We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Osteria al Pescatore
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Brenzone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Small family run restaurant with amazing food and service. Set price and many courses which had fresh fish and the best fish and vegetable lasagne i have ever tasted. Father runs the restaurant with his wife who is the chef. His daughter is the waitress and there was another girl who spoke english and german. Food was fantastic and would definitly reccommend for anyone wanting fresh italian food. At the end of the evening the boss man spoke a few words to everyone, and he got it translated for us and he wished us a fantastic honeymoon. Great touch to the end of an amazing eveing. They made us feel so welcome and were so lovely, his wife also came out to greet us aswell. They make you feel like part of the family! if i ever visit Lake Garda again, i will be back here!
Just remember to book in advance as it is small place with about 30 something seating, it is closed on Mondays also.
A big thanks you to everyone there for making our evening a memorable one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    45
    5
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique personal ambience and location”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous meal - or rather meals - at the restaurant. The concept is simple but works. All fish and everything is local. Father and daughter serving, mother in the kitchen. We liked the idea of no menu and the resulting surprises in what is served when. Thank you for a wonderfull experience - we will be back :-)

Btw - take a look at the Goethe litteratur in the toilet. Maybe you as Goethe on his Italian journey will rediscover yourself when enjoying Livios e Rosarias hospitality and the sunset over Lake Garda...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Per_b_hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Terrific husband (Livio: wines and host), wife (Rosaria: chef par excellence) and daughter (waitress) team offering a generous portioned six course tasting menu with apperitif, local wines, grappa and coffee for 50 Euro. From the first glass of Prosecco to the orange limoncello digestiv everything was exceptional, locally caught fish, wonderful recipes and cooking, and delightful ambience in one of the very best restaurants in Brenzone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The owner of our B&B (Sarah of Tenuta La Pergola, Bardolino - see separate review) recommended this restaurant to us and called and booked the table for us. I'm happy we booked a table as the place is small, they only have 3 outdoor tables and the setting is so beautiful that you definitely want to be outdoors.
We speak virtually no Italian apart from a few phrases to get by with and the owners of this delightful place speak no English. Problem? Not at all! Livio and Rosaria, and their daughter, are such warm and welcoming people that there really is no language barrier.
There is no menu, the dishes are all prepared according to what the fishermen bring them from Lake Garda on the day. The food is so fresh and beautifully prepared, and plentiful too. It just kept coming! We had six courses of some of the best food we've ever eaten, my personal favourite being the "Bigoli al Pescatore" (Bigoli being a homemade spaghetti type of pasta, with a sauce of salted sardines) and my husband's being the "Lasagnetta di Cavedano" (chub lasagne).
The only reason I have the names of the dishes is that Livio brought one of their cookbooks to our table to show us what we were eating at every course! We, of course, bought the cookbook but can only hope to cook half as well as Rosaria! Translating from the cookbook was fun and a bit of an adventure, but one of the waitresses on the later shift does speak English so she helped us out too.
Very good value for money too - 2 aperitifs, a bottle of wine, 6 courses, 4 digestifs (Livio insisted!!!) all for Euro100 for 2 people
The setting, amazing. The food, sublime. The hosts, wonderful. We will never forget our dining experience at Osteria al Pescatore.
And the bathroom is a must see, creatively decorated for sure, and in a very good way!!!
Michele & Duncan x

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DandMvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria al Pescatore also viewed

 
Desenzano Del Garda, Province of Brescia
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria al Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing