We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent excellent”

Osteria La Francigena
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Bolsena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Francigena - Osteria typical pizzeria. Restaurant in Bolsena to taste typical of Tuscia, with their true flavors in a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Our passion for the art of cooking with the simplicity that was once the custom is our best thanks for the friends who come to visit. Dishes of Tuscia and traditional dishes, pizzas prepared with Art.
Dolomites Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed round the corner and we went there almost every evening during our 2 weeks stay. Lunch we had only once when we came home after a journey and the manager served us what they were having. Excellent cold vegetable dish. then he brought something he wanted to prepare for the evening, just to try, it was risotto with melon!!! We always (had) a fish starter then all sorts of excellent dishes. The wine was also great. On our last evening I had a pizza (there were always lots of local people getting take away pizza) and the pizza was delicious. It was also very beautifully (!) presented. Is there a better place in Bolsena? No, there isn't one

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurintours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    131
    31
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here twice on recommendation of local friends in the past 2 years. The pizzas are very good, very thin crust that doesn't sag in the middle. The onion soup is also a revelation, nothing like the French version, very light almost a broth. Prices are good and indicative of the area. House wine at E5 per liter is very drinkable. Good friendly family atmosphere, only a few tables and many locals. Six of us had 2 courses and wine for E90.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CFBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great cheese platter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had dinner at the Osteria twice with my girlfriend, while in Bolsena. Overall very good food, great wine (the only place in Bolsena we actually got a wine-cooler for the white wine). The first evening we had veal in balsamico and chocolate, and then a cheese platter. Second evening both had pasta and cheese platter. The food was really good for an Osteria (which is supposed to be a simpler place than a trattatoria or restaurant), and even though the service could have been faster it was great value for money, and a romantic atmosphere.

I recommend going for the house wine, the best house white wine I had in Bolsena.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reisende_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic home cooked wild boar ragu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Julia & Caesar made me so welcome after my 30k walk of LA via Francigena & couldn't wait to devour the amazing polenta & wild boar ragu, the house white was delicious too! They chatted to me patiently in Italian and I can't wait for the chance to return and eat the same meal all over again :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LysaWalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Francigena also viewed

Bolsena, Province of Viterbo
Bolsena, Province of Viterbo
 
Bolsena, Province of Viterbo
Bolsena, Province of Viterbo
 
Bolsena, Province of Viterbo
Bolsena, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Osteria La Francigena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing