We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian warmth”
Review of Piccolo Lido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piccolo Lido
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bordighera
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Italian warmth”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed here for a week in July 2014, and enjoyed it greatly. The owners evidently take pride in their hotel, and run it with charm & efficiency. No detail is overlooked, and the reception staff give good advice about exploring the Italian Riviera.

The location is perfect, situated 10 minutes' walk from the centre of Bordighera, and with restaurants & private beaches outside the door.

The underground garage was particularly useful, and something that many other properties lack.

I think the hotel is good for people seeking a more personal approach, with easy access to buses going to San Remo & Ventimiglia. The value is superior to similar quality hotels across the border in Menton, with the added benefit of Italian coffee and Italian charm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    90
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
120
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April 2014. We booked the hotel after reading reviews at Tripadvisor and we chose Bordighera following an article in a Swedish newspaper, describing it as an old fashioned Italian resort.
We had a de luxe room with sea view on the third floor with a half moon balcony overlooking the Mediterranean in 180 degrees. The room was newly renovated and very nice. The hotel is just a few meters away from the beach, with the strand promenade between. We slept with the french doors open listening to the waves going to sleep and wakening up. We had dinner all three nights at the hotel and found the food reasonably priced and good (Andrea, thanks for the rabbit meal). The staff was very helpful and serviceminded. The hotel has a small garage that can be booked, specially during high season.
Normal breakfast that can be had outside weather permitting.

Room Tip: De luxe sea view on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tjosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charente, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a friendly little place (except for one male receptionist who was very rude to my wife) and is in an idyllic spot right on the promenade of this charming town. Beds and pillows a bit hard but room spotless. Toiletries/tea coffee very basic. We stayed in January and the heating was more than adequate - in fact we had to turn it off. Breakfast varied and lots of choice but not exactly high-quality ingredients. I suppose 134€ a night including breakfast is not bad for the Riviera but still felt it a touch expensive for what it was. We didn't use the restaurant as the majority of the dishes were starred on the menu as being made of frozen food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glycine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a week in this hotel at the end of September. We chose a superior room with sea view and had a room right at the end of the hotel. Great views, superb terrace. Breakfast plentiful, hotel staff accommodating and friendly. Fantastic location as we could sleep with the doors to the terrace open and hear the sea. Great photographic opportunities both at sun up and sun down.

Room Tip: Choose top floor at the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreaterLondonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
373 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Wonderfully situated right at the beach in Bordighera, with such a nice and pleasant atmosphere. Pretty decoration and a terrific terrasse at the roof. Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. The staff ever so helpfull and friendly. Breakfast excellent, and you can take it on the terrasse, right in front of the sea. A place you want to go back to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
808 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked late so we could only get a room in the ground floor. But we had sea view anyway. I believe most, or all, rooms are with a sea view, and if you book from first floor and up it is also with a small balcony. the rooms are reasonable big and everything functions well and is in good shape.
The staff is helpfull and welcomes you very nicely. also they assist you witrh all questions you could have about Bordighera, which is a fantastic beautiful village with an old part worth a visit.
Breakfast buffet at the hotel is delicious and with great selections.
The hotel is "a hidden gem" - go there to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This gem is located right on the beach with awesome views all the way to Monte Carlo. We have stayed here many times, especially during the Monaco Gran Prix race. Prices are good, hotel is very clean, rooms are nice size, and the access to the Italian Riviera and the French Riviera is unbeatable. In fact there is a train station (Bordighera) that gets you into Monaco and Nice in about an hour...for less than 10Euro.

Parking is mostly free if you can find a spot. Sometimes it is difficult, but the hotel staff are very helpful. We have found the entire staff to be amazing, friendly, and welcoming. The top floor has been recently renovated and has the best views with private balconies. Worth the extra Euro's.

The town of Bordighera is small but has everything, including a really nice long water front promenade with excellent restaurants. Just up the hill is the old town. Very cute, small, and walled in. Several awesome restaurants here as well.

If you have a car, driving into France gets you to top sites and towns, like Cannes, Nice, Cap de Ferrat, and the hill towns of Vence, etc. This place is always a pleasure and worth going out of your way for a relaxing beach stop, or for a base to explore the Riviera.

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe Room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlyRosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordighera hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parigi
Hotel Parigi
#3 of 12 in Bordighera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel del Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Villa Elisa
Villa Elisa
#4 of 12 in Bordighera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#7 of 12 in Bordighera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Della Punta
Hotel Della Punta
#6 of 12 in Bordighera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bordighera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Lido

Property: Piccolo Lido
Address: Lungomare Argentina 2, 18012 Bordighera, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Bordighera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bordighera
#3 Family Hotel in Bordighera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piccolo Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Lido Bordighera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing