We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant enough but not sure about the 4 stars”
Review of Hotel Ambasciatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Brescia
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“pleasant enough but not sure about the 4 stars”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights so we could watch all the events for the Mille Miglia. So, for the positives the hotel is very well maintained, spotlessly clean and staff all very helpful and friendly. It also has reasonable parking facilities.

We booked a larger room which I guess for a city centre hotel was reasonably sizeable - the bathroom was excellent. I think the main problem is the hotel is neither a beautiful old classical Italian place or modern so whilst it served its purpose for us there wasn't any particular wow factor or improved comfort. The room was pretty basic and lacking any mod cons. In particular, the room was absolutely airless with no air conditioning - we were lucky the weather wasn't any hotter and can imagine in the summer it would be quite uncomfortable. We were on the first floor and it was just too noisy outside to leave the windows open all night.

The hotel makes quite a lot of its restaurant facilities but we tried it one night and were the only ones there - and the meal was very average with my husband having to send his back (something he never does!) and if you are there at the weekend it doesn't even open. Again, all this would be fine but it is a good 15 minute walk back into Brescia to find somewhere else (there is a Sushi place around the back of the hotel).

I guess all in all we couldn't really see why the hotel has 4 stars - more like an excellent 2 or good 3 star. It served its purpose for us but if we return to Brescia we would probably stay somewhere closer to the centre for convenience or further out for some additional facilities. I think it is probably good for a night or 2 if you are there on business but perhaps not so much for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HambBrescia, Direttore at Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
Dear Sirs,

We would like to express our sincerest thanks for the observations you wrote on TripAdvisor regarding services at our hotel.

Anyway we would like to let you know that we do have air conditioning in each room, but as the temperatures were cool enough (as you wrote in your comment), it was turned off.

We apologize if the quality of our food wasn’t of your liking. For what concerning the evening you had dinner at our restaurant, there was few people because almost all our guests where at the Mille Miglia’s gala dinner.

Concerning your perception of our hotel category, we think your opinion is quite strict since we are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer.

Concluding, we would like to thank you again, confirming that comments from our guests are always welcome and we want to assure you that we will make good use of your observations.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    123
    52
    9
    1
See reviews for
57
95
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viterbo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2008

When I've to stay in Brescia for work, this hotel is my first choice. It's well positioned, just near the historic center of the city. The services are above average, the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and big enough to enjoy your stay. Another mention goes to the fantastic breakfast: a lot of different things, fresh and very tasty.

  • Liked — The position
  • Disliked — The prices
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EmBoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2006

My husband and I spent 5 days at this hotel and I must confess that the impression left is more than expected in the positive way of speaking.
The personnel of the hotel is very pleasant, highly professional, helpful and polite. We needed a lot of info regarding how to travel by train to Milan and Venice, and they were very helpful.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful, with a romantic atmosphere, perfectly for a newly wed couple.
We had a room at the 4th floor and it was nice, clean and tidy. No comments about the hotel services, all were exactly as are supposed to be. The room was cleaned on daily basis, with sheets and towels changing. No TV channels challenges.
The breakfast was ok in its variety. I enjoyed a lot the croissants.
Brescia is a very beautiful city and the hotel perfectly fits with the holiday atmosphere, with the cosy streets and pleasant people. History is discovered with every step in this city, quite fascinating.
We liked the staying a lot and our only regrets were that we did not have the chance to visit the castle nearby (it is closed on Mondays) and we had not enough time to visit more the rest of city.

  • Liked — Promptitude and kindness
  • Disliked — Nothing to subscribe here
  • Tips/Secrets — July 2006 was very hot in Brescia, I do not know if this is usual for Summer
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabbysugarlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2006

I traveled to Brescia for work and my husband was able to go with me. My work connections made the hotel arrangements and we were very pleased overall with the hotel. From the outside, it does not look particularly charming or inviting, but the inside is very cozy and clean. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the historic center of town (through a well-lighted and safe tunnel) and there is a convenient bus (Line 1) which has a stop directly in front of the hotel that will take you to the shops, restaurants and sights in 5 minutes. The hotel always had an English-speaking staff person at the front counter and they were always very helpful and friendly. The breakfast selection is fairly large and everything was fresh and tasty (fruits, cheeses, pastries, cereal, breads, juices, coffee/tea, preserved meats, etc.). The only complaint we have is that our room would get too warm during the night (it was a slightly chilly March). They were very willing to help us resolve the problem, but we weren't staying for many more nights and just decided to sleep with the window slightly open. Our double room was pretty spacious for a European hotel and the bathroom was large even by American standards, and was very clean and seemed to have been recently renovated. The room was quiet even though there was a fairly busy thoroughfare behind the hotel. The neighborhood immediately around the hotel felt very safe and clean--there were shops, restaurants, gelaterias and a food market.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimbabites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brescia hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Brescia 2
Novotel Brescia 2
#1 of 31 in Brescia
653 reviews
1.5 mi away
AC Hotel Brescia
AC Hotel Brescia
#2 of 31 in Brescia
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Master
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#11 of 31 in Brescia
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regal Hotel and Apartments
0.8 mi away
Albergo Orologio
Albergo Orologio
#7 of 31 in Brescia
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambasciatori

Property: Hotel Ambasciatori
Address: Via Crocifissa di Rosa 92, 25128 Brescia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Brescia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brescia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brescia
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brescia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brescia
#9 Business Hotel in Brescia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home, at Hotel AmbasciatoriThe pleasure of "welcoming" characterizes every single effort we do. Our purpose is to create a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere, where guests feel like at home. Hotel Ambasciatori is located in one of the most important areas of Brescia. The quiet position, at only 700 meters from the historical centre and Santa Giulia monastry (new Unesco site)characterize this hotel as a comfortable and elegant place, suitable for both working and tourist needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Brescia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing