We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meridiana Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2012

On our European trip we also visited Florence. As I am not one for driving in strange cities, I tried to find a Hotel not too far away but with access by public transport into the City itself. With luck I stumbled on Meridiana Country Hotel. My SatNav gave me some problems finding this Hotel, but it was worth looking for. The hotel was very clean and the room, which was at the back of the Hotel was very quiet. The Hotel is built in true Tuscany style with two courtyards. Every room has either a balcony or a small garden. The room was large and very modern. The concierge doubled up as barman so there was never a problem with getting anything to drink. There is no "restaurant" at the Hotel itself but this problem is easily solved as on the opposite side of the road is a small restaurant. Breakfast at the Hotel was plentiful and there was something for everybody.
To all going to Florence I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here to spectate the Mille Miglia on the Futa Pass which is a few miles away. The Meridiane is located on a beautiful pass with enjoyable driving roads and nice views. The hotel itself is quite new, and each room has a small garedn with a lawn and chairs to sit out and enjoy the weather.
It is very clean, comfortable beds, helpful friendly staff and not expensive. Overall I recommend the hotel for anyone staying in Northrern Tuscany.

Room Tip: All seemed similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We didn't want to stay in the middle of Florence because on a 4 day stay and a lot to pack in the last thing we needed was to be struggling in and out of the city.
The hotel is about 8 miles out, right on the road side. The rooms all look in towards a small garden area - not spectacular and can be a little too close to the neighbour if you have a corner room.
The room itself was a reasonable size, very clean and comfortable, but the lack of facilities let them down to some extent. There are no tea or coffee making facilities, the Sky TV has a small lcd, probably 17" at most, that seems a bit out of place in the current age of giant screens. There were no programmes in English either, so it was of little use even for an hour chilling or catching up with the news before going out in the evening.
The bathroom was very clean, but the showers were a little bit on the small side and given the size of the rooms, could easily have been a 1200 x 800 instead of an 800 x 800 quadrant - a bath would have been even better.
All of the staff were incredibly polite and helpful and the breakfast while not being spectacular was typical European fare.

rhuthwaite's review, I think is unfair and misleading. Unruly children are not the fault of the hotel, but of inconsiderate and incompetent parents. The hotel was exceptionally clean, so maybe his/her glasses need cleaning. Rat run? Saw no evidence at all of that. The hotel is in a 50kph zone and not once in 4 days did I have to dodge any traffic either leaving or returning to the hotel. The road was really very quiet most of the time. No doubt there are the usual peak times, but I wasn't in a rush to get out into morning traffic!
The Italians ARE very impatient and aggressive drivers and will try and overtake in the most ridiculous circumstances, but that's nothing to do with the hotel either.
All in all, very good value and on balance I would recommend it on the proviso that it would be pointless staying there without having a car.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is really a small hotel for business use rather than holidays.
Ther are few staff, the bar is not manned and cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired.
it is about 5 miles from Calenzano and is sited on a fast bend in what is a rat run in the morning and evenings.
It is not ,in truth, part of real Tuscany so if your want to tour the historic walled towns and vineyards you should go south of Florence.
The restaurant opposite the hotel is or appears to be run by the same team. It was very good and the menu and wine choice were spot on. Sadly our second visit was spoiled by a large and noisy party with uncontolled children running amok.The management failed to deal with this .

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size. First floor rear away from the road wouls be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhuthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at Meridiana for 5 days in April 2012. A little difficult to find (of course you need a car), even with a satnav (the address not shows and i have tried 3 different ones), but after that it was the perfect base for us for out visit to Tuscany. Also there is a bus passing about 100m from the hotel that takes you in the center Florece, so do you don't have to worry about parking there. Very good breakfast (hot and cold choice) and extremely good cappuccino!! Very kind and helpfull personel. Free sauna that can be prepared on demand. The room was big, clean and quiet (except of some roosters shouting around , but ok, you're in the country). Also there are some nice restaurants nearby. Definitely i'll stay there again when i make my next visit to Tuscany

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boumako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This place would be difficult to get to without a car and a satnav, but with those two it's not a problem. The staff spoke fairly limited English but were friendly enough, and the restaurant across the road was a nice place for a convenient dinner. The rooms are modern and clean- overall very good value.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is located in the meddle of nowhere, so that it's absolutely not suitable choice if you want to visit Florence and see attractions (and it's not possible to stay there without a car), while in the same if you are looking for smth to relax, it's a perfect decision. The hotel is in hills with tuscan trees around. All rooms have an entrance out (not in the hall). Our room was quite modern and nice, but nothing special. We used a sauna, it was too late and staff showed how to switch it on specially for our personal use. Free parking is available. The only weakness I could remember, the breakfast. Very poor selection of cold meal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cestovatel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzano
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Selva
Hotel La Selva
#3 of 8 in Calenzano
281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
565 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#4 of 8 in Calenzano
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
293 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Villetta
Hotel La Villetta
#2 of 8 in Calenzano
101 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel 500 Firenze
Hotel 500 Firenze
#2 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridiana Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridiana Country Hotel

Address: Via di Barberino 253, 50041, Calenzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range: £51 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meridiana Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Meridiana Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Country Calenzano
Hotel Meridiana Country
Meridiana Country Hotel Province Of Florence/Calenzano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing