We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's the punta?”
Review of Hotel Della Punta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Della Punta
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bordighera
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“What's the punta?”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

If we were to return to the Italian Riviera there wouldn't be any other place we would want to stay. Our experience of hostelries over the years has been mixed however the della Punta is the one of the best. Room 205 is a clean spacious en suite with a big comfortable bed, good shower and the fridge is surprisingly reasonably priced. We arrived in a heatwave that had the locals complaining so the air-conditioning was invaluable and the most effective ceiling fan I've ever come across.

But I've left the best to last. The service is beyond compare. We never found out the Signore name as he was so busy, but what a charming host, couldn't do enough and indeed all the staff were polite and helpful. The continental breakfast is lovely and fresh and the coffee or tea is brought by the Signore to the table.

If you want a better view of the sea try 204 (I think) or the 3rd floor. The hotel is a star shape so you either get views of the sea or the mountains behind. It seems to be the norm in Italy but no tea or coffee is available in the rooms.

I would also like to recommend an eatery, the Pizzeria Restaurant Laguna Blu. Good food and attentive service (although the grilled meats for two was disappointing) everything else looked and tasted delicious. Cheaper because it's just behind the waterfront, turn right out of the hotel under the underpass and it's not more than a 10 minute walk at 116 Via Vittorio Emmanuelle on the corner of Via Generale Biamonti.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    36
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
42
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We returned to the Della Punta in November 2011 because our previous visit, about 5 years earlier, had been wonderful. As others have said, everything is tip-top at this hotel.I would especially like to comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner. For example, he insisted that, this being the rainy season, we take a hotel umbrella with us on our walks. Best of all, he fixed us breakfast at 6:30 (an hour ahead of schedule) when we told him we'd have to miss breakfast because we had an early train. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marydave_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We loved this hotel. Very clean, our room was spacious and everything was in working order (not always the case with hotels). Our stay here was really comfortable. Everyone at the hotel was friendly & helpful and we were just over the road from the beach. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We fled the Aplps maritimes early to escape a medicore chambre d'hote, and decided to go across the border to Italy, we found the hotel della Punta by chance, and were delighted we did, because our stay here really made our holiday. The location one step removed from the front line beach, beautiful spacous rooms, comfortable beds, fantastic welcome from the owner Gilio and his family made us wish we had more time to discover the delights of beautiful bordighera. Clean loftly rooms, with nice modern bathrooms, old italian tiles on the floors, funny old lift, quaint but spotless decor, amazing location by the sea and old town. Sept 09, 95E per night, lovely breakfast included , served on the terrace. English spoken.
We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordighera hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parigi
Hotel Parigi
#3 of 12 in Bordighera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Lido
Piccolo Lido
#5 of 12 in Bordighera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Elisa
Villa Elisa
#4 of 12 in Bordighera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel del Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#7 of 12 in Bordighera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bordighera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Della Punta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Della Punta

Property: Hotel Della Punta
Address: Via Belvedere San Ampelio 27, 18012 Bordighera, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Bordighera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bordighera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Della Punta 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel della Punta si affaccia sul belvedere di Capo Ampelio in posizione soleggiata e tranquilla all’inizio della passeggiata a mare; alle spalle i giardini di “Margherita di Savoia “ , accompagnano l’ospite verso Bordighera Alta.Le camere spaziose, dispongono di balcone, doccia, aria condizionata, telefono diretto, WI-FI free, TV SAT, cassaforte e frigobar.L’accogliente hall con terrazzo per colazioni ed il solarium attrezzato, completano gli spazi comuni. The Hotel della Punta overlooks the belvedere of Cape Ampelio and is located in a sunny and quiet position at the beginning of the seaside promenade. Behind the Hotel, the famous “Margherita di Savoia “ gardens accompany guests towards upper Bordighera.The spacious rooms, all with private bathrom and balcony, have air-conditioning, direct telephone line, Sat.TV, WI-FI free , safe and mini-bar.The tastefully furnished Hall and Reception, with its breakfast terrace, and fully equipped solarium, complete the Hotel ‘s amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Della Punta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing