We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good food, great position”
Review of Hotel Dolomiti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dolomiti
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Tunbridge Wells
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value, good food, great position”
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Stayed at the Dolomiti, having been in a chalet in the same resort last year. The hotel is slightly old fashioned, and the check-in/reception staff leave a little to be desired, but overall the experience was very positive. Room was airy & large (despite being in the attic space), and was kept at a comfortable temperature. The food was good & plentiful, with sufficient scope to eat at a time to suit you (big improvement on a catered chalet) and very reasonably priced drinks (good wine @ 12.50 Euro). particularly appreciated (& good value @ 19Euro each) was use of a modern & well equipped spa area, which was very welcome after a hard days skiing. Only downside for us was the inadequate number of bootwarmers (45 for a large hotel is simply not enough) and the cramped nature of the ski changing area.
All in all a very positive experience in a well placed hotel in what is now one of our favourite resorts.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LangtonCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    101
    66
    44
    20
See reviews for
137
82
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had a week in Hotel Dolimiti on a skiing package, maybe a bit old world but a lovely hotel, great character, spacious rooms and excellent staff. I had an accident and had to stay on for an extra 5 nights while my return was organised, the hotel was fully booked but yet they accommodated me without any fuss, they were absolutely fantastic, a friend who flew out to help me was accommodated in the hotel and they helped us in every way they could. The reception staff were kept busy with endless phone calls for us, the restaurant staff brought meals to our room every evening and the accommodation staff worked around me in servicing the room. They were the most obliging , caring and friendly staff I have come across in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BH408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Unfortunately there were no trip advisor reviews for this hotel before we booked it, what a pity. The hotel is part of the Union Hotel Group which has a number of hotels in the town. It is called the "historic" one. It seems to me that "historic" in this case just means old and dated. I'm all for rustic on a skiing holiday, but this was a place where the entire restaurant, bar and reception area needed to be gutted. There were dusty plastic plants everywhere, and dazzling combinations of ugly fabrics, carpets and curtains. It was obligatory to stay half board - lets just say that tasty alpine/Italian food after a hard day on the slopes was not what we got. All of the meals were old fashioned and the portions were TINY. The dishes included: chicken stew, boiled meat with a green sauce and risotto with an unidentifiable meat. Breakast was also disappointing, there was never the correct items on the table, some days 3 forks each but no spoons! The coffees came from an automatic dispenser - not very Italian! It was a shame that the restaurant was so poor as the rooms were fine and maintained to a much higher standard than the rest of the hotel. Some of the staff were pleasant but management were less than impressed with any queries, particularly one evening when there was no hot water or when we pointed out we had no problem paying for the horrible spa but we should have been told there was a €13 charge for use before we used it.

Overall, this hotel has a great location and potentially could be one of the best hotels in town with better management. At the moment it is mediocre at best and I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Terrible restaurant, ugly decor, dusty plastic plants.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Vonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystones, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

I stayed in Hotel Dolomiti as part of a group on your typical package ski trip. The Hotel is very dated. It really feels like your stepping back in time. From the netted curtains in every room, to the historic lift (there is 1 lift for 5 floors) to the food, which at times was horrendous.
The rooms are fine and probably the highlight. Given that I was here for a ski holiday, I spent very little time in the hotel.
The hotel's location is excellent, 10 minutes walk from the main gondola. The food was very poor however. The whole restaurant was like an episode of Gordon Ramsay's kitchen nightmares. The decor is like a nursing home and the food was just so so poor. Being in Italy this was unexpected.
The coffees and juices in the morning time were just awful. Cups of packaged slop rather than fresh coffee and juices. Also, there was no variety at breakfast time. Even though our meals were paid for as part of our package trip (with Inghams), we opted to dine out after 2 nights of really very very poor food. The hotel has to be slammed for its atrocious customer service. The list here is endless
- 1 person on duty to check in about 30 people from a package ski tour;
- the staff were quite unpleasant on a number of occasions and we were over charged for wine;
- we were scolded by the floor manager for sitting at the wrong table on the first morning (you get assigned the same table every week!!!) and had to move!
- the spa was the worst I ever been in. Water all over the floor, a broken jacuzzi and an attendant who was a disgrace. He refused to let me in one evening saying it was closed when there were people inside and what's better you get charged for visiting the spa.
- I was overcharged in the classical case upon leaving, for white wine (I don’t even drink white wine!).

The hotel on the plus side had nice rooms, but no sound proofing. Of the numerous negative points, it was run down, too dated, poor food and terrible terrible service. We would have raised these issues with our tour rep. but she was never available.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, bad food and dated feel.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canazei hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Caminetto
Hotel Il Caminetto
#17 of 51 in Canazei
415 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#11 of 51 in Canazei
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla Wellness & Beauty
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#15 of 51 in Canazei
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#29 of 51 in Canazei
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolomiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolomiti

Property: Hotel Dolomiti
Address: Strada Dolomites 80, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dolomiti 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dolomiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomiti Hotel Canazei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing