We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night only. We wish it had been longer. Our room was clean and a reasonable size. It was certainly very quiet at night. It is just near the beautiful lake. The pool is just gorgeous. Breakfast was very good also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gm7hj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel was right on the shore of Lake Bolsena. The hotel was very nicely decorated and clean. The pool area was gorgeous. The pool was surrounded by hydrangea plants in full bloom with wonderful statues interspersed among the plants. The area was beautiful and well maintained. The hotel has free parking and actually wi-fi networks were abundant so there was no charge for usage. The city and restaurants were all in walking distance and it was an oasis of calm and beauty.

Room Tip: Facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had no reason to choose to go to Bolsena other than it is on a lake. What a find. Bolsena is a beautifully quaint town with a mix of medieval and provincale. The lake is gorgeous ad the hydrangeas in the gardens throughout the town are a sight to be seen. From the moment we saw the Hotel we knew we were going to love it. From the antique furniture to the welcoming staff it definitely lived up to it's 4 star rating. Our room had plenty of space to move around and store luggage, a pretty comfy bed for Italian standards and our window opened up to a front view of the lake and the tiny port. Breakfast was excellent and to top it all off the pool was immaculately kept. At 85Euro it was a bargin. Would definitely recommend at least 2 days in this hotel. We would like to go back for a week.

Room Tip: GO for the superior. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIRSTEN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

So peaceful yet busy. An active city, cycling, running And walking. Great history and activities. The hotel has a great pool, Aircon, on the water and fantastic value. A wonderful treat after terrible beds, staff are attentive and speak English.
Worth a drive to visit the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicaCino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We are just back from two days by Lake Bolsena, staying in the lovely Hotel Royal.
It was so relaxing we feel as though we have been away for a weeks holiday.
The Hotel Royal has the best position of all the Lake Bolsena hotels, it is situated right on the lakeside, yet only a few minutes walk into the historical centre of Bolsena town.
The staff could not be more polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Simone was especially kind, and he made us feel so very welcome that we have decided to return again in August.
The pool is gorgeous, I could happily have spent my whole trip swimming and sunbathing ( on the very comfortable sunbeds)
There are plenty of places to eat at the Lake and the Hotel itself had a very nice restaurant.
Breakfast was simple but ample, and the coffee was fabulous.
There is masses of secure, on site parking at the rear of the hotel
We look forward to our next trip

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for a superior double with balcony and lake view, you will not be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The town of Bolsena is one fantastic spot for summer time visitors. Located directly on Ledo di Bolsena this very well managed hotel has everything and more, - spacious and comfortable rooms with ample of closeting and storage space. They offer a good quality breakfast with extended morning hours.
The hotel’s free parking is spacious and provides for a gated security system, lovely swimming pool and very accommodating staff. We had an excellent stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.... There are plenty of camping activities on the lake.... It ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutch037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Royal in early June. Our room (#309) had a spectacular terrace looking out to the lake and was comfortable and well furnished. This is the hotel to stay at in Bolsena -- perfectly located and well run, with excellent rates, an ample breakfast buffet, free secure parking, a lovely outdoor pool, and very friendly staff. When we were there, summer crowds had not yet arrived, leaving this lovely gem of a lakeside town shining in the sun, with fountains and beautiful roses and jasmine and an inviting beach. We had two wonderful meals in the restaurants right on the water (especially at the Trattoria Da Guido -- an amazing fish antipasto and fresh lake fish), and just wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and lake view, if possible. Our room (#309), has a huge terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolsena
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#1 of 9 in Bolsena
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ai Platani Hotel
Ai Platani Hotel
#4 of 9 in Bolsena
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 9 in Bolsena
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lido
Hotel Restaurant Lido
#7 of 9 in Bolsena
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
#8 of 9 in Bolsena
71 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Urbano V
Hotel Urbano V
#1 of 2 in Montefiascone
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Piazzale Dante Alighieri 8/10, 01023 Bolsena, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Bolsena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Price Range: £79 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bolsena
Hotel Royal Bolsena, Italy - Province Of Viterbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing