We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience, year after year”
Review of Hotel Gruner Baum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gruner Baum
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bressanone
Certificate of Excellence
Suvereto, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great experience, year after year”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

It was our fourth time in this lovely hotel; as usual, we spent one full week there. A great location, very nice rooms, gorgeous meals, a spa with all you can dream of... everything adds up to the fact that we come back each year and we always look forward to next time. When, during dinner, we have been served by the owner in person, we understood (at least in part) how this is made possible.

Room Tip: We love the biohouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    224
    62
    18
    11
See reviews for
196
205
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I have visited this hotel with my family for skiing vacation if February 2013.
The hotel is a large one, it seems that over the years is has evolved "organically" by incorporating adjacent houses. There are at least 2 living sections and a very large spa/wellness area with an outdoor pool, sauna, etc. There is also a second swimming pool at the ground floor. You have to pay separately for the spa (at least we had with our ski-package), but the price is moderate 9 EUR/week/adult. There are also 2 children play rooms and a conference center. All this is connected by a complex system of stairs, walkways and corridors, some of them inside and some outside if the building - a nice thing to keep your children occupied during the evening :-) For an architecture-lover and style-purist this hotel may seem quite eclectic being a mixture of modern and rustic styles and decorated with numerous religious artifacts, but let's be honest - you don't come to South Tirol to admire hotel architecture :)

The food was very good - buffet breakfast with a wide choice; the late dinner was a positive surprise - a typical option for skiing vacation in a similar place is either a fixed menu each day or you have to decide in advance during breakfast; in Gruener Baum we were presented with a cold buffet and a choice: of hot starters, soup (or something similar) and the main courses. For the drinks you have to pay separately of course.

WiFi/Internet access: this was a bit of a downturn - WiFi is free but the signal strength is not very good, especially in the rooms at the end of the corridor (which, unfortunately was our case). The connection was frequently dropped and I had to re-log via the captive portal every few minutes. Eventually I discovered an optimal point in the room where the reception was more-or-less acceptable.

Skiing facilities: there is a ski room at the basement and the ski-bus stop is just outside the hotel (it goes approx 20 minutes to Plose station).

It is also worth mentioning that the location is excellent: it is just across the river from the old city (BTW quite charming) and quite near-by is the public swimming-park (admitance is free with a Brixen card).

In general - we had a very nice stay and I would be happy to return to GB hotel in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjbli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is a very nice hotel, across the river from the beautiful centre of Bressanone. We've been going to this hotel almost every year for over 20 years, in connection with a scientific conference that I attend. The rooms are various shapes and sizes since the hotel is really a collection of different buildings joined together. All are good, the best are probably in the new wing, "Biohouse". This year we stayed in a large room in the main section - and very nice it was too. The housekeeping has always been immaculate. There's a good sauna and steam room (nudity is obligatory), with a room to sleep off the effects. Last year they added a new wing to the Wellness Centre - with an in-out swimming pool to add to the indoor and outdoor pools they already have. This year, they have added free wi-fi in the rooms and the rest of the hotel. This is a big improvement on the previous expensive system that needed an ethernet connection.
The food is good, generally, with a new large buffet selection of antipasti and desserts. The wine-list is OK, but they don't seem to object if you bring your own. There's a wide choice for breakfast, but no short order. Best to order coffee from the waiting staff.
There's a bus-stop just outside to take you to the Plose ski area 20 minutes away.
A friend with a new baby was given a room just above the restaurant so the baby-mike would work while the parents were eating. (Though the baby seemed to be with them for most meals).
You pay extra for parking, but this is not a luxury: parking is difficult and/or expensive in bressanone, and being inside your car is protected from the elements.

Room Tip: Biohouse is probably best, but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel is located in front of Mountains which are snow clad in winter season. If you get a room facing the main road, you will get a good view of mountains in the morning. The bathroom are of international standard. For parking of vehicle, one may have to go to the nearest building of same hotel. The market is just few feet across the bridge facing the hotels other building.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ominvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived early in the afternoon at around 1:00 PM, our rooms were not yet ready, but the staff handled the check in formalities and left our bags at the desk.
If you arrive by car or as we did motorcycle, it is better to park on the street and take the short walk down the slope to the hotel.
There is some parking by the hotel door but it is a very tight turn and difficult to turn around to get back out.
After check in the staff will then direct you to their parking garage which allows access to the hotel.
We had booked two single rooms, they were the smallest rooms I have seen in a long time.
The bed was a single and the hardest I have ever encountered. It felt like a wood block with a blanket on it.
The location of the hotell is ideal, a short walk across the bridge to the pedestrian only area of Bressanone (Brixen)
The breafast buffet was excellent with a good choice of food. It was well prepared and presented. The staff in the breakfast room were excellent ensuring that the food was restocked as necessary and that guests got their coffee, tea or beverage of their choice. As with many hotels, there was a coffee machine in the dining room to make latte, esspresso etc.
The breakfast rooms can be busy if the hotel is full, however, they have several rooms which surround the buffet area, this makes each room more cozy and prevents the cafeteria look.

There is only one elevator so at busy times the wait can be frustrating.


Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Biker-Norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. But for us was quite disappointing. The hotel is clean,the room we were, in the green house, spacious and with a nice terrace(at a price anyway!). And housekeeping was outstanding. The same can be said about the swimming pools when no children do what they want desides the rules. But those who are thinking in choosing this hotel for their stay should know in my opinion that
a) Reception is nonexistent (except for paying the bill). No information about where is the room, the garage or breakfast or dinner hours. Nothing if not asked. And the way can be not an easy one.
b) Common areas are too small for the size of the hotel which has severals buildings. Neither the dining room or the pool area, payment required without wellness card, or the garage are the size needed for the the hotel. And for us the last thing one expects to find in holidays is trouble finding a parking space (45€ the week) or to find a free table (which for some guests can be book for breakfast and for some not). We stayed for a week an each evening we have to change the table besides the policy they have to seat always in the same. Food was acceptable but scarce in some items if you like to have dinner after 20.15 (i.e.near 9PM when service ends).
c) We had in the room of the above floor a family with young children. It was a torment because their runs were perfectly audible. And annoying!! Specially early morning and at night.
So I doubt we will be back besides so many good reviews. Perhaps there is no best options in Bressannone/Brixen but there are better places in Alto Adige.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver b.c.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked into this hotel and town at the last minute and what a find they both are!! The hotel is great as was the staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is filled with amenities and the breakfast room was fabulous. The location could not be better. The hotel is situated directly adjacent to the pedestrian bridge into the old town which is filled with lovely shops and restaurants. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer in this beautiful little town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouvertraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bressanone
0.4 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#2 of 34 in Bressanone
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pupp
Hotel Pupp
#1 of 34 in Bressanone
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine City Wellness Hotel Dominik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Steindls Boutiquehotel
Steindls Boutiquehotel
#1 of 18 in Vipiteno
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fernblick
Hotel Fernblick
#17 of 34 in Bressanone
40 reviews
23.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruner Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruner Baum

Property: Hotel Gruner Baum
Address: Via Stufles 11, 39042, Bressanone, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bressanone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bressanone
#4 Family Hotel in Bressanone
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bressanone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gruner Baum 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gruner Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Bressanone
Best Western Bressanone
Bressanone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing