We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Florence, but out in the country.”
Review of Hotel La Selva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Selva
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A nice, quiet place out in the country, but only 40 minutes from Florence. Several good restaurants within 5 km each way. Nice rooms, some with airy balconies. Nice staff.
Negatives: a couple of dangerous steps to watch out for, a bit of freeway noise in the distance, and it can get noisy on the patio and around the entrance. Outside lights are on all night. If you like tea bring your own, as they only have green tea. No cappuchino was available. I liked it, my wife didn't.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room. Remember that the outside lights will be on all night, bright enough read by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

The staff wandered about aimlessly, seemingly unable to so much as dim the blinding lights on each balcony (there is no switch in the room). Staff slammed doors everywhere with vigor and enthusiasm--much the same way Italians use their horns in traffic--and there appears to be no soundproofing in the building.

There is a freeway bridge spanning the canyon directly overhead, and the truck noise is particularly loud.

Guests gather under the first floor balconies and socialize loudly. Probably best to avoid rooms with balcony for this reason.

The in-room wifi is feeble at best. Sometimes works on the balcony, but is most reliable next to stairwell. There are large ants on the balcony, though; I do not think they mop the area often.

Bath on room 72 has a 4" step UP. It is not marked or delineated in any way. I fell over it at night and bloodied both arms and my knees. Since the kitchen was closed, I knew the staff would have no ice (and probably would not understand the use of ice anyhow), so I just used what bandages I had brought. Be aware of uneven flooring here.

The place is generally clean if kind of spartan (three hangers in closet), so if you are desperate for lodging--and have good earplugs--it is probably better than sleeping beside the road.

Watch the umarked steps, though.

Room Tip: Balconies with possibility for socializing underneath should be avoided. If good internet is imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohtryit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had a wonderful room with views of the hills - stopped as we drove in from Verona. Then the next morning drove to SEATO florentino ( ten minutes ) train station to make a day trip,to Florence. A lovely way to see the city without the hassle ( and free parking )

Hotel is very clean, wonderfully stylish and has lovely coffee, breakfast. The views are amazing. The staff, including Carlos, we're incredibly helpful and warm. There are even shelves full of love,y art books !

Our room had a large balcony and the restaurant does a simple menu del dia. A lovely spot to really enjoy Tuscany.

Room Tip: Balconies on south side are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We only stayed 1 night in this hotel, on our way to south Italy. I can absolutely recommend this hotel. We had a spacious room with a nice balcony. The room was basic but stylish decorated. The bathroom was also large and all very clean. Breakfast was perfect and the front desk people were very friendly.
We had diner in the restaurant which had a good atmosphere. The food was fine.
The hotel can be a good base for sightseeing this part of Tuscany. But you need a car.

For visiting Florence, here is our tip: The best you can do is drive to Galluzzo. That is only 23 km from the hotel. There you find a big parking lot for free parking and then take the bus to the old centre. Don't forget to buy tickets at the Tabacchi before you get the bus!

So, this hotel has good quality and is worth the money, without any doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabbeDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is quite small and the rooms are as well and it's located quite far from Florence, but it's a place where you can actually breath in the hot summer months. The prices are fair compared to Florence, you can skip breakfast if you can, it's all sweets. There is a nice pond where you can swim in the direction opposite to Florence, pebbly beach with deck chairs which is nice if you want to cool off. All in all, it's worth a few days stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prettypink76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We had seen this hotel on the internet and by the sound and look of it , we really wanted this to be the hotel to stay in Florence. We did not book but just turned up. It was booked out but we were allowed to have a quadruple room for 5 people and it was very comfortable. The hotel did not disappoint our expectations. It was in the hinterland which was absolutely beautiful. It really felt like we were in Tuscany. Everything was great from the rooms to the service and the breakfast. When we left we were also given little sample packs of olive oil products which was a lovely gesture. This hotel is really only suitable if you are driving because otherwise it would be difficult to get to but very worth considering it as your hotel if going to Florence by car. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelone4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

After a very long evening drive from Venice to La Selva, getting rather lost as soon as we left the motorway. Had some terrifying driving around the hills to get to the hotel at night where although the speed limit is 70km/h there are extremely sharp bends which are not seen at night. No cats eyes anywhere needed it seems in Italy! I recommend that you get to the hotel during the day, or that you go at the very maximum 40km/h to get there from the motorway. Long straights followed by extremely sharp bends without warning.

Arriving just before midnight local time, we were glad to find the hotel still open and waiting for our arrival. The lady at the desk was very pleasant and very polite. Seemed very happy to welcome us to La Selva, with big smiles despite the late hour. We were even offered food, and drinks. The room was spacious, clean and simply decorated. We had a rather nice balcony and a very clean bathroom. As we were quite exhausted we collapsed in bed to awake to beautiful weather and stunning views of the mountains.

Breakfast was really lovely, with cakes, croissants, pain au chocolat, tea, coffee & hot chocolate made on demand, a series of cereals, toasts and cold meats buffet were lovely. Many fresh fruit and fruit salads. All the food seemed fresh and tasted very good. The only demand would have been freshly pressed orange juice, and cold milk for the cereals.

The restaurant downstairs was absolutely delicious, filled with all local dishes and meats cooked to perfection, had a lovely pasta dish followed by a delicious beef salad. So fresh, so well cooked, such great aromas. Desert menu was a little short, but very good nonetheless.

Although the website states that the hotel is 30 minutes from Florence, it actually is closer to 45 minutes away - going on to an hour depending on traffic. Although reception was very good at letting us know where to park for free and which roads to take to get there quickest.

The only downside to the hotel was the noise insulation from other rooms, we could hear other people having showers and using the toilet. The fan in the bathroom was quite loud. And the lack of air conditioning - although a fan is provided, it doesn't quite do the same as air conditioning. A swimming pool would be a fantastic addition - it seemed as though part of the back of the hotel was made to host a swimming pool although never actually constructed which is a real shame.

Amenities were provided to expectations and replaced gladly by the management. Very simple hotel, decoration was extremely simple, but made the room feel bigger.

All in all, very pleased with our stay - very good value for money and just plainly lovely.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the steep incline to the hotel, cool in the morning, and just about right in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex15_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzano
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Country Hotel
Meridiana Country Hotel
#1 of 8 in Calenzano
410 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
550 reviews
4.0 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Valmarina
Hotel Valmarina
#5 of 8 in Calenzano
91 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Barberino
Hotel Barberino
#4 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
129 reviews
6.6 mi away
Demidoff Country Resort
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Selva

Address: Via di Barberino 221 | Località Pontenuovo, 50041, Calenzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range: £37 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Selva 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Selva Province Of Florence/Calenzano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing