginners with us who didn't progress on to the slopes proper but still had to pay for a full ski pass to use the drag lift on the nursery slopes, bit costly as free in other resorts. On the whole good resort with good skiing and very friendly people would consider going again :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    115
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
107
55
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Amazing room with views, great food with wide variety, nice clean rooms and comfy bed!!! (although we like firm beds) also had a balcony. Literally 50 yards from the ski lift and ski school. Staff friendly and helpful, with most après ski events from the bar opposite. Sauna also close and free to hotel guests, although no jacuzzi

Downsides- the rooms were very hot but that may be because we couldn't work the thermostat, so we opened the balcony instead. It was noisy outside which was fine for us but can appreciate that may annoy others. The shower doors weren't great and flooded the bathroom each time

It wasn't the best slopes for first time boarders but we had a lot of fun and would recommend the hotel to our skiing friends

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I stayed at the hotel at the end of Feb with my son (aged 15) and my mother..
The hotel is in a great position, right on the slopes. We were lucky and had a room that looked towards the ski runs and the views were fantastic.
The room itself was very comfortable. Good size, nice bathroom, plasma tv with some English channels. However, as previously mentioned, the beds were rock hard!
We stayed on a half board basis and we all thought that the food was fantastic. 4 courses, 2 of which you can pre choose at breakfast, usually a fish, 2 meat and a veggie option.
Breakfast was buffet, with continental and also bacon and eggs etc.
We had free use of the spa which was also good...small pool, sauna, steam rooms etc and free use of the gym too.
We travelled with Crystal and have to say that the reps were the worst we've ever encountered! My mum broke her knee towards the end of the holiday and if it had not been for the excellent hotel staff, she would have been deserted! The hotel arranged everything for her....The reps, despite us leaving messages and texts, did not once contact her (even to see how she was feeling)
The ski slopes are quite limited but we are early and mid intermediates, so they were good for us. We also had a good dumping of snow mid week, which was great!
The ski instructors were also very good with well spoken English.
All in all, despite my mothers' accident, we had a really good week and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just returned from an excellent week ski-ing and sauna-ing at the Hotel Rivé. We must have been at a different hotel to some of the other commentators as we found the staff to be exceptionally helpful and friendly, the rooms to be very comfortable and the food to be varied, delicious, good quality and of a consistently high standard. The superb spa facilities catered for the age range of our group well 10-51 and the skiers most definitely appreciated the proximity of the slopes - it was only about 500 yards from the hotel to the lifts. All in all a great location in a hotel offering comfort, great food and impressive facilities. To be recommended!

Room Tip: Pre book a balcony - it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

It says ski in, ski out and I guess it is, but we have been closer to the snow in hotels which aren't ski in, ski out. The main problems were the long wait to get our room (over 4 hours), the beds are the hardest we have ever slept on and the restaurant menu was bland and repetitive.
That said, the staff tried hard to make us happy and overall it was ok.

Room Tip: All the rooms with balconies face the slopes but they also face the nightclub and bars. The non-balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlanGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

First of all the hotel is in a great location beside the chair lift in Bardonecchia. However, the hotel is let down by the welcome from the staff. It seemed like the guy wanted to get rid of us as soon as we checked in. No details about wifi, breakfast or spa usage. In fact you have to pay for the spa but no one told us. Upon checkout we were presented with a bill for using it. I refused to pay. The spa itself is great and the staff there are so helpfull. They should employ them in the hotel reception instead :) Reception also handed us an out of date discount card. he didn't bother elaborating what it was. By luck I asked when buying my skipass and got a discount. They weren't happy that it was out of date but made an exception when I told them we stayed at Rive.

So in summary not a 4* hotel when you have to pay for the Spa and when some of the staff will do anything to avoid helping you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Great location at the bottom of the slope for ski in ski out. Rooms are spacious and clean (although the beds are very hard) with ours having a large balcony over looking the slopes. Booked independently rather than via one of the ski tour operators to meet up with friends for 3 days. The hotel staff were very effiecient and friendly rearranging seating in the restaurant to accommodate our group. Originally booked B&B but upgraded to half board on arrival, lots of choice for both breakfast and dinner. The bars around Campo Smith were lively and relaxed for Après ski. Only disappointment was the spa, we were charged €12.50 each to access (which would have been a daily charge) and found some of the facilities not up to scratch. Great potential with a good selection of hot and cold, sauna, steam and plunge pools etc, however the Turkish bath was too cold to relax, unwind and enjoy the hydrotherapy. Overall good value for money in a relaxed and friendly environment.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_Hardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
135 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chalet della Guida
Chalet della Guida
#4 of 23 in Bardonecchia
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Cianfuran Bardonecchia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico
Villaggio Olimpico
#6 of 23 in Bardonecchia
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Villa Frejus
Residence Villa Frejus
#14 of 23 in Bardonecchia
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Campo Smith
Residence Campo Smith
#16 of 23 in Bardonecchia
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rive

Property: Hotel Rive
Address: Regione Molino 4, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bardonecchia
#2 Spa Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardonecchia
Bardonecchia Best Western
Best Western Rive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing