We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now that's what we call a Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Now that's what we call a Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

There's not a lot wrong with the hotel really. The lounge could maybe do with another sofa and there are no doubt some who think that there should be pictures on the walls and maybe sun loungers will be over subscribed when the hotel is full but, on the whole, it is a pleasant enough building in a good state of repair and perpetually kept clean and tidy. Our bedroom - 201 - was of a good size with ample storage space and en suite facilities that could not be improved upon. By normal commercial standards a four star rating is probably about right but staying there is certainly a five star experience.

We had a room referred to as having a balcony with part lake view. This confused us a bit but then we learnt that it was only a "part view" because there was a tree in the way - there's honesty for you - though some might think, as we did, that the tree enhanced the view. The balcony is big enough to take a double bed and actually had a table and four chairs. There were three more rooms like ours, 202. 101 and 102.

The location of the room is superb as can be seen from the photos. There is a road between the hotel and the lake shore but is doesn't carry through traffic and is very quiet, particularly at night. Being on the lakeside means that there is about a fifteen minute slightly uphill walk to get to Bolsena town centre. However, there is an hourly bus service - excluding siesta time - from just outside the hotel. The return fare is 1 euro for a journey which has to be completed inside two hours. Alternatively the single fare is 75 cents. On the journey the bus soon gets very close to the town centre and then shoots of to do a tour of the neighbouring countryside which, at first, gave us concern that we were on the wrong bus - but we got there eventually.

Three people make up front of house staff. Mara and Ilaria look after reception and serve from the bar and assist in the restaurant while Edie is in charge of the restaurant and it seems takes care of anything else that needs to be done. Mara speaks adequate English but Ilaria is still on the learning curve. Edie speaks English fluently. Everyone we met on the staff was friendly, pleasant and helpful.

Given that the only thing hot at breakfast time was the water (you make your own tea or coffee) it's probably fair to regard breakfast as Continental. Even so it was far from basic. There was fresh fruit and tinned fruit, cereals, yoghurt, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, fruit juice and a selection of beads and pastries.

Dinner involved four courses with plenty of choice. As an example on our first night we started with "Rolls of ham with fresh cheese" followed by a choice of "Etruscan lasagna, Tagliolini with salmon, Cream of mushrooms or Salad with frankfurter and fried eggs". The main course was a choice of "Lamb cutlets, Fillet of perch, Eggs with mazzarella or Assorted cured meats". Desert would usually be sponge or pastry based and sometimes with cream. The main course was usually served with sauteed potatoes but there was always a substantial buffet of cold vegetables. All the portions were ample without being overpowering and the food was presented attractively. There was a good selection of mainly - as you would expect - Italian wines, most costing 15 euro but a few at 12 euro.

There is a very extensive menu available for lunch which we didn't try.

Because of it's location the hotel is very popular for wedding receptions so some slight disruption might have to be expected on these occasions - well, it seems not everybody loves an Italian wedding.

On our leaving day we overslept and cleared our bedroom with five minutes to spare before our transport was due. By this time the dining room was closed but, without being asked, the hotel insisted that we take a packed breakfast to eat on our way to the airport. As I said at the beginning, a five star experience.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms, they back onto the reception area for functions and, if there is one, put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Displaced-tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    64
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our comments are very similar to those expressed before; it seems that everyone is made to feel very welcome and special. Our Inghams holiday started with the usual crowds at Rome airport but our transfer to Bolsena went according to plan with Gala loading her bike onto the taxi at Viterbo en route to the hotel. On arrival it turned out we were the only English people in the hotel-in fact being very early in the season the hotel was far from full. However that gave us time to try out some rather basic Italian which caused some confusion and amusement. The staff were top class and cannot be praised highly enough. They were not only friendly and helpful but attended to every need promptly and cheerfully. By the end of our week we were quite sad to leave as it felt as if the staff had become good friends. The night porter was great too and the cleaner was first class with a tremendous smile. The weather varies quite a bit in Bolsena generally as the lake has its own micro climate so the first three days were wet and cold but the remainder of the week was hot with temperatures about 28 degrees. The location of the hotel is excellent being just across the road from the lake with minimal traffic going past. It is a short walk from the hotel to the town and the small harbour but well worth a trip into the old town with its medieval hillside layout. If you do not have transport of your own or are not using excursions laid on by your travel company be prepared to either walk (many very pleasant walks around the area eg via Francigena) or make use of the buses - but do check the time the last bus leaves your destination or you may have a long walk or expensive taxi fare...there is only one taxi in Bolsena apparently! Rome is about 100km or just over and can be reached either by an excursion or by local bus to Viterbo and then train into the city. Siena is about the same distance the other way but a bus trip would take two and a half hours each way; it can be done but why when you have so many beautiful historic cities much closer to Bolsena...Montefiascone, Viterbo, Aquapendente etc
For a holiday somewhat off the beaten track in a part of Italy not yet discovered by the English(please don't tell too many of them) Bolsena is the place to go and Hotel Holiday is the place to stay. Be prepared to try out some Italian!
Mille grazia to all the staff..you were absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: We had a side room overlooking the swimming pool which was not being used at this early part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

our stay at the holiday was our 6 visit.The service at the hotel is superb from the top to bottom.These people cannot do enough for you.The rooms are good ,with the front facing ,having a view which will live in your memory.I can reccomend you book direct with the owner signora masi as the best price lies there.

Room Tip: front facing best 102 101 201 202 although hard to book due to popularity
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I intended writing this review after we returned on the 16th July, however events overtook me. This was a wonderful holiday, the hotel and location were excellent and the staff could not do enough. At first we wondered about Bolsena town as it looked as though we could not get very far on public transport. However with th help of the Inghams tour guide we managed to get around on our own using buses and by walking. In fact we had more to do and were considering returning next year. The hotel has the best location and the balcony was great to sit on and look at the lake. The pool was good and the pretty gardens to relax in. The meals- a choice and a special diet catered for. Friendly, helpful and a holiday to remember. The Italy we love it really did tick all the boxes for a relaxing holiday. Edie and the two receptionists always chatted to us, offered helpful advice. Great

Sadly though we had looked at the photos my husband died in a road accident 5 days after we returned. It was already a special holiday now even more so and the staff at Holiday are to be congratulated on everything.

Room Tip: 1st floor front of hotel balcony over reception best view and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grottaferrata, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a room with a terrace overlooking the lake which was nice. The room itself was good, but nothing special. We paid 240 euro for 2 nights. Friendly staff at the reception. Normal breakfast. We did not have dinner there. Hotel doesn't accept AMEX. No wifi in rooms. Can be a bit noisy as the lake attracts many youngsters. Be aware of the 'zansare' which are numerous at a location like that. Bolsena is quite turistic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyre2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

... there are things that don't quite hit the spot. On the positive side the location of the lake front, the pool and the breakfasts are really good.

Its the little things that leave me dissatisfied and which a 4 star hotel shouldn't really get wrong. For example the TV has very poor reception (and according to the reception will be fixed next year when they get a new aerial) and the WiFi is charged for and only available in the reception area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

What a wonderful place Bolsena is. Hotel Holiday perfectly placed by the lakeside and convenient for the town of Bolsena. Hotel clean and friendly. Reception girls Mara and Iloria were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. In the restaurant Edie the waitress was a delight. She offered unobtrusive service in a quiet and serene way. Always there when needed with help and advice not only on the dishes on the menu but also on what there was to do in the resort. The wines on offer were excellent especially the white Est Est and the red local Merlot. We had a lovely relaxing holiday from June 4th to 15th 2011 made perfect by the brilliant staff at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor terrace good as are the balcony rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sewella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolsena hotels
0.4 mi away
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
Ludwig Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bolsena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ai Platani Hotel
Ai Platani Hotel
#6 of 9 in Bolsena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#2 of 9 in Bolsena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden sul Lago
Hotel Eden sul Lago
#4 of 9 in Bolsena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 9 in Bolsena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Naiadi
Hotel Le Naiadi
#5 of 9 in Bolsena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Property: Hotel Holiday
Address: Viale Armando Diaz 38, 01023 Bolsena, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Viterbo > Bolsena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bolsena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Bolsena
Hotel Holiday Bolsena, Italy - Province Of Viterbo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing