We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but I would not return to it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location but I would not return to it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I would not recommend this hotel overall although there were some positives. The rooms are cramped although warm. The bathrooms very small and the shower is directly in front of the toilet. There was hot water at all times except on the morning of our very early departure (0300 ) with Inghams .The room was kept clean enough but there was no room to sit comfortably in it. There is a TV with one English channel. There is no kettle. There was enough storage space for clothing but nowhere in the bathroom to place toiletries. The safe initially did not work but after asking twice the battery was replaced .In the children’s room we had to ask for a replacement bulb three times. The electricity fused if you used any electrical goods but we actually located the trip switch ourselves and regularly had to use it. The security at the hotel is rather odd .The reception is not manned all the time and all the passports were kept on the reception counter for 2 days .We were later told they were kept there awaiting collection by the guests .The keys were also kept in an open display next to reception.
Breakfast had lovely croissants .There was also some scrambled or boiled eggs, cold meats and cheese, there was fruit, yoghurt, cereals and bread.
At dinner there was a fairly extensive menu. Our vegetarian daughter was initially very poorly catered for despite them knowing this before our arrival. They did then ask us to suggest food and it was prepared for her. We did not particularly enjoy the food. Some of the guests stockpiled deserts so when you got up to collect the food there was little left. The hotel one night did replenish the stocks but this was only after we mentioned this to the rep .The dining room lacked ambience and food was put in front of you at great speed. This did improve when we asked for the food to slow down .The restaurant was virtually empty by 2050. There was quite a push for people to use the downstairs pub and on one evening desert was served there.
The snacks in the afternoon. They were scanty and the only food I saw was doughy bits of pizza and a savoury bite. They were not there from 4-5 and were certainly not intended for families returning hungry from the slopes. I think they were again a push to get you to the bar. They were meant to be at reception too if you asked but we were then directed downstairs.
Wi-Fi did not work on my laptop although I have never had any bother elsewhere. You had to pay for it and I did not get a refund despite the fact they knew it was a problem
Location is good as it is a short walk from the red run into Canazei.
Staff. Our waitress was really lovely and was cheerful and chatty.
There is a warm boot room and a separate ski room which is located downstairs with an entrance next to the bar.
I loved the skiing area but would certainly avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D1ktw23765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    61
    24
    9
    15
See reviews for
72
22
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Ok, just so you know. I've visited hotels in the alps the last 30 years. Really good ones, not so good ones but never a hotel like this....and I have never been negative on tripadvisor.

So, what can you expect from a 3 star hotel in Italy? Hopefully good food (every restaurant in Italy with some sort of ambition has at least good food), clean rooms, good location (doesn't come with the stars) and nice staff.

Hotel Bellevues food was terrible. Nothing else. Maybe the chef was on vacation our week but this was actually so bad I've never had food like it ever in Italy!! To give you an example: a classic "Vitello Tonnato" was served with KETCHUP(!!!) all over the veal......or what do you say when you are served a lasagne with no meat just bechamel and totally ice cold....
For breakfast you can not have hot water for your tea (except the lukewarm light brown water from the coffe machine and when I arrived 8.30 (breakfast closes 9.30) and there is no bread left the answer was "you should come earlier"!!!

Rooms: some of them have 3 star standard, but beware it's just 30% of the hotels rooms. The other ones are small and filthy. I had to have my feet in the shower going to the toilet, the "bathroom" was not bigger than 2 square meters. Some days no cleaning was done, no extra pillows, lamps out of function, one(!) power plug, no Internet......
They say Internet works down in the bar, you pay 2£ an hour for internet fast like it was in the 90's...

Location is ok but walking distance is streched, take the little train that arrives every 10 minutes.
Staff is a melange of horrible and trying to be nice.
One of the reasons this hotel is a no go is the problems you have hosting 10(!!!) travel agencies.
Mostly Scandinavian and Russian visitors.

If you have any chance to choose an other hotel please do.

Happy travel,
MPJ

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matiaspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I've just returned from a Christmas week ski trip and had the most fantastic experience at the Bellevue. On arrival at 11.30 at night, we were warmly greeted by the hotel manager Dante and barman Fabio and given delicious soup, bread, meats and cheeses, which was a completely unexpected treat. This level of care, attention and friendliness continued all week and extended to the bar and entertainment staff Maria Theresa, Viola, Nicola, Alessandro and Barbara, who made our Christmas Eve so much fun in the bar/disco downstairs.

The rooms are fairly basic but cosy, warm and spotlessly clean, with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space for ski gear, comfortable beds and balconies that have breathtaking views over the mountains. We'd booked a superior room which then wasn't available on arrival but the standard room was absolutely fine and the manager gave us free use of the health suite (sauna, steam room and jacuzzi) all week to compensate, and then insisted on giving us 10% off our bar bill at the end of the week as well, which we weren't expecting but was much appreciated.

The restaurant has a fun and bustling atmosphere and the food was delicious and plentiful, beginning every evening with a salad bar, followed by 2 more courses of your choice and a huge selection of desserts. On Christmas Eve (when Italians traditionally celebrate Christmas), the tables were beautifully decorated and we were treated to a 6 course feast, which was not only delicious but served with plenty of Italian vivacity and hospitality (the staff seemed to work really long hours but smiled all the time)!

I would absolutely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others. If you want 5* luxury and modern design then stay elsewhere, but if good value for money, unpretentious, homely surroundings, a friendly atmosphere and staff who care for your every need are your priorities, then stay at the Bellevue!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

hi
i stayed at this hotel from 4/2/2012 - 11/2/2012 had a fantastic time, the hotel manager and all of his staff where absolutely fantastic, could'nt wish for anymore, the food was good, good choice of wines beers and shorts, disco downstairs which you could'nt hear upstairs, pick up right outside to take you to lift that you could walk to in 4mins anyway, and could ski to within a 4min walk at end of day to the hotel, all in all for a 3 star hotel what more could you want,
thanks for a brill time
regards s
shaun lloyd

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Having read some of the previous reviews of this hotel. I was slightly concerned about what to expect on arrival last week. Some reviewers were very negative about the Management and staff, the rooms and the general attitude towards guests. In response, all I can say is that they must have stayed at a totally different hotel to the one we enjoyed a brilliant week at.
Yes, the rooms were on the small side if you have been spoilt before. But this was more than made up for by the staff and management. Only once, have we come across such friendly, positive staff, and that was at a much higher rated standard. The food was fantastic. The rooms were warm and sufficiently equipped. No special request was too much trouble. Although all the staff were of an extremely high standard, I must pay a marvelous thanks to Fabio, Luca and the Manager Bruno. They made our stay a brilliant one. We are definately heading back there next year. Anyone that has had any second thoughts about this hotel, due to previous reports, forget them? Go and have a great holiday!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing down the valley. South Facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I was a bit dubious about staying here after reading some of the reviews, however it turned out to be fantastic.

The staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

The rooms were clean, as was the hotel in general.

It has a great little bar and a lovely restaurant where there was something for everyone and was of a pretty good quality.

The only "down side" if you can call it that is that the shower units are quite small - but this really was not an issue.

The beds were comfy and the room not too hot or cold, with enough storage space for all our clothes, ski gear and bits and pieces.

I cannot stress how lovely the staff were, even joining in with kareoke with us and keeping the bar open for as long as we wanted to use it.

I would certainly return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne13london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Having just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Bellevue, I find some of the reviews here totally unjustified. We found the manager and staff very friendly, the food was good, and the accommodation perfectly acceptable for a 3 star hotel. The location is superb for proximity to the village centre and ski lifts. For most of our week's stay, we turned up for breakfast at 9.15 and there was still plenty of food left.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canazei
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#23 of 51 in Canazei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Il Caminetto
Hotel Il Caminetto
#17 of 51 in Canazei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Grohmann
Hotel Grohmann
#22 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel & Club Diamant
Park Hotel & Club Diamant
#9 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Club Gran Chalet Soreghes
Hotel & Club Gran Chalet Soreghe...
#6 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel & Club Rubino Executive
Park Hotel & Club Rubino Executi...
#5 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: Via Dolomites, 134, 38032, Canazei, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing