We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location; perfect for families”
Review of Hotel Rive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rive
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Bardonecchia
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Bardonecchia in peak season should have been a huge crush on the slopes, instead we were treated to millionaire skiing during the half term week. The hotel is located right on the slopes adjacent to one of the main chair lifts; it can be busy when the ski schools gather and straight after lunch (10am and 1pm) but apart from this the wait is minimal. The hotel has a ski store in the basement area which is free for guests and only a one minute walk to the snow and lift. Check in process is swift with guidance on the hotel and leisure club facilities. The room is clean and functional with all the amenities a travelling family will need. Breakfast is reasonable with the usual ceral, pastry and cooked choices catering for UK and European taste; Dinner selection is made at breakfast and these can present a bigger challenge to the UK tastebuds. For the most part there will be something to suit but there are the odd days when the choice seems difficult; even if the main course left aside there is plenty of the buffet options to top up.
The leisure area is really nice and perfect for apres ski wind down; pool, sauna and steam room with plunge barrel to cool down. There is also a cold room which is a nice touch which sprays a fine mist of ice cold air, essentially the polar opposite of the steam room, it works really well though. The beds are a little firm but no bad thing to keep creaking bones straight after a hard day skiing.
The Rive looks to be one of, if not the biggest hotel in town; for a family looking for a convinient ski location saving the trek to the slopes the Rive fits the bill. Slightly out of the village centre so trips to the shops or bars will be a 15 minute walk or short bus ride.
Bardonecchia is on the main rail line to Turin and Milan so non skiers can take a sightseeing trip away from the snow; Turin is easily achievable in one day however, the trains to Milan don't always work for a daytrip in terms of timings so check up before travel.
Not the cheapest hotel but worth it in my view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40somethingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel is located literally near the lift and ski centre catering to british travelers mostly. The decor is a little dated but we are happy that there is everything we need: a nice big bath tub, hair dryer, safe, lots of shelves, strong supportive mattress, good size room and parking just outside (no cover).

The breakfast is average, I was hoping there will be more varieties of cheese and jams but I guess you can always get a big plate of polenta & sausage for lunch.

The only complain we have is the ski locker room location: it is located outside the hotel down some metal stairs. People wearing ski boots should take care.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbug852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here Feb Half term, The rooms are basic (similar to a decent Travel Lodge) are a decent size and are kept clean. As others have said the bed is very hard. The room is kept at a decent temperature which you can adjust, there are no radiators but ski gear dried off on the drying rack provided. The one thing that is missing is clothes hooks which made it difficult to hang up jackets.

Breakfast is continental with plenty of choice for a week and is of exceptional quality The evening meal is 4 courses, a buffet anti pasti which I could have easily made a meal of, you then have a pasta and main which you order at breakfast, followed by a desert buffet. I was very impressed with all meals. If you have kids & they don't like what's on the menu they will do them something different both a pasta and main which normally included chips.

There is no drinks prices at mealtime I drank house red every night which was v.large and good quality and only cost 3.5euros.

You have free entry to the spa, remember to take your room towels otherwise it's a 5euros charge per towel. The pool is small but is fine for a quick swim and all except one day was a decent temperature (had been cleaned put was freezing which put my kids off returning). The people working in the spa are not the friendliest.

The communal areas are nice to sit and have a drink and with prices being reasonable there was no need to venture out.

For those here for skiing your right by the ski school and near the main chairlift. It was our second family ski holiday and there was plenty of varied runs to keep us busy. Ski school is 3 hours, the kids really enjoyed it making new friends. Even though it was half term there were no big lift queues other than the one at the bottom of the mountain which was only when ski school commenced. The bars and restaurants on the slopes are reasonable priced (similar to U.K.) and of good quality. Cipos is definitely worth a visit for happy hour. The area lacks a small supermarket with town being a 20min walk we only went once as there's not much there but to be honest there was everything we wanted on the slopes and in the hotel.

Would definitely recommend the hotel and the area for a family ski holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_buckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and skied Bardonecchia for 3.5 days. The hotel is right on the slopes and is only 1 hour from Turin airport. There is a underground car park which you get to by going to the left of the hotel, almost towards the ski lift and then down into the basement. The hotel charges €5 per day for car parking. There is WiFi available, although it was a little flaky in our room. The hotel has it's own ski room which is again down in the basement. The basement is a bit of a maze so I would suggest you wander round to get your bearings before you put your ski boots on! There are also a couple of ski hire shops that have exits into the basement. There is a nice amount of space for sitting around in the evenings and the rooms are perfectly acceptable. It is a 20 min walk into Bardonecchia, although there are a couple of decent restaurants on the way in. We waited a long time to get somewhere to eat on a Saturday night as everywhere was very busy. It also took about an hour to get out of Bardonecchia on Sunday night at 6pm as everyone seemed to be going back to Turin.
If you ask the hotel reception they will give you a form to take to the ski pass office which will give you a discount, although you need to buy at least a 3 day pass, you also have to buy this from the office in town. They won't accept the form at the office on the slopes!
Breakfast was continental and perfectly acceptable with plenty of coffee (ask for a jug!) and a large selection of breads and pastries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived at this hotel at around 11:30 am expecting a long wait for our room as said in previous reviews - we planned to leave our cases, go out to lunch and have a look at the beautiful mountains, instead of hanging around waiting. - I was totally surprised when we checked in and were given a key to our room! The room was very nice, I found the bed and pillows to be very comfy! I had a very good nights sleep with no problems at all, I did not find the beds hard, just firm.

The bathroom is large with a shower and a bath tub should you want a soak. fluffy white towels changed daily and plenty of them. Toiletries and plenty of toilet rolls also replenished daily - I had all my own toiletries, but should you forget anything they do provide the basics. There is a large mirror in the bathroom with a heated rail and lots of space for all your toiletries.

The bedroom has lots of draw/cupboard space a flat screen TV with free view and wired internet access (not quite sure who uses wired these days) There is no Wi-Fi in the hotel but that did not bother us, as we are not away to be on the internet daily, we were there to ski! it was refreshing to get away from it and enjoy being on holiday. You can get free Wi-Fi in certain bars but again we didn't bother.....Facebook will still be there when you get home people!

If you want a tea and coffee making facilities just ask at reception and they will provide it all for you for free! We took a travel kettle with us so had no need. you can also buy coffee and tea at reception for a small cost. You can get hot drinks at the bar, but it is nice after a long day on the slopes to relax with a cup of tea on the bed or when you wake up first thing before going down from breakfast :-)

One thing that did annoy me slightly about the room was that there are no coat hooks! There is room for hooks on a wall beside the door so not quite sure where they expect you to hang your coat? especially after a day where there has been lots of snow!

There is also two chairs in the room and a full length mirror on the back of the bathroom door - for the ladies I would suggest taking an extension lead as the plug socket is too far away from the mirror so drying your hair could be a problem if you want to look in the mirror at the same time.

The room was cleaned to a high standard every day, The cleaners work very hard and always great you with a cheery 'buongiorno' if they pass you on the way to breakfast.

I found the food at this hotel to be particularly good! Every evening there was a big selection of anti pasti followed by first, second courses then dessert. You will be given a table on arrival that is yours for the week, this worked our brilliantly as your table was always ready and waiting for you whenever you decided to go for dinner or breakfast. If you order wine or water and do not finish it the waiter will put your room number on the bottle, you will then find it waiting for you on your table the following evening, you can of course take it with you back to the bar or to your room should you wish. We were never disappointed with the food while at this hotel. You are asked to order your first and second course plates at breakfast for the evening meal, again I think this is an excellent idea as you are getting freshly cooked food that is piping hot instead of choosing something that has been sitting under heated lights. You are offered three choices for each course. The menu is also displayed in the lifts and in reception.

The bar area is a pleasant place to sit in the evening, drinks were very reasonable Tapa's always on the bar - quite a wide selection too! nut's and crisps were also at the bar all free. Bar staff are very friendly and do a very good job.

The Campo Smith resort is very quiet in the evenings, we ventured out on our first night to find two people sitting in one bar, there is no night life as such, but in Italy dinner does take up a lot of the evening. Myself and my husband loved sitting eating dinner with some nice wine chatting about the days events. After dinner you will find most people sitting in the hotel bar area, its a comfortable pleasant place to spend the rest of the evening talking about your day.

There are no shops in the immediate resorts area, the nearest shop is around a 20 minute walk in the evening or you could hop in the free bus during the day. We only went to the shop once to pick up some milk and a few snacks for the week, we did not want to waste skiing time going a couple of times. If you did not want to go to the shop for milk and you want tea in your room you could always take a glass up from the dining room and leave it in your fridge in your room, we did that for the last day.

There is a fridge in your room that has two bottles of water that is replenished as and when needed. you will be charged for any bottles that you use at the end of your holiday I think it was one euro fifty per bottle. you will need it because the air conditioning leaves you very dry during the night.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. I will definitely be returning.

If anyone has any questions please get in touch I will be happy to help.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindavw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked this as a one week half-board package via Crystal Ski. Said before by others, but yes the beds are hard, and this is a resort hotel, so beware there will be some noise. However, we arrived late in the morning, rooms were not all ready, but we were a party of 9, so had 4 rooms booked. After an early lunch, we had keys to 3 rooms and only had to wait another 10 minutes for the last one. The staff were polite and helpful, the food was palatable if not gourmet - a little bit samey but plenty of it. Rooms were clean, hotel bar a bit limited. Drink prices reasonable.
The hotel is ideally placed for the main chairlift up to the blue and red slopes above. Very easy to get around the town. Non-skiers took the train into Turin just over an hour away. 15 minute walk into the town or take the courtesy bus which also goes to Melezet and Jaffarau slopes.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank ilaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hotel - really nice, fairly chilled atmosphere. Recommend getting a balcony, even on lower floor you can still get a view of the mountain (obviously better on higher floors, so may be worth putting in an advance request). Room was big and well-maintained, cleaned everyday - small toiletries provided. Staff all very friendly.

Food - we were surprised by the high quality. Buffet entrée and dessert, starter and main is pre-selected at breakfast (choice of 3 of each). First night is more chaotic as orders are taken at the table. Breakfast is good, freshly baked croissants, meat, cheese, hot bacon and sausage, yoghurts etc.

Chair lifts - some really really long button/drag lifts which we avoided, chair lifts have no visas - so not as modern as some resorts.

Runs - good for families and intermediates, advanced skiers may be disappointed. Slopes are generally nice and wide, and other skiers generally respectful. Under 18s must wear helmet by law, and the runs with steep edges had good safety netting. Skiing right to hotel takes the hassle out of carrying ski gear very far (just down some stairs to the garage underneath hotel).

On-site facilities. Crystal use sport dain at hotel rive/campo smith. There are a couple of other rental shops too - we found dain cheapest. There's also a couple of bars/cafés and a creperia.

Spa - slightly abrupt staff at times, seems they claim money back from the hotel so they want to make sure you give them the right ticket for the gym or spa. Spa is nice, but could be better maintained, some lights out etc. bring your own flip flops, swimming cap and robe if you can - otherwise you'll need to buy a cap and flip flops (didn't seem like there were robes available).

Town - bigger than we expected, very friendly locals who all seem to be walking their dogs!

Snowcat - €15 for the one where you can have dinner (extra cost) at the top of Colomion. Tickets can be purchased opposite the train station in town. Trip is worth it if going to dinner, but not much can be seen during the trip itself- no view to the front. It goes up at 1730 from Campo Smith, by Cipo's bar/restaurant.

Train to Turin - €28 return, about 1.5 hrs each way, nice journey, nice town to spend the day for shopping and cafe culture. Trains left at 16mins past the hr and returned at 20 past the hr (except at 1718) - this was on a Monday

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank UK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bardonecchia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#1 of 23 in Bardonecchia
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jafferau
Hotel Jafferau
#23 of 23 in Bardonecchia
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico
Villaggio Olimpico
#8 of 23 in Bardonecchia
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ca Fiore
Hotel Ca Fiore
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Pigna
Hotel La Pigna
#5 of 23 in Bardonecchia
75 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chalet della Guida
Chalet della Guida
#4 of 23 in Bardonecchia
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rive

Address: Regione Molino 4, 10052, Bardonecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Bardonecchia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bardonecchia
#2 Spa Hotel in Bardonecchia
Price Range: £81 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bardonecchia
Bardonecchia Best Western
Best Western Rive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing