We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal Over Christmas Holiday Week”
Review of Hotel Dolomiti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dolomiti
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Deal Over Christmas Holiday Week”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I travelled with tour operator Inghams on a late cheap deal to this hotel over the Christmas holiday break and for the money paid overall a very good week and most enjoyable. All staff were very courteous and help full if asked regarding anything at all times, there were a few little anomalies (charge for sauna and reduction for drinks at bar) however these minor issues were sorted out with the help of my tour rep. I had a small room in annex to rear of hotel that was fine for a single traveller. The bar below was not that busy during my stay so was not disturbed at night over the time I spent in the hotel. The boot and ski room was quite small but adequate, I kept my ski boots in my room over night to ensure they dried out. The spa was also quite small, particularly the Jacuzzi for the size of hotel and busy at peak times but good quality and fairly new. The food in restaurant I ate in (there are 2) was fine for the money paid and as noted by others the breakfast was also good with plenty of choice but not anywhere near 4 star. The hotel is in a very central location for the town and buses etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    101
    66
    44
    20
See reviews for
137
82
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've been several times in this valley and any time I was surprised at how much everybody cares about their guests. This place was poorly kept and not worth the 4 stars and the price attached to it. Usually, in the Alps, where pure luxury does not kick in (and at 4stars it should) a lot of local mountain traditions and details fill up the gaps and give you a feeling of homeliness. NO WHATSOEVER SENSE OF BEING AT HOME here (sure not MY home ;-). Service was very below standards. Food was barely acceptable and even the forms to make your menu choice were so graphically unfit to freeze your appetite. Appetizers were put on show over old furniture and with no style. The bar was open on the street and also a Pizzeria so that if one went for a coffee or drink after dinner you had to fight for attention with party goers. Room fridge was EMPTY!
Only bright initiative I noted as positive was that, after several difficulties in connecting to WiFi they made it 'open' to avoid further struggle. Personnel was generally unprepared and not local, not even the management, such as you would find in any motel outside big cities. THE WELLNESS center was simply ridiculous... in proportion to the number of rooms and for the equipment. Children were squishing in the hot tub that was a self standing item you could buy for your basement in a rural home with no stairs to get in or out. CANAZEI is wonderful but they should enforce quality levels more forcefully.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlavioSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

we stayed in this hotel with my family and we got two standard room. Rooms would be ok but the blankets are very old and smells badly! We also find an intimate hair on towels and toilets wasn't cleaned good. Parents had a room on the corner which had a lot of windows and this room was so cold and one radiator did not help. Hotel is nice at outside, but inside is old. For skiing you have to walk 10-15 minutes to gondola or wait for a ski bus.
Dinner (we payed in advance for breakfast and for dinner) and it was bad! You always get for dinner an appetizer and than two main courses. The quality of the food was ok for 2 stars hotel but definitely not for a 4 stars hotel. I also have to mention that almost all food was served cold and if you want to get some selfservice salat you had to be first at the dinner as when the other guests eat all salat the staff didn't get you a new one. Even the hotel has a restaurant for outside guests, they don't make effort enough for guests that payed in advance for good food.
Breakfast were ok but only cold one . For a hot breakfast they only had baked eggs. In those 4 days we only could ate warm eggs and two different salami.
Ofcourse we wasn't satisfied with this hotel and don't recommend it and will never come back.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We did book this hotel, but were placed here as it is part of the chain of the hotel we did book. Although we did enjoy our skiing holiday a lot, we will not book this hotel next time. The staff is generally friendly and helpful. For some reason, however, the owner of the property thinks that a hotel goes very well together with a pub and disco. Well, it does not add to the quality of your sleep, to say the least. If you're lucky, you can get a room that is relatively quiet. Bit if you're not, you will be experiencing loud disco music and drunk disco people outside your window until about 3am.
The sauna is nice. Although it is forbidden to be naked, it does add to the experience of the hotel. It is not big, but there are good hot sauna's and a Turkish steambath. Then there are pleasant and colored showers to cool down. And there is a big jacuzi and a room with beds to relax.
Breakfast is ok, but not great and defintely lacks fresh food and healthy ingredients. Dinner is good. Pleanty of dishes to choose from and, although some of them are somewhat simple and basic, mostly they are of decent quality. Altogether, no 4 stars for this hotel though!

Room Tip: Stay away from the disco, that is the Keiserkeller. Stube is slighly better, but can still be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksdijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I understand we was't put in one of the nicer room due to we traveled with Slopetrotters jokerhotel but when staying at a 4 star hotel you expect high class facilites not a room with barely no windows. Food is ok for your average european ski resort hotel but for a 4 star hotel you expect a little more variation on your breakfast selection and fresh ingrediens for dinner.
Other than that the location being in the center of Canazie only 10 minutes walking from the Pecol lift that will take you to the huge Ski area Superski Dolimities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritzov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great week in a truly Italian hotel. We had a great room clean and spacious. The breakfast is plentiful, as a coffee lover , it could have been better, but on the whole good . Agree with previous review evening meal too extensive and far too much food every night for us but quality of food good. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The ski boot/ski room was good and perfectly adequate. Great location for main access to Sella Ronda at Belvedere Gondala. The ski bus system is good and easy to access. Wifi in hotel hit and miss but we are in a remote area so not a problem for us. On the whole I would seriously recommend this hotel and location for a beautiful skiing holiday in the Dolomites

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperfields1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Nice location close to ski busses downtown Canazei.

Cleaning of room not satisfying at arrival. Got better during the week though. Had to ask reception for big towels as the cleaning personel forgot to leave any after removing the dirty ones.

Breakfast: Instant coffee, juice from concentrate, lukewarm tea water, only dry white bread with poor selection of cheese, meat and egg. Cake and fruit salad were clearly leftovers from yesterday. Fresh oranges were good though.

Dinner: Generally not very tasty, too many items on the menu. Serving was slow and not very accommodating in general.

Impossible to get a cup of coffee for the dessert or a beer in the lounge area eventhough they had a bar.

Not enough room for ski boots in ski room.

Bar downstairs in the basement was nice and cosy, nice serving and had happy hour half price every day from 17-18.

This hotel could really learn something from a visit by Gordon Ramsey!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne230031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
1.3 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla Wellness & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#11 of 51 in Canazei
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#13 of 51 in Canazei
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#42 of 51 in Canazei
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolomiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolomiti

Property: Hotel Dolomiti
Address: Strada Dolomites 80, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dolomiti 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dolomiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomiti Hotel Canazei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing