We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort hotel, but perfectly adequate”
Review of Hotel First

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel First
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a resort hotel, but perfectly adequate”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a double-room for three nights. It is indeed a short drive from Florence (about 10-15 minutes). We used it as a base to drive from.
Parking can be tight on busy nights, but I never had a problem finding a spot for the night.
The room is basic but comfortable. The bed very comfortable and (importantly for a tall person) no foot-board. The windows are large and open fully which makes a change. the aircon is powerful. The blackout curtains are very think and thankfully cut out all light. The shower is one of the strongest I've enjoyed. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly. The pool and pool-side bar looked great, though we never had time to use them
The only gripe possibly is the door/inside wall are too thin and you get too much noise from the corridor on busy days
Italian 4-star seem quite different from a 4-star in, say, Bangkok / Sharm-el-Sheikh which are palatial by comparison, but this does the job, is clean and affordable (which means you spend more of your money on the car / excursions), and after reading the reviews, I was happily surprised

Room Tip: Head into the local town (Via Vittorio Emanuelle) for the best fresh bread / pastries and coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hassan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlfirst, Direttore at Hotel First, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Google Translation
Gentile ospite,
grazie per aver lasciato la sua recensione, così dettagliata e circostanziata e grazie per averci scelti.
Un cordiale saluto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    122
    164
    108
    59
See reviews for
71
146
13
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed 1 Night in a Twin Bed room. Wifi in the room is very weak, suggest to go hotel lobby for wifi .There is a carrefour beside the hotel which I think closed at 9pm. Room is ok. The lift is super small. This lift works quite special in a way that we need to manually open the lift door, press the lift button before the inner lift door can close. Quite vintage. Overall, this is more of a 3 star hotel. But I like this hotel because a mega supermarket is just next to it, purchase local tomatos from carrefour and it is tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoyuE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htlfirst, Direttore at Hotel First, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Google Translation
Buonasera,
grazie per la sua recensione. Come giustamente fa notare il nostro Hotel, essendo ubicato alle porte di Firenze e in zona commerciale, offre nei paraggi la possibilità di trovare supermercati, centri commerciali, aziende, ecc.
CI auguriamo di poterla presto nuovamente presto ospitare
Distinti saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have never been so disrespected by a staff member in all my traveling experiences. The so called "manager" of the hotel, Alessio, was the rudest person I've ever had the displeasure of dealing with. The room was clean, the hotel itself was nice, but I was yelled at and overall treated horribly by a man that clearly hates his job. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortaD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calenzano hotels

1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for a few nights last month, and didn't have the best time. The rooms are clean, but the toilet didn't work properly and needed help to flush, the handrails fell off the second we pulled a towel off, and the air conditioning didn't work at all -- it probably should have, given the noise it still made. There was also some mildew in the shower, the wifi in the rooms is very intermittent, and the signal is weak at the best of times. The mattresses are also quite hard.

There is a sign saying there is a fitness centre, but we found out there wasn't one when we asked Reception. Perhaps the sign being in Italian was misleading!

We weren't told what time the breakfast buffet ended, but staff began clearing it up at 10am, regardless of whether we had finished eating or not. This is also, inconveniently (for us at least), the same time they choose to start cleaning the rooms.

We had an issue at check-out as to whether or not we had prepaid for our rooms or just put down a deposit, as the manager was alleging. She was rude, obtuse and repeatedly interrupted us when we were asking questions to try and get to the bottom of the issue, even raising her voice at times. This wasn't down to a language barrier, as she spoke excellent English. She was unaccommodating and completely unprofessional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

i am not sure when, where or how they photoshop the pictures of the hotel, but it looks nothing like what you see in in the photos. in addition, i am no longer able to rely upon the star rating system w/ this site if this place is able to obtain anything higher than 1 star. this place was sooo bad, i scarcely know where to begin. we checked during the day and the outside was pretty sketchy, but close to the highway. the lobby was quite dirty and dingy. the hallway walls are full of stains. the elevator was built during the dark ages and can only fit, literally, one person and maybe one luggage. the rooms had filthy carpet, air conditioning did not work, bed was rock hard w/ no springs. there was certain body part hair on the sheets when i checked and it was not my own. the bathroom was full of mildew on walls, toilets had no seats on them and forget any chance of clean towels. the outside pool was green and the grounds did not looked barren. we tried to switch and saw 3 other rooms and the story was quite similar. there is no wifi in the rooms. you can get slow wifi if you are willing to sit in the hot and dirty lobby. we were stuck because we were so tired. the part that sent me over the edge was when we drove back to the hotel at night. we discovered the hotel was within walking distance to the street where "ladies of the night" were walking and there was plenty of car traffic due to this activity. it was so bad! i did not sleep a wink all night because of the dirty bed. i only sat on the bed because i placed new sheets on top of the others and sat up the entire night. the breakfast the next morning really, really bad w/ dirty glasses and plates. naturally, i told the manager on duty about my experience at her hotel. she begged me to not post a negative review on tripadvisor. i had considered not doing it because she was nice. but, i decided it was more important to warn other travelers and avoid the same mistake we made. we were on our 2nd honeymoon and this place really ruined it. we were only trying to avoid the driving and parking restrictions we had heard about Firenze. therefore, we stayed outside the city limit and this place was chosen based on availability, decent pictures and good reviews. i and many others can tell you the rating for this hotel is completely wrong. i am not sure how anyone can write something positive about this hotel and not try and help other travelers to avoid a bad situation. if there had been even good thing out of this experience, we would have shared it. stay at your own risk!

Room Tip: there isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel has not been maintained at all. Pool closed. Grass Not mowed. Staff were rude and unhelpful. Worst experience in Italy!

I cannot believe this is shown as a 4 star. I have travelled all over the world and believe this would struggle to be A 2 star.

Wifi was rubbish and intermittent

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonsimez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I paid the money but I don't get any good service from this hotel.

Firstly, Service is worst.
I ask for hot water but they refuse, ignore my request and expect us without drinking any water for the whole day.

Secondly, They give us a feeling of RACIST.
During breakfast time, they separate between Asian and Europeans. Whats more, they provide unequal proportion of food and different attitude between Asian and Europeans.

Thirdly, Customer service and mental attitude is BAD.
One of my friends ask the staff :" Where should I put the keys?" and the staff answer her with yelling and fierce attitude.

Oh my god... Are we paying for accepting the "challenge"?
We paid and we were being "SERVICE" like "4 star **** " and treated like BEGGAR.
I swear I won't stay in that hotel anymore and it gives us a unforgettable memories and experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TandFview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzano
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#4 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valmarina
Hotel Valmarina
#5 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Selva
Hotel La Selva
#3 of 8 in Calenzano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meridiana Country Hotel
Meridiana Country Hotel
#1 of 8 in Calenzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
#1 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel First

Property: Hotel First
Address: Via Dino Ciolli 5, 50041, Calenzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel First 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1st
First Hotel Calenzano
Hotel First Province Of Florence/Calenzano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing